Sort:  

It's still winter, we don't have snow only cold and rain! You are right with two of the plants, thanks for giving it a try! 1 - Acacia longifolia, 2 - Corema album, 3 - Halimium calycinum and 4 - Ulex minor (gorse, like you said)!! Spring is much better than this and we have much more flowers :)

I'll take that success rate for a quiz on plants in Portugal, lol. I will look into the Corema and Halimium species. I see that the Corema Halimium is recommended for the US Pacific Northwest as a great shrub in our Mediterranean climate. And I see the Halimium Corema berries are supposed to be edible. I'll do more research on it, of course, but it's always fun to find another food plant! Thanks! Happy "still winter"!

Note: Comment edited because I mixed up the names that I meant in each sentence.

Yes, south Portugal has Mediterranean climate. Corema berries are edible, very sweet. I don't know about Halimium. I should not advice plant introductions...because they can be harmful there. I know of Ammophila arenaria that is native here in our sand dunes and one of the most problematic invasive weeds of coastal California.

My mistake -- it's the Corema berries that I meant in my comment about having edible berries -- that's how misinformation starts , isn't it! I'll add an edit to that comment so there's not any chance for someone to get a wrong impression.

I do check whether a plant is on any invasive plant lists before I plant it. And I prefer seeds or bareroot planting, because so many troubles can tag along in the soil from nurseries. The last thing our natural lands need are more invasives! =8O

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41