Writing To A Future Marine: Letter 4

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I'm very happy to have written this letter in a timely manner of letter 3. I didn't decorate it like I did the last time. I am sure the recruit is tired of the sandpit from decorative letters or messages on them to his Drill Instructor. This letter traveled two counties and probably an hour and a half in the car to get to the mailbox. I will write a post about that later because I had a ton of mail today to send off today.

I looked at the training schedule and this week is Introduction to Combat Marksmanship. During my Army Basic Training experience, I always thought weapons training was the best time and I hope the Marine recruit is enjoying it himself.


Source: Recruit Parents


I informed him about Rep. Steve Scalise being shot today as a reminder of the dangers that all face when choosing to serve in government regardless if you are military, in Congress, or a local politician.


As I do every letter I gave him a quote to digest until my next letter. I reminded him that our true reason for military service is to serve and protect the United States Constitution. It is of my personal opinion we need to focus on more on this document as our freedoms and privacy are being slowly eroded over time. Additionally, our military might is being used around the world unjustifiably. When is the last time Congress was petitioned by the Executive Branch to deploy our military men and women?

If more citizens understood the framework of this document and the intentions of our forefathers there would be fewer taxes, less government intrusion into our lives, more economic freedoms in this country, and less war throughout the world perpetuated in the name of "freedom".


The Quote I gave him this week is from Edward Snowden. Whether you consider him a villain or a hero; this quote stands true and is one I do believe every American Citizen should ponder.

"Being a patriot means knowing when to protect your country, knowing when to protect your Constitution, knowing when to protect your countrymen from the violations of and encroachments of adversaries. And those adversaries don’t have to be foreign countries."
-Edward Snowden


For my next letter, I plan on sending him a pocket United States Constitution. I will have to check into the Marine Core regulations on this item for materials that recruits are allowed to have, but if you can have religious materials then why would you not be able to have a pocket Constitution?

With the direction our country is heading I wouldn't be surprised if it is on the banned list.


Until Next Time...BE the Change You Want To SEE


Top Picture by @lexikon082


Leave Questions At The Link For My Son To Answer Every Saturday! Ten Questions With WolfDawg Ep.1



OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow! I write a little about everything. Some posts are very personal with the intent of helping others. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians



Sort:  

Thanks for the post I will follow!

Hey, thanks for that @tbnfl4sun. I looked at your page and wanted to tell you your Oathkeeper shirts rocks.

Your the first to say that ,Thankyou so much I never served but anyboby that has I got your back!

Hi...
I am here now, I have seen and read it, a good post and can be motivate other steemians. A great job, may you succeed with you.
Friendship greetings from me @joe28

Vote and follow done.

Waiting for your arrival.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48