Choice is a gift - my thinking behind it

in #life8 years ago

In my early years you could often find me bellied up on cheap cider and discount beer; if you looked close enough you could see that I was more stoned than a cliff face on Mt Everest.

Yet these weren't my only addictions. Throughout School they had installed a belief in an all loving entity in heaven watching over us,

When I began to make a movement towards my own peace I began to shed these addictions and finally realise how bad they actually were for me.

So through my healing process I became very angry, it's a natural state of bereavement.

And I'd take to internet forums and argue with people relentlessly on how bad the idea of God was,

And don't smoke dope because it kills any intelligence.

Christ, I didn't stop there, I was preaching the the people that loved alcohol, telling them that they were on the same road that my Dad was,

They were all going to die,

Every last one of them.

Because it didn't work for me, of course it wouldn't work for them, they were stupid and needed to be brought to the light.

It wasn't until I took to a forum that I was completely and wholly out of my depth intellectually and emotionally that I was put in my place.

They actually made me feel rather stupid

And quite ignorant,

But they were right in a sense. I was forcing everything that worked for me on my little rose tinted view of life onto every body else,

I didn't stop for a moment to think how they would feel. Not one bit,

It came from a good place though, because I was happy, so should they. I think most people that say hurtful things and don't realise it, it always comes from a good place,

So I did a bit of research,

Turns out Cannabis actually helps thousands of people daily, and the reason we think it's bad is because we are told it is so, with no evidence. Just that it's illegal and bad.

And what happened to me with Cannabis doesn't necessarily happen with others. You see, it didn't mix well with my anxiety. But not everyone suffers from anxiety.

And then there's God. Turns out we have quite a few religious friends that want the same as us. A happy life, and are really intelligent and nice. There are so many levels and depths to people it's so sad to discount them on one difference, right?

Then there's alcohol. I still feel the same, but I've totally got with the program when it comes to live and let live.

Who am I to judge, right? A once raving alcoholic and drug user judges others!

Poor show.

So I've learned to live, and let live. As long as whatever happens isn't affecting me in a negative way then that's fine.

People are allowed to live their life however they please, and that is their choice.

The less I worry about what other people are doing and concentrate more and what I'm doing is a beautiful choice in my opinion.

Attribution: By W.carter (Own work) [CC BY-SA 4.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

When I stopped worrying too much about what other people were doing and what they thought it was like a world weight had lifted off my shoulders.

So?

What are you going to do for yourself today?

Hope it's something nice! I mean, we only have a little time on this earth,

Live it!

And be awesome, friends :)

Sort:  

A pharmaceutical drug addiction can send me spiraling fast and deep down in darkness, but not weed :)

Highly agree on that - tamazepam, diazepam, to just name a few. I stopped weed super easy. Had no problems coming off it. And as I said, loads of people benefit from it. Just didn't suit me

Smoking Weed and prescription drugsl addiction is like comparing water to cyanide-laced Kool-Aid.

Can't say I've smoked weed since I was really young, like 18 or so. Can't even remember the feeling. So I dunno if it compares or not :)

as always sir you motivate to be awesome! Thanks for the resteem btw :)

Thanks - and not a problem! I'm glad to finally have a facility where I can host people and 100% of everything goes to them.

Life is a gift as well. Choices are a gift. It all comes down to what we chose to do with our gifts :)

Yep, that's exactly right! :) - you guys are so positive. I really like hearing that there are people that agree!

yes this is freedom and happiness combined

Awesome - I'm trying to steer people to thinking this way :)

Yes when you worry about other people you are not in the moment. True peace and happiness lies in the moment. Great post, cheers!

Exactly, spot on right there! :)

Hey @lifeisawesome I just released my official introduce yourself today. I've enjoyed a lot of your posts and support your message, if you could give it a peep that would be gracious of you, take care!

Yes dude, I'll totally support you. You're always upvoting and commenting on my stuff :)

Reading.watching and learning.

Good post, but what's so bad about discount beer? )))

Nothing! :) cheap cider and discount beer were my signatures back then. That's all :)

Your life is yours. It's those natural born rights we are born with. The problem is when one is on a self destructive path with drugs and they bring destruction to someone in our personal life. It's a part of my life now, and it makes me sad.

Yep. I hear you. My Dad was physically addicted to alcohol. His liver packed in in the end. Awful man he was, sometimes you just have to sit back and let life take its course. I mean, there's only so much you can do to help, right? My favourite saying is this:

"You can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink it"

I don't think people who smoke weed are bad people, but I think at the end of the day, you can't be above the law.

The subject of weed and its benefits (all of which mostly gotten from the internet) has made a lot of people think that they're above the law.

Regardless of its benefits, I think it's ultimately not worth the risk. I've no idea where my friends here get it from and why they do it so openly. All it takes is one person to get caught and their confidence will wane for sure.

My 2 cents.

Interesting viewpoint. No, I don't either. But I'm all for live and let live.

It's a massive discussion, and one that I don't want to have, purely because I don't have the facts to back what I'm saying up! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.59
ETH 2721.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43