Procrastination & Getting Work DonesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians,

I'm going to write about a problem that i've had for a long time, but just recently got away from, Procrastinating. What is procrastination? I guess almost every single person reading this already knows but a very simple way to explain it in is the avoidance of doing a task that needs to be accomplished. This can contribute to anything, studying, mowing your lawn, cleaning your clothes etc. Whatever it might be, it's not positive as we all know. 

Why is procrastination so bad?

Humans live on getting work done, in school, at work or even at home, and pushing the work you have to do further away just to get some free time that you definitely won't have later won't help. Doing this will lead to even more work having to be done in less time than you had before. Studies show that procrastination has been found to result in health problems, stress, anxiety, a sense of guilt and loss of personal productivity. And that doesn't sound good if you ask me.

So how do you stop this? How did i stop this?

I had a big problem to stop procrastinating, and it was primarily in school. It gave me some big problems and by stopping this my life has become much less stressful and has made me a happier person. But how exactly do you stop this?.

The hardest part is to, START doing the work. My first step was to promise myself to actually start studying and try for a bit, I would set a clock at about 15 minutes and when those 15 minutes were over i would reward myself. I kept doing that for about an hour, and yes it was really boring but trust me it's the best change i've ever done. I kept doing this, day after day until i no longer needed to set an alarm clock, and i no longer needed to promise myself to start studying. This has made scheduling my work and getting work done so much easier. This really changed my life for the good. Of course there are a lot of different ways to stop procrastinating, but this was my way of doing it. You just have to trust yourself and really want to break out of that stupid bubble where you push everything to tomorrow over and over again. 

Thank you for reading, I hope this may help some people,

@lillieskold

Sort:  

Sorry, I missed reading it earlier. Great post, buddy! I am equally sad about why am I not starting. I have had obligations and I seems to be pushing them myself. Not as a complete thing, but your article did hold me, to begin right away. Thank you @lillieskold once again.

No problem @jeetendra! You'll never regret making this decision. But do work hard on it and don't lose it or you'll fall back to the old pattern.

It's a problem for all the secret is just to start as you say ;)

Exactly, and the sooner you start the better!

I really liked your post ..even I have the same problem to postpone my work from today to tomorrow but yeah i will also try to do the same thing
Please follow me and check my blog

do try it, because it's such a big change to life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51