Small pleasures in life - Winter walk & Hot cup of tea

in #life7 years ago

Do you want to join this walk??

Today we had a typical winter day in Portugal: cold, windy and rainy day, but I still had the chance to go for a short walk in the "Lagoa da Ervideira".

This pine tree may it look like a paradisiac place, doesn't it??

We have a walkway around the lagoon...

These are some of the plants we have found today...do you recognize any of them?

I go to the beach every time I can, and this Saturday I also had that chance!!

Vieira's beach

São Pedro de Moel lighthouse

...and to finish the day, a nice cup of hot tea!!

We bought this cake (mil-folhas) in a local pastry store before coming home. It's not the most traditional in Portugal, but it's really good!!

I think we all should take some time for ourselves, to be with beloved ones and do something together!

That's what I've done today, a nice walk with my mother and a hot cup of tea after dinner!!

After all...it's those small pleasures of life that are really meaningful!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Green tea? Nice photos - how good to live near the beach! :)

No, this is was chamomile tea as it's time to sleep ;) Unfortunately, I don't live close to the beach!! But when visiting my family it's relatively close, a couple of kilometers by car (about 20-30 minutes). :)

So it is spring for you already? Wow! Here's my guess on the row of plants. 1 = some kind of acacia tree, 2 and 3 = some Portulaca, 4 = a Gorse of some kind. Enjoy your spring and I hope you can get outdoors a lot as the spring moves forward!

It's still winter, we don't have snow only cold and rain! You are right with two of the plants, thanks for giving it a try! 1 - Acacia longifolia, 2 - Corema album, 3 - Halimium calycinum and 4 - Ulex minor (gorse, like you said)!! Spring is much better than this and we have much more flowers :)

I'll take that success rate for a quiz on plants in Portugal, lol. I will look into the Corema and Halimium species. I see that the Corema Halimium is recommended for the US Pacific Northwest as a great shrub in our Mediterranean climate. And I see the Halimium Corema berries are supposed to be edible. I'll do more research on it, of course, but it's always fun to find another food plant! Thanks! Happy "still winter"!

Note: Comment edited because I mixed up the names that I meant in each sentence.

Yes, south Portugal has Mediterranean climate. Corema berries are edible, very sweet. I don't know about Halimium. I should not advice plant introductions...because they can be harmful there. I know of Ammophila arenaria that is native here in our sand dunes and one of the most problematic invasive weeds of coastal California.

My mistake -- it's the Corema berries that I meant in my comment about having edible berries -- that's how misinformation starts , isn't it! I'll add an edit to that comment so there's not any chance for someone to get a wrong impression.

I do check whether a plant is on any invasive plant lists before I plant it. And I prefer seeds or bareroot planting, because so many troubles can tag along in the soil from nurseries. The last thing our natural lands need are more invasives! =8O

Que lugar lindo, eu iria tirar umas milhares de fotos e o chá...delícia :)

Eu tirei mais fotos, mas para um post diferente! ;) Obrigada!!

Wonderful sceneries, beautiful flowers and nice tea! The cake looks delicious. I wish I could join this walk! Thanks for sharing.

You're welcome! Thanks for the support!!

Beautiful places and very nice pics! ^_^

Thanks for your kind words, much appreciated :)

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51