Writing To A Future Marine: Letter 5

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I use to watch the news all the time. With all the negativity in the news, I had to distance myself from it because it was literally stressing me out and putting my mind into a negative state with all the scenarios of where the United States could be heading in regard to confrontations with other countries; i.e. Iran, North Korea, Syria, and Russia.

Every time I write one of these letters I think of what a brave young man this person is to have joined the Marines in a time when the world is in such chaos.

I personally joined the Army during a relatively peaceful time, but after September 11, 2001, the United States began to engage in conflicts around the world at a more frequent pace and as a result, I ended up in Iraq. People joining the military today have my utmost respect because the odds of engaging in a conflict seem relatively high.


By the time the Recruit receives this letter he may have already completed Qualification Day with his weapon. He is approximately 5 weeks away from graduation. His longest march to date(12 km) will be happening very soon and is 2km further than his last one. Doesn't seem much farther but an extra 1.2 miles can be excruciating, especially with all the extra weight one has to carry around in a rucksack.


In this letter, I just wanted to thank him for what he is doing for the United States. After reading the various news this week of possible conflicts throughout the world; the enormity of the task of being in the military at this point in history has resonated throughout my thoughts.

In this week's quote, I wanted to let him know he is a hero to me.

“Heroes are made by the paths they choose, not the powers they are graced with.”
― Brodi Ashton, Everneath


Today, as we experience the freedoms and liberties we have as Americans, try to remember these brave women and men in our Armed Forces.

Sources: 1 2 3




See the Latest Gift Reveal! Click Here To Support the Hamburger Saint Project In Rememberance of Sgt. Michael Barkey KIA Ar Ramadi,Iraq July 7, 2004


Submit Questions To Be Answered By WoldDawg Every Saturday


OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!





Sort:  

I think you're pretty awesome, Frank. Thank you for your continued support of that Marine. I've got another address or two if you want them. ;)
ps - I didn't see any stickers on that envelope! LOL

Yes, I do want the other addresses. You can DM me the addresses.

Oh yeah and no stickers. I stopped that last letter. Packages only remember!??

I may have missed it in your other post, but were you a marine too, @lexikon082?

No, I was in the Army. @merej99 has two sons in Marine Bootcamp. I am currently writing one and will begin writing the other this week along with a female recruit who needs a little motivation.

Just when I thought you had your hands full to overflowing, you surprise me again!

Trying to get more and more organized every day to make sure all the fires are stoked. Staying massively busy keeps my mind off of non-productive tasks.

That's a great strategy :) Especially in your walk of sobriety. Keep it up, just be careful not to burn out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61645.58
ETH 3013.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71