You should tell society exactly where to fuck off.

in #life8 years ago

You should tell society exactly where to fuck off.

You know, although my Dad was a complete idiot, one thing that I really admired about him is that he lived the life he always wanted to live.

I mean, perhaps he should have had more protection, or the snip when before he took the plunge and had me.

I was the accident that he didn’t mean to have, after all Dad always thought Mum was sleeping with another man.

Attribution: https://www.flickr.com/photos/denharsh/3915106566

He thought I was his,

People judge each other by their own perceptions, right?

But despite me, Dad always had three women on the go, as much alcohol as one could muster and a bank roll to provide for his addictions.

Even at the end when I was holding his hand and making my peace with him, no matter what I said he always said he had a good life.

And I guess in his mind he was right,

He did.

It was what he wanted to do.

There were counsellors that told me that he lived a sad an unhappy life but I disagree. Until a point, he loved his life,

Attribution: https://www.flickr.com/photos/dfataustralianaid/10708600255

And he died young, but he always said that to me,

“I’ll die young, Son. Have a party when I’m gone”

So he was a man that lived life by his rules. It’s where he wanted to be, and, he died lonely, with no-one that really loved him around,

But that was his choice, and he lived with it.

So aside from that sombre note, if you’re happy with life, then that’s fine.

You don’t need me, a psychiatrist, a psychologist or who the fuck else to tell you that you’re not fitting in to societies neat little perfectionism box. And it’s narrow criteria! Trust me.

Me? I was always unhappy with my life. I wasn’t happy doing any of the things that I was doing,

I always thought the life I was living was someone else’s,

Turns out I was totally right, and when I learned to strive for something better, something better happened.

But then I’ve met so many people from society that are just trying to fit in somehow,

Women not wanting kids but feeling they should do because their parents say so,

Men just wanting to relax and chill but can’t because society tells them that they must work to provide,

Fuck ‘em, I say.

You do what YOU want to do, and YOU be happy.

Hell, if you really wanted to do so you could go and live off the land.

You don’t need ANYONE to tell you how to live your life, and anyone that does this is projecting their fears and anxiety onto you,

Shed that shit,

Take control of your life back,

And own yourself!!

Be awesome!

Peace, brothers and sisters :)

Sort:  

divine/divided = I/ALL

Interesting! Care to elaborate on that? :)

The only place where "society" can exist is inside my imagination, so it is not real, it's an imaginary concept that can enslave me emotionally if I believe it too much. All is society and I is me, and what I believe about the word "society" determines my emotional experience of it, so I/ALL is my way of telling myself that society does not exist outside my imagination, the divine singular one with my belief in the divided separated others as means of balance, divine/divided

Exactly, Sir. I do believe you nailed it in an extremely complex way!

I talk to the masses, from all walks of life, so that everyone can understand. I'm not dumbing it down, just mass interpreting myself.

I mean I can't just walk on and talk technical to everyone :)

I have always loved your posts. I wish I could upvote this, but a 5 vote maximum per day was just imposed.

The 5 vote maximum is a target recharge rate. If you vote more than 5 posts a day, you won't get back to full power within the day, but longer.

I know what it is. I just don't agree with it.

I am open minded though - I will vote at 10% all day - and if I no longer make the same amount, I will power down and go start a Dash node. Steemit is fun - and was profitable. I have 2500 steem sitting on Poloniex waiting to see if this new rule kills my ability to make money here.

Does anyone know who makes the decisions? Do they vote? Do they read our opinions?
If someone has 40 votes and doesn't vote (has 100% voting power)

  • rule change
    Now that some dude has 5 votes and doesn't vote ( he still has 100% voting power)

This solution was supposed to somehow keep people from sitting on 100% voting power.

That's a bit off topic but I agree. There is no logic in the decision they made.

I don't think this ever went into effect today... they scrapped it because so many people complained and didn't fully understand it. It sounds like it is still on the table though and will be revisited at a later date when it can be better explained to the community.

Correct. It didn't. Sponge-bob was spamming (or trolling) that he couldn't vote because of the 5 vote re-target change, and so I responded without double checking that it had been kept at 40. Sheesh. He's done it in several spots. The comment makes no sense.

Quit trolling that you can't vote when you know perfectly well you can. Some people's children ...

Ha! I hear you...

This change never went into effect though if I am not mistaken?!

Thanks man - the sentiment is there - I appreciate that :)

Meh - it's my way of protesting their decision. They moved it to 5 per day because people were leaving their voting power at 100%.
So I am going to let mine hit 100% for the first time in 40 days? Well, for the first time since I got on Steemit.

Sounds strange really. Why? Does that make some kind of better difference?

It was actually originally 5 a day and then they moved it to 40 a day to encourage more voting. And then community members didn't like the proposed change back to 5, so they kept it at 40.

I feel I know a lot of people who live the way your father did... my brother included. I always wonder if they will ever feel they made the wrong decision in living only for themselves... everyone tells me they will. However, like you mentioned it's possible they won't.

Good advice though. Live the way you want to live because at the end of the day it is only you that is responsible for your happiness.

People rarely change. Stop trying to change them, embrace them for who they are :)

Yea that is true... have you read my latest post? It has some encouraging stuff in it :) Maybe resteem it? https://steemit.com/steemit/@jrcornel/what-i-have-learned-during-my-first-60-days-on-steemit-com

Yes. I have, I liked it, and I thought I did. Obviously not. Will do now! :)

Thank you so much! You have built up quite a large following! Thanks for sharing awesome content every day :)

No, thank YOU - without my following I would be a voiceless entity that spouts off into nothingness.

You guys make me, me :) - so thank yourself for being part of an awesome community :)

So, you are back and it seems life can be awesome , it all depends what we make of it. My today's post could be an edition to yours 🙌

Awesome - go for it :)

Yeah, I had a nasty splitting sore head last night. Took the night off :)

There is no law but your own

I do not have much practice with this, but I feel ready to begin.

We each have one life to live. It's ours to choose!

Oh my word, I feel like waving a banner in a protest march now! Amen! I dyed my hair green at 45 years, and want my first tattoo, but hell they are expensive! Mid life crisis? Who cares!

Who gives a shit my friend - if it makes you happy, then do it. People often forget that the first person they need to please, before everyone else, is themselves :)

Be comfortable in your own skin

So many say it, only few live it.

I'm hoping to help ease the transition with my words. If I help 1 person then I'll be super happy.

Can I get a hell yeah?!

My grandfather was a preacher. I remember going to his brother's funeral. Typically he was the type that would rain down fire and brimstone.

It really surprised me when he simply said, "Well, Jesse lived life the way he wanted to".

I can heavily relate to this story.

Ah, hello! :)

Yep - sometimes we try and mould others to fit our own narrative of the world so it makes sense to us. Trick is to just let people be. If they are happily plodding along then you should be doing the same :)

I always tried to mould my Dad, and was forever in the land of frustration when he wouldn't give me any sort of parental love whatsoever,

It was when I stepped back and realised that Dad would just be, well.. Dad, that life became so much easier :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60051.08
ETH 2417.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43