HUGE thanks to @bchick for the coconut oil suggestion for psoriasis (dandruff)!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I'm sending @bchick some love (and an SBD :) ) for her suggestion of using coconut oil on my psoriasis post.

Yesterday, I took a spoonful and heated it up in a pot, then poured it into a bowl and let it cool for a few minutes. Then poured it on my head and massaged it into my scalp, and rubbed some on my forehead as well.

I sat like that for an hour or so, and then decided this wasn't yet too much of a good thing, and then added another two spoonfuls.

This then started dripping down my neck, ears, face, etc -- so, like most things, I overdid it. :) A few passes with paper towels later, and at least I could sit and read without dripping.

Then I sat like that for another three or so hours, before taking a shower and posting about the jukebox before we went out to play pool.

Today, when I woke up I wasn't as inclined to drag my fingernails across my forehead and scalp! It's still there, and I've been picking at it some today, but nowhere near what it was.

I plan to treat myself again this afternoon, in fact I'll get started now.

Thanks again @bchick! :)

Sort:  

It is just something to consider, but I had dandruff in the past. It was from gluten though. I stopped eating it, and my itchy scalp and dandruff went away.

Nice! I try to avoid it myself as well. Funny coincidence, I just commented on an article discussing that a "gluten issue" might be a "poison issue"! https://steemit.com/news/@zen12/maybe-you-aren-t-gluten-intolerant-maybe-you-re-just-poison-intolerant

Coconut oil eh. Nice to know that. Thanks for sharing

@libertyteeth good....

Good man noni or coconut oil both are great to improve our health

Yeah I've ordered some noni juice, thanks again! :)

You are welcome. We have found that coconut oil works for so many things. I am so glad that this is working for you. Even when the problem disappears, try using it regularly, in small amounts, so it is pleasant.
Like duct tape, it has all kinds of uses.
Thanks for the SBD.

Yes many - eating a spoonful can help reduce a migraine.

Thank you for reminding me! As I am recovering from multiple concussions, I experience headaches. A lot. Not exactly migraines, but next time I have one I'll try some!

You're welcome! :) Had it in for a few hours this afternoon, but had to shower and run an errand. Didn't use any shampoo, just got the bulk of it out. I really like how my hair looks with the coconut oil in it! Like Weird Al's album cover "Even Worse" (a parody of Michael Jackson's "Bad"):

()

Hah!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60623.84
ETH 2572.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57