Journal Entry 2 – Garden Update and Thoughts on Long Term Content

in #life7 years ago

October 17, 16

I’ve been watching the movers cleaning out the neighbors house - he passed away a while ago. I can’t say that I knew him; our paths never crossed. I never saw him in the yard and he seemed to be at work all the time.

So many people just stay in their houses around here and they hire other people to do the yard work.

It has been raining all day but finally the sun is starting to come out now. It looks really nice outside. I went outside and took a few photos of the potato garden. We had some almost gale force winds and a lot of rain but these plants seem to be doing great so far. I thought I would post an update - here’s the top of a potato coming out of through the soil as taken by the Galaxy S7.

Here’s a couple photos where you can see the neighbors house that was cleared out to the left of the potato garden. They are HDR photos take with my Panasonic camera (these are the second try at these – the first try came out poorly without using a tripod)

As I was taking photo’s the crow came back and did a little dance by the side of my house and flew up in the tall tree in the backyard. I went around back with the Panasonic and got this picture of him as he was crowing. Something took the crow offering that I put on the bird house - the walnuts were gone and I took the babble back so it would not blow away in the wind. It looks like the crow is looking up at the sky above the empty house.

f/5 1/250 86.4mm ISO80

A couple of sparrows were in the blackberry bushes and I tried to get a photo but they moved as I was taking it. They are eating a lot of seed right now. I needed a faster shutter speed on this one but I liked the movement effect.

f/4.4 1/125 86.4mm ISO400

It is turning into a just gorgeous evening.

Thoughts on Steemit

I’ve been doing a lot of reading on Steemit recently and trying my best to up-vote interesting posts. It is very fun and entertaining. I read one very nice article on the long term value of posts and it got me thinking.

The way things are set up now you basically have 24 hours to do your song and dance and attract as much attention and votes as you can for the immediate gratification of your audience. This does present a problem both from the standpoint of the type of content that this is designed to attract and the way the payouts are missing some potentially good content that may bring long term success to the project.

Not being able to update the post after 30 days causes an issue if the pictures are no longer hosted properly and leave the post with missing information. It really would be nice to be able to fix this but it is not a show stopper in my mind at this point.

As for getting paid for older posts - just an idea, but maybe we could add some advertisements to posts older than 30 days and give the revenue generated from that to the author based on the number of hits the post continues to generate.

The way I think of it we are all in the processes of building value together and the long term success will bring rewards for early adopters and hopefully anyone else to who joins later. Only time will tell, but authors who gain in popularity and continue to provide new content could find it easier to have success building from their previous posts and reputation.

Sometimes you have to give away some effort or product for free to build up some clients and potential to gain new sales revenue. I kind of think of the old posts over 30 days in that way. All authors have to find some way of establishing themselves.

When I was younger I always wanted to write a novel and get an income stream from it so I could be set for life. I finally got around to writing a novelette and self publishing it and I even sold an entire one copy so far. So I’m happy. It is anonymously published so if you find it out there and you like it, maybe I wrote it, if not – it wasn’t me…

Sometimes I find satisfaction in life in a bit of a different way.

Right now I’m having fun kind of getting paid by the page and hoping that we all will benefit from it in the long run. Somehow I feel like there is big potential here, but don’t think of it as investment advice, as they say - please do your own due diligence.

Life is short; best make the best of it.

Here’s a sunset picture for your enjoyment. Thanks for reading! :)

HDR multiple exposure taken with Panasonic using the timer but no tripod.
Middle exposure of three shots was: f/5.6 1/320 4.8mm ISO80

Sort:  

Beautiful Job With The Camera!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it! :)

Very good photography. keep it uP!! @lightsplasher

Thank you! I like taking photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61585.79
ETH 3005.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68