Who am I, where I came from, what I'm here for - Let's introduce myself

Well, it's really a pleasure and also a challenge to get on steemit community. First I never wrote on a blog and I'm not familiarized with this kind of text edition, but I'll do my best. The last days I've been thinking about what type of useful information I would like to share with you steemers, and it's been really exciting.

Who am I?!

My name is Liliana Neto Duarte, born in the beautiful city of Leiria (Portugal), on August 5, 1982.

DSC00291aa9e9.jpg

It was summer and my mom says that day the family was getting grilled sardines for the lunch. Nothing gets me more pleased than pass my anniversaries on the beach, having grilled fish.

sardinesc3cc5.jpg

Basically, I love the beach, field trips, being a tourist (sometimes in my own country), to cook on Sundays, get hot baths in winter, look at the fireplace, summer nights, I love cats, meet new people, laugh,(...)

Where I came from?

My childhood was spent in a small village called Pousos, close to Leiria. Me and my friends used to ride a bike, play and spend time together in the street, and it was safe :)

At 10 I had to make new friends cause my parents put me on a semi-private school. When I was 13, my family moved to other even smaller village (Alcogulhe, yes, very awkward name), but fortunately, I could stay on the same school till I get to the university. I've made few, but very good friends in that time :)

I came to Évora (UNESCO World Heritage Site) in 2000 to graduate in Environmental Sciences at University of Évora.

evora-226068_128089cd4.jpg

Now this is my second home, I started working in this city, passed 3 (amazing) years in Lisbon and returned to Évora. I'm finishing my master thesis in Conservation Biology, about invasive plants!

What I'm here for

Lately, I spend a great amount of time just scrolling on Facebook and I'm getting tired of it because the useful information is rare, and there's a lot of BS.

So my purpose on Steemit is to learn with you steemers and your sharings, while we get some paid :D I'll seek to contribute to this community with my best experiences.

Stay tuned!!

Sort:  

Hello Liliana, welcome to the community. You can share anything in the platform, no censorship.

I can relate to your first pic, that fish is common in my country Philippines.

Thank you! :)

I really like grilled sardines and it's very popular in Portugal during the summer. How do Philippine people prefer it?

We can prepare it different ways, pride, grilled and steam.

Nice! We also have it in cans. Actually, the oldest cannery in operation in the world (1853 - RAMIREZ) was founded in Portugal (Vila Real de Santo António - Algarve).

There are lots of Ramirez here in my place. I have a kuya whose family name is ramirez :)

Welcome @liliana.duarte!

We almost named one of our girls Liliana.

Let me know if there is anything that I can help with, and enjoy your time here.

Oh :)

Thanks for the support!! Any advice to be successful here? Have a nice holiday!!

Welcome to steemit, good intro post. Glad your here to create more diversity.
Also I feel the exact same way about facebook ^_^

Thank you!

About facebook, we can always eliminate or stop following some of our friends...but it isn't resulting for me!! Guess I'll start spending more time here on steemit :p

your welcome.

I have just stopped using facebook mostly except for messages and events. Mostly use steemit now, I learn way more on here anyway. Also I am more creative on here. Becoming a better writer and artist with my time spent here. Yes exactly, Steem on!

Welcome @liliana.duarte, Portugal is one of my favorite countries to visit, great people, food, wine and coastline... good luck.

Thank you!! I'll try to show some of our portuguese good things here on steemit.

Really enjoyed your post about lightening strikes! I'll keep reading you :)

[<0>] Seja muito bem-vinda!

Ora muito obrigada!! É sempre bom poder falar em Português :)

welcome liliana! You'll find steemit is a friendly, helpful community :)

Thank you!

That's what I'm expecting :) Also glad to make part of it!!

Welcome :) I've heard good things about Portugal's decriminalization of drugs, but never from an actual Portuguese person.
I'd read and upvote an article of local insights if you're looking for ideas :)

Thank you!!
Decriminalization of drugs it's not a subject that I'm big aware of and it's not a common topic, but I remember when the law was approved. It basically says that you can buy, have in your possession and you can consume drugs, in small quantities (for personal consumption only). If you got caught in any of this situations, you'll no be seen as a criminal, but instead, someone who need help and a commission will decide if you are a drug addict that needs rehab. In any case, the police will confiscate your drugs and probably you have to pay some penalty.

I found this article very interesting on this subject.

As a Portuguese, that is on of my goals on Steemit, transmit some of my views of our cities and lifestyle :D Can you send me the link of the local insights article please?!

Sorry, I was suggesting that you write one :)

Oh, I'm sorry .
I think it's a great idea for a post on steemtit, as a Portuguese, I wasn't aware of the success this measure had led us compared to other countries :) On the opposite, we have bigger problems with alcohol.

Welcome, Liliana Neto Duarte! What a cool and beautiful name! Beaches, grilled fish, Sunday cooking, and fireplaces? You're a girl after my heart! My wife is in trouble! ;)

Thank you!!

No, she's not!! But thanks for your upvote and for making me laugh :D

Hi @liliana.duarte - thanks for passing by my post recently. I just popped over to see you in person ;) I promise a pic of myself in my 7000th post tomorrow...look out for it ;) @mindhunter

Ok, I'll look for it!! Guess it will be soon, you had posted a lot :)

Posting like a mad Scots thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69