You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do we Work to Live; or Live to Work

in #life6 years ago (edited)

To me, life is about freedom.
I learned my lesson early in life when I saw some of my elderly colleagues complaining about "bad weather".
That was a regulation in German construction companies, that when in winter it got too cold to work outside, you were sent home and you got about 63% of your net wages for staying at home in your warm apartment.
While I was very happy about money for nothing, some elderly colleagues were not happy because the 63% was not enough for them, they needed the 100 % of their net wages to support their families.
That was the moment when I realised that if you don´t save some of your money to buy you freedom, you will forever be a slave.
Now some 30 years later I have enough money that for the last almost four years I could do every day whatever I wanted, since I don´t work for anyone, nor do I have people working for me, nor do I have customers pestering me, finally I´m free.
Welcome to the ecotrain by the way!
Looking forward to read more about Oman.
I almost went there in the nineties to work there as a scuba diving instructor.

Sort:  

You are living an awesome life I should say @likedeeler. Freedom is the ultimate goal, when we are able to shed off all these baggage life becomes much more simpler. For 20 years I was tied up in a corporate job running after promotions, salary hike, power and I felt like I was a slave, never could think beyond the 4 walls of the corporate world but gradually my interest shifted to healing work and the urge started getting so strong that I finally decided to quit completely. I feel so much free and light, I am not tied up to these fixed schedules and working like a robot.
Thank you very much for the warm welcome, I hope I can live up to the expectations of the group.
Oman is a beautiful place, In 90s there was almost nothing but now it's a different scene, if you visit you will be amazed by the development of this place. That's what I hear from the old timers :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41