Looking on the bright side of 2016 - what I'm grateful for

in #life8 years ago (edited)

It´s time to give a quick look on 2016, and we can put some facts in a nutshell:

The world is a complete mess (terrorist attacks, Syria's war and the refugee's problem, Trump won the elections, India's and Venezuela money restrictions, corruption all over the place, a lot of important artists died, unemployment, and so on...)

I can understand why there are so many of us saying 2016 was a fucked up year to the world...

But I can't totally agree on that, I always like to do an effort and see the positive things...the bright side of life!!

I think when we make an effort there is always something to be grateful for. These last days I've been thinking on and conclude that I'm GRATEFUL FOR:

- I've completed my Master degree in Conservation Biology
As some of you may have noticed on my Introduce myself post, I've been studying invasive plants. I did some field work to demonstrate that was possible to associate vegetation ecology knowledge with invasion ecology. I present my work on the last 28th december to a jury and everybody said I was fine! They loved my work, and I got a 19 on a 1-20 scale! Proud, all my effort was compensated!! It was one of my happiest days in 2016, my mother came to see me, and some friends too. After the presentation, we went to celebrate with some pastries (pastel de nata), bowling game (I loose but it was ok) and an amazing dinner!!

-I was invited by my supervisors to help writing a book
Actually is only a part of a chapter to be included in that book that compiles information about the history and present situation of invasive species in Portugal and management tips! Anyway, it is so awesome!!

-I spent some time leading with frustration and anxiety
Basically, I'm a perfectionist and an optimistic, so I spent this year lacking time because I had a lot of deadlines to accomplish...it was hard!

-Portugal soccer team won (for the first time) UEFA Euro cup!!
Portuguese (like Brazilians) love football, I guess this photo shows the Portuguese feeling!

source

-I have love in my life even if I don't have 365 happy days/year
Guess it's a matter of balance, some days can go bad, others can go just perfect. No need for worry, it's life!

-I was introduced to Steemit!!
I know it may be biased, but I think this social network is a very powerful one!! I never gave much attention to cryptocurrency before entering​ on Steemit, and now I'm​ trying to learn what I can and having fun at the same time. I'm a huge procrastinator as well, but when I'm on Steemit (curating or writing...I feel I'm doing something good, not wasting my time). I'm spreading the word and wishing this community can grow properly!! STEEM ON!!

I recognize I still can live in peace in my country, I've food in the table, I've family relatively close, I've some friends, love. I'm a lucky bastard, and I'm grateful for that!!

Sort:  

Good to be grateful! 🌼

OMG, How did you found this post?? Yes, we must be grateful for what we have! Thanks for dropping by!

Congratulations on your Masters Degree!!! How exciting and to be invited to write even part of a chapter! Be proud of your accomplishments Liliana....awesome! Whoever is in "power" anywhere. we have no control over and they have no power to shut down our souls. We can be content with what we have....food on the table, a roof over our heads and clothes on our backs and if we are fortunate, friends, love, and health.
Happy New Year!

Thanks @Countrygirl! It's only a small part of a chapter, but it's a great achievement for me!! I totally forgot to mention the roof over our heads and clothes on our back, and health.... but so true!

Happy New Year to you too and yours!!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.88 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21