The Modprobe Mashup: The Mis-fortunate Motorcycle Mishap

in #life7 years ago

 I’ve got a story to tell Steemit and while it is action packed, I consider it a crappy story considering the end result.  So with a heavy heart, here goes.   I’m realistically the best person to tell this tale as I witnessed the accident and was there nearly every step of the way, from the street to the hospital and eventually to home.

It all started last week, when our friend and roommate @modprobe decided he was going to celebrate a large payday by purchasing himself a motorcycle, for the purposes of getting around the city and Mexico.  All things considered, it was a good idea.  Motorcycles are extremely common here and it really makes sense why in a city like Acapulco and a beautiful country like Mexico.  John negociated the terms for our own motorcycle, which would allow us to both have fun with him and save money on our traveling.  So we went through the necessary steps of changing cryptocurrency for pesos and did the job of finding our bikes. 


 It was a few days of negotiating money and looking around before we found bikes we liked and had the pesos to make it happen.  We actually acquired @modprobe’s bike before we did ours as we were waiting on the rest of the pesos.  We just barely had enough for the one he wanted that day, and we had him follow us home on it.    


 It took a bit of getting used to for him, partially due to the fact that a new bike has it’s quarks.  Between sitting in the store and the fact that the engine isn’t worn in at all, it’s not an easy learning curve.  We had some help from a Mexican who looked a bit bummed to be helping the gringo with his fancy new motorcycle (that was nicer than his own) but after a few minutes, we were on the road headed back to the main bay, stopping to get him some gas on the way.     

 
 We made it home fine and that was the end of that day.  The next morning we had plans to get the rest of the money and our bikes, which @modprobe decided to stay home for to get some work done.    


 We went and got our bike and ended up finding a better cheaper option that we got.  We also found one that @modprobe would have preferrred, but it was a bit late at that point.  We purchased it, got on it and rode home.  John did a great job adjusting to driving with me on the back, even though he was apparently a bit freaked out.  The only issue with the bike was that we needed to go all the way across town with it to get the battery looked at, as the store employees suspected that the battery was no good.
 We got @modprobe and headed out to the area where we were told to go, which was actually a lot farther than we really needed to go.  We took it as a chance to check out the area and I took those pictures I posted earlier today, as well as the ones of the bike in this article. On the way back we lost @modprobe and he just went on home and apparently did just fine, other than getting lost a few times.  We found the dealership who told us what we already knew, the battery problem had resolved itself. 


 We met up at home and decided to go out for food, with the plan to stop by our friends restaurant to visit and show him our bikes.  All of this went according to plan and we had a pretty good time.  I got to share my kombucha with my favorite local friend and he shared the name of a Mexican fermented drink that it reminded him of, Tepache. Before long, we decided to leave so we jumped back on the Coastera, the road that lines the beach here.  The plan was to hit the gas station so @modprobe could get some gas and get home.

  Anyone who’s been to Acapulco knows that the center median of the Coastera is filled with trees and bushes for most of it. We were making a left turn and there was an oncoming motorcycle that we didn’t see until it nearly hit us.  From what we can tell, it was hugging that center median.  As that happened, I immediately thought of @modprobe and looked over at him yelling his name, as I already knew what was happening. 


 The bike with two people on it went slamming into the side of @modprobe’s turning motorcycle and for a moment both bike and all three people were tangled together in a sort of mechanical tornado before they all spat out in random directions. @modprobe fell to the ground, with his face smacking into it and the rest of his body to follow.  What lay on the Coastera was a heap of metal and bloody people that was a scary sight, at the least. 


 Somewhere in the process of watching this happen, I dropped my leg off the peg of my bike and burnt the HELL out of my leg on the exhaust pipe.  This is now my constant reminder of what happened that day, of how easily things can go wrong. I’ve not even burnt myself this bad glassblowing, to give you an idea of severity.   


 We stopped the bike and ran over to the scene, where @modprobe was bleeding all over the place.  The street, the other passengers and even me ended up smeared in blood from the wounds on his face. It was a pretty gruesome sight to say the least.  As he came to conciousness, it was clear that he had suffered some sort of head injury as he didn’t seem to have any idea where he was.  Things came back slowly over the next few hours, although he still doesn’t remember the accident. 


 We did our best to comfort him and keep him calm, while deflecting questions from the cops.  We could only give them his name and age, although they were extremely interested in us. It was honestly a terrifying situation, all things considered.  The fact that he was laying in the street covered in blood, terrified and not even remembering how he made it to Mexico was really scary.    


 Another person in my (our) situation would have left the scene, especially considering we weren’t directly involved in the accident.  We didn’t though and even though it was really scary at times, I’m glad we stayed.    


 We did our best to focus on getting him to a hospital and we did, although we took him to the wrong one.  Private hospitals are prepaid here, meaning they do no work until they have cash or a credit card.  Considering he had neither on him, we had to get him to another hospital. 

  
 The whole time there were police buzzing around and it made us nervous for many reasons.  The simplest was that these people seemed hell bent on taking advantage of our injured gringo friend, and we weren’t interested in allowing that to happen.  We had to make a lot of tough calls that night but all things considered, we did the best we could for him while costing him the least amount of money.

 
 I was surprised at the hospital we took him to, who saw his skin color and were immediately interested in his money.  By the end of it they wanted 20,000 pesos to even look at him which was absolutely ridiculous.  They wouldn’t even give him pain medication.  When he asked for water, they refused because of his injuries.  I fought with them on the fact that they were refusing to see him and after a bit of fighting, I was able to drip water into his mouth using gauze.   


 I had a lot of little conversations with @modprobe at the hospital, very few of which he remembers.  At a point he started asking for essential oils, as he’s our essential oil guy.  The next day when I showed up with a bag of the ones he requested, he reported not remembering that conversation. He remembered enough to recite his parent’s phone numbers, which allowed me to contact them to tell them what was going on.  While they seemed worried, they seemed relieved that he had friends to take care of things for him.  

 
 Ambulances were apparently busy so we looked into getting a private one, which was a whopping 700 pesos.  Considering he had that in his pocket, we agreed and shuttled him to the general hospital where nurses immediately started taking care of him, despite the fact that the place seemed to be stuffed to the gills with patients.    

  A bittersweet moment arrived when I scanned the room and found our friend Lily, the taco lady that we are fond of.  We had actually gotten tacos from her stand, wondering why she wasn’t there.  It turned out she was spending the evening in that emergency room with what appeared to be her mother.  She came over to say hello at a point, visibly saddened by @modprobe’s appearance.  Apparently she was there all night too. 


 Accidents are handled differently here and because he was technically at fault, it was his responsibility to pay.   This is totally fine, save for the fact that the police were using this as a chance to milk pesos from him.   They pushed for negotiations to happen at 2 in the morning, which was bullshit considering the fact that @modprobe wasn’t even awake in the hospital at that time.  

 Clearly trying to get something out of it, the police pushed is to make agreements we shouldn’t really be allowed to make.  So we stood our ground for our friend despite threats and intimidation and it ended, for the time being.  We have the contact of the people involved and have every intention of making good on the agreements we did make with them (which @modprobe seems to have approved of), but we are not interested in paying bribes. 


 Throughout the situation, we had a few people who were really crucial in how the situation played out.    Two local friends were able to dispel police interest in the situation when we could not, and we really appreciate that.  They were also valuable translators, which made it a lot easier on us.  A community member came to the hospital and spent the night with @modprobe, eventually helping him leave the next afternoon.  Between everyone, we were able to do our best to handle things for our friend while he could not.   

We left the hospital with the impression that we had a friend working within the system to help.   All I can really say is that they were called off and we weren’t notified until hours later, which made it hard for us to do anything about it.  We spent a few hours making phone calls, eventually heading to the hospital. 

Last we had seen @modprobe, we had no idea of the details of his condition. We were worried that there was a severe head injury, considering the fact that I watched his head bounce off the concrete.  The spotty memory and swelling was of concern.  So we had no idea his condition when we left to see him and when we made it to the hospital, we were told that he had just left a half hour before.  Several older Mexican women identified him with a limp and by motioning to lip and eyebrow, both of which were pretty messed up on our dear friend. 


 So we headed off, hoping he was headed home.  We realized that he didn’t have his house keys anymore from the accident, so we stopped at the place of the friend that went to stay with him and sure enough, there he was.  He had a limp and a swollen face, but he was there. 


 Sadly, he’s joined the broken face club by breaking his right cheekbone, and apparently a few teeth in the process.  He’s bumped and bruised all over otherwise, but mobile in the important regards.  All things considered, he was very lucky although I know for a fact he does not feel lucky.  He does need surgery, but it’s not quite the surgery I needed so hopefully the recovery will be easier.

  As someone who’s hurt their own head pretty badly (albiet way differently) I totally get much of what he’s dealing with.  It seriously sucks to deal with this sort of thing and every time I look at him I am reminded of how I felt in the weeks following my accident.  I also understand the long term implications of accidents like these, so I’m saddened at the things he may have to face in the future as far as residual pain is concerned. It gets really old really quick in just about every regard and people constantly telling you you’re lucky doesn’t help despite their best intentions, because you don’t feel lucky.  So I feel you, friend, and I’m sorry.

   
 But @modprobe, you really are very lucky and I think deep down you know it.  As your friends, we’ll do what we have to in order to help you through this, both with the surgery and recovery and getting the legal side of this handled.  I know when I had my accident friends like John made the difference, so I’m doing what I can in that regard.   


 There you have it Steemit, now you know why we disappeared for several days here.  Not only was I sick, but this happened right in the thick of it which made for an extremely tough several days for everyone involved.  

  
 We still ride our bike and have since the time of the accident.  We needed to use it to follow the ambulance.  It really is a much faster, more convenient mode of travel all things considered.    

  The bike we purchased and ride around is eventually intended to become my own, for me to use to get around the city.  All things considered, its a bit of a frightening proposition.  This whole experience has taught me just how easy it is for things to go bad, so now I’ll at least be able to go into this with a reality based view of what can happen and how easily.    
 

 While it’s not back in his possession yet, @modprobe has said he will most likely eventually get back on the bike.  Considering the terms of the accident, I understand where he’s coming from.  I wouldn’t be running back, but I wouldn’t be so quick to shun the activity all together myself.
 

 Anyway, thanks for reading and supporting.  We’re doing our best to get caught up and ahead on things here at the farm.  As busy people know though, as things get crossed off the list that list always gets longer.   
 Until Next Time, Safe Travels!   


Sort:  

Thank you for taking care of Nathan. I'm glad he has such good friends down there.

No problem, I know how important he is to you :)

Bro I have been in 3 serious motorcycle accidents, one when running from the cops at over 120 mph with no tread on my front tire, my walls were severely concave and I took a turn blind, last things I remember is seeing tail lights around the turn and before I even had a chance to evade in the opposite lane there were headlights there and the last bit is seeing the ground speed right next to my face as I looked at my speedometer flying to 120, and just inches away from the tail lights I first saw, the other was when a car pulled up in front of me and I had to slam on my brakes sending my crash caged r6 to grind my lower leg/foot on the sidewalk for a few feet, and the last one was flipping my fz1 from an endo as I was trying to slowdown when I was doing stupid fast on the highway and came over a hill into bumper to bumper traffic, in all I was lucky enough to walk away unscathed, literally lucky.

Frst one I had no boots on but a helmet, and that saved me because I ended up riding the ditch for 40 yards before being sent flying in the air for about 100 yards and clearing a 12-16 foot chain link fence, the other one just messed up my walk for a bit as I had good boots, and the last one I had just taken off my helmet not even half a mile on the highway before the accident and almost destroyed my testicles but besides the gash in my shin there wasn't anything else and in bumper to bumper traffic I got catapulted over it all and ended up on the median, conscious the whole time I was spinning through the air, and countless times I had dropped/feel with the dirtbike, that was lucky, what you did wasn't as much lucky in that regard but lucky that you didn't die. My one friend got cut off by a truck as he was doing 50-70mph and he ended up dying for 8 minutes on the side of the road with an ambulance in the other direction stopped at the red light it happened, who attended to the driver of the truck which got hit in the front drivers wheel, they didn't even bother with my friend who's face was mashed up also and was laying on the ground, our other buddy yelling at them to look at him. He recovered remarkably well, it just took a good 3 months though, by the time we were getting his fat dresser back into running order he was looking a lot prettier than before and the ambulance crew lied about what happened in court and my friend was found at fault for it.

I hope you recover and put this behind you, of course everyone and their mom will tell you motorcycle are dangerous or whatnot wear a helmet and all that but don't let that impact you, laugh it off at not wearing the safety gear and don't mind those who are scared of even imagining themselves on two wheels.

Haha, awesome stories, friend! You've got a bit more wild streak in you than I do, but not too much. Respect. :)

Yeah, I'm definitely more lax about the equipment than most of my friends so far, but otoh I'm not doing much long distance or high speed travel either. The fastest I've gone so far was on an empty, flat, straight line road, and even there I probably never touched 80.

Yeah, seems that the slower the wreck the more damage you absorb or less opportunity to deflect, just force>you>ground in no distance or time. After I fixed up a sv750 which my buddy had to buy off one of my other buddies after he wrecked his bike and messed his foot up when he mistakenly drove through the intersection to get on the highway on a green light for a right turn only, and got taken out at not even 25mph, I was riding it down the street from where I lived with flip flops on and nothing else really, I remember if I even had a shirt on and to make it even worse I hadn't fixed up the rear break bracket so I couldn't use it, which is where the car took him out, and I went into a curb on an overpass kinda loop and had to bail off because I was going to take out the 2 foot concrete/metal lined median, and I was bailing out the cops were literally in the other lane passing me, I thought for sure they would stop but they didn't care, luckily for me, I didn't mess up the bike, and considering I spent my own money to buy almost all the parts, I don't think the new owner really cared, besides being a really good friend but I came back to the house with a good road rash on my palm and the sandals/flipflops barely held, just stooopid lucky, granted I won't get on a bike for a long time if ever, my wife knows all my stories and shes put her foot down lol, said I can has a dirt bike but that's it.

I owned 3 bikes, for the speed demon in me my first r6 I bought after my best friend was going to ditch me if I was going to buy the busa I had my eyes on, as my first bike.., then I came up on a stoopid fast zx12 from '90, and my last one as you know was the r1, that one I had dropped on black ice, I used it for a good 9 months in the hills in nor cal, 2-3 miles of dirt roads after the first 2 miles of asphalt, and even raced a 450 on a crazy part, about 6 miles of dirt roads, almost went off the side of the hill/mountains a couple times, and if you want my advice on a ride to pick, go light, very light, and chose the motor after considering how much it weighs. Look for a 225, or a 350, even a 400 dirt bike.

glad you are ok my brother @modprobe. hope you recovery quickly and get back to 100% in time. @lili-da-vine thanks for being there when @modprobe needed you the most. your are a true friend.

We're doing what we can for him, he's currently doing his best to get his face put back together. Turns out he's got a broken jaw too, poor modprobe

@lily-da-vine thank you for taking care of Nathan. I am glad to hear @modprobe is still breathing. Riding can be extremely dangerous. Full face helmets and riding gear are paramount.

Nathan, this will make you a stronger man and If you choose to get back on the bike, a better rider.

Not only is he still breathing, but he's chilling in a hammock enjoying the sunset, awaiting his next superfood smoothie. All things considered, @modprobe has a good place to recover!

oh man, what a story. This could have easily turned out so much worse. I am glad @modprobe had you two to be there with him.

If you guys didn't already have helmets, I hope you do now.

@lily-da-vine I'm glad that you are ok. I always care to see some body on motocycle, Bcause i know what can happen.

as a biker myself i'm glad that everyone is ok, and to have friends like yourselves he will know you are there for him, stay safe and ride safely

Thanks for reading and the support!

Stay safe and hope you have those helmets!

Be careful with those "machines", I heard so many stories like that. Anyway I guess it gives way too much fun :)
Upvoted & Followed!

I realize that motorcycles are great fun, but here in Acapulco they're more of an essential. For under a grand, you can buy a basic motorcycle that'll haul you up and down the mountain no problem, and at a tiny fraction the cost and maintenance effort of a car. The mountain destroyed the clutch on my car in a couple months, though admittedly that clutch was already well along its path to retirement when I got here.

Mountain towns are rough on cars. Motorcycles are light, so they're much better equipped to tackle the mountain, especially for moving any loads small enough for a rugged human to carry. A car is major overkill at that point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45