Welcoming Quail Into My Homestead. Week One.

in #life7 years ago

20170804_130537.jpg
This picture is Freckle, my sweetest friend of the flock.

I was so excited to get Quail. After visiting Montana and eating Quail eggs everyday, I couldn't wait to get my own. I called everyone on craigslist and found the kind I was looking for up north of me. Japanese quail (Coturnix japonica) I had been told by my Moms boyfriend that they were a good beginner quail. He has 800 quail, so I figured that was a good place to start. Also I fell in love with their sweet, quiet personalities. And lets be real here, they are so freaking cute!

20170722_191152 (1).jpg

I arrived at the mans house who raised the quail. He had picked out 40 of them for me to choose from, keeping in mind my request for unusual colored ones. I was hoping to be able to tell them apart and a glance, and with quail that can be hard. I wanted ten females, and two males, a ratio that I wanted to try. Males can get aggressive if there is to many. Also they don't lay eggs, so the less the better. My reasons for having them at all is, fertilized eggs are more nutritious. In some incidences the quail have not wanted to lay without a male. And it can calm the females and get them to cool down on their pecking order.
We loaded them up and started the two hour drive home.

20170722_191934 (1).jpg

My husband and I stopped to check on the quail and grab something to drink and found three eggs! We haven't even gotten home yet. But by the time we did there was a total of five eggs. The tiny birds were winning me over.

20170723_185053.jpg

My husband and I put together this little coop kit that we were gifted for our wedding. Fits the quail perfect.

FLASH FORWARD A WEEK.

The quail are settling in nicely.
They laid six eggs the second day then stopped completely for four days. Currently I'm getting one a day. They were stressed by the move so I have been reading its natural for them to do that. Should be back to normal in a few days. I love them so much. They are such sensitive, sweet birds. Four of them will jump right into my hand. The white one likes to sit in my lap, and when she sees me coming jumps up and down in excitement. I am Mother of the Flock and loving it!

20170804_124424.jpg

20170804_125016.jpg
This is Penguin, she is very pretty with her cat eyes.

My biggest challenge this week was figuring out their nutrition. I will be doing a separate post on that because its important to raising these birds.

20170804_130810.jpg
The red one is one of the two boys, Gambit. And the other two are my blonds.

20170804_130601.jpg
This is eggzilla, notice the white mustache?

20170804_130310.jpg
This is my other boy Thor.

20170804_130438.jpg
Harley Quinn getting nosy in the camera.

20170804_130428.jpg

20170804_124949.jpg

20170804_124308.jpg
This is Henrietta, she is shy and carful but she still will walk up to you and hangout.

20170804_130813.jpg

20170804_130715.jpg
My niece is in love with frozen, so this one is named Elsa of course.

It has been a grand adventure learning to be a quail Mama. I have been rewarded in many ways that are not eggs. I bought twelve tiny livestock, but got twelve mini friends instead, Eggzilla, Gambit, Thor, Henrietta, Harley Quinn, Freckle, Flock-a, Phoenix, Elsa, Anna, Penguin and Mystique.

Thank you for looking and reading, its been great being on steemit. If you like what I have been posting so far lets be friends! Follow me and my nature or farm filled adventures in the sunny California coast. Big Love!

Sort:  

Congratulations on the quails! By chance we have just the same coop all the way over in Wales in the UK.

You might be interested in the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit as way of connecting with other likeminded folk :

Let me know if you would like to be added to the list. A new version is coming out shortly.

I would love to be on the list and connect with other likeminded people. I will be doing a lot more on those two subjects. I'm writing a few right now, thank you for reading. I look forward to sharing ideas!

I raised quail as a kid among other birds I can't wait till my living situation allows me to do it again! I love the males call of cock cock tooowi.

The males have the cutest sound! I have read that they sound like roosters, but I don't think so. The nice thing about them too is their small footprint. You can raise them on the porch. I hope you can raise them in the near future again. Thanks for reading!

Thank you, I'm partial to them :) Thanks for reading.

Thank you! It took me hours to get them, they love to hop around like rabbits. Have a wonderful day. Thanks for reading.

I love their names! My favorite picture is of Thor because he's sporting a little mohawk. Great lighting on these pictures also.

Thanks @happymoneyman! Thor is awesome, he's a little bigger than the rest and is always making his funny humming sound. The Mohawk is due to a feather coming in, the pen is stuck strait up.

nice photo and
nice chicken crop
thank for sharing

Thank you! I am very happy with the coop, someone gave it to us and I thought, what am I going to do with 2 chickens? Then I got the quail idea, so glad I did. Thanks for looking!

Thank you for reading and looking! Have a good day.

3 eggs before you got home, now thats cool! Good luck, keep us posted...

I just posted on my adventures in learning what to feed quail if your interested. Have an awesome day!

I will do that.... thanks!

I know! I was so surprised. I will be posting more on the quail, they are so interesting. Thanks for reading!

They are so cute! We are moving house next month and I would love some. How big is your coop? I've seen similar ones but I wasn't sure if it would be big enough, yours seem to be getting on nicely though, I'm amazed there are 12 in there! :-)

Its a two full size, or three bantam chicken coop. They have a hard time with the ramp going to the top, being ground birds. But I put them in the top at night and they walk, hop and fly down in the morning. The top part has kept them safe at night. We have a lot of raccoons.

Never tried raising quail but I used to raise lots of chickens. Two roosters used to follow me wherever I went. They did not like it when I was outta their sight.

That is really cute. I noticed roosters can be really cool pets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59