Bullies are the worst

in #life8 years ago

Remember school?

I do. Lots of people trying to get one over me. The odd person trying to stand off with me and a fight to see who loses the most blood, and loads of other harsh life lessons.

School is hard. Because I could never escape from it really. I'd always have to go back into the same class and put up with the same people almost every day.

And bullies,

Well, bullies suck.

If they can't beat you physically then they certainly have a good go at the old mental battle. I was always a tall lad at school, my height warded some of the shorter nasties away. But the mental battles. The slagging matches and urgh. The lot of it. I just couldn't wait until it was all over and I could just go to work.

And then School end came.

And the bully days were over. Yay! Three cheers for me.

Or so I thought.

I didn't realise that work was a wider extension of school. I call work, "School, but with suits and dresses" because going to work can be much worse when you're being bullied. They can have so much weight over you.

I was naive when I was younger. Very naive.

Several years ago I had just landed the best job. And I knew I would flourish and expand and be totally awesome at. I couldn't wait. I couldn't wait to start and get stuck in and meet new people. I was so eager. I could taste the enjoyment and the success.

No-one told me that practically half of my team had applied for the same job too.

I had won it.

An outsider.

At first they had to be nice to me on my first days but after a while the nastiness crept in. The isolation, the snappiness, and not helping me one bit as a team. They had effectively annexed me as a team member, albeit one or two people. I ended up being far too afraid to talk to anyone. I just got on with it.

Long story short my manager caught on to what was happening and she raised the fiery pits of hell and rained meteors on their thick heads.

And that ended that.

They were super nice to me after that.

Turns out I made their project into the most successful one they ever had as a company. 

Figures!

It always strikes me as strange when other staff members sat idly by and watched everything unfold yet never said a word to anyone. I hated that.

And that's why I will raise the ground myself if I witness anyone at the receiving end of bullies. I will complain and make the right people aware. I won't turn the other cheek. Screw that.

I had also noticed a trend. People loved to bully me at work, it was my overtly complying nature. I was a yes man. My Managers loved that. I didn't say,

"I can't do that,"

I said,

"when do you want it done by?"

Perhaps people saw that as a threat? I'm unsure.

Anyway. I grew a spine after that final escapade.

I've never been bullied since.

I refuse to be a victim

And I refuse to watch anyone be a victim too.

Sort:  

My preference is; ignore, ignore, ignore, punch in the nose.

I'm never an advocate for violence - but definitely if they don't get the damn message.

This actually worked for me in high school. There were two guys always bothering me, untill they sat at my table in class once. Class did not even start yet, they put their seats at my table and started nagging me. I started blankly at them, untill I got overwhelmed by annoyance and slapped one of the guys in the face. The class was chaotic before, and everybody was talking - untill my hand came across his face. Not did I only slap him, but apparently also humiliate since the whole class went silent and then burst into laughter. They never bothered me again.

Were you a girl?

I was bullied the whole way through school by my closest friends plus bullied at home by my parents so know exactly how you feel, I hate bullies and the people that follow there lead, I too stand up to them now and taught my 2 daughters to do the same.

Good! Awesome :)

Bullies are everywhere. As a church pastor I've even seen them crawl out from under the rocks at Church Board meetings. I've reached the same conclusions you have; namely you have to confront them or they will run all over you. :-)

Eventually the bullies become nothing at the end while those who got bullied become wealthier in the future

You post SUCKS! You are just a sissy for writing this post and your mom wears army boots.

What almost sucks more than bullies are all the spineless dickweeds egging him on and not using their numbers to help out

Too true dude. This gets on my tits.

I understand this one. I was bullied until I put and end to it too. It was different 30 years ago. Today its crazy since its more of a digital bully world. Good post!

Oh totally. I've only been digitally bullied once - and it was hair raising because you don't usually know who it's coming from. Until you realise that only spineless wankers post aggressive stuff on the Internet. But sometimes you need to check yourself. It's hard to take a step back and realise what's actually happening :/

Yea
Lots of cyber bullys out there

Yes, sadly, some people never mature and grow to evolve their consciousness, still petty little children into their old age. I have been dealing with one that chooses to follow me, only to come onto my content, and harass me, calling me bullshitter, saying I'm on drugs, saying I need mental supervision.

These arrogant assholes are a big issue in life and they don't seem to care at all that they are just petty pathetic bullies who like to dominate and put people down for no good reason.

Thanks for the post. No more victims. Stand in truth and morality together, united, or we stand alone and each fight our own battles while everyone ignores each others oppression and mistreatment. Just like you said happened to you with your ignorant bosses who let the abuse continue towards you.

Upvoted with the new slider feature LOL.

Take care. Peace.

I was fighting regularly in the school ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60925.88
ETH 2688.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46