Writing A Letter To A Future Marine: Letter 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)


I penned my second letter today to a recruit at Bootcamp in Parris Island, North Carolina. It's been about a week since I last wrote him and I know the weather has to be getting killer because we are about to enter June. The purpose of my letters are to help give him extra motivation to get through the rigors and stress of this adventure.

He does not know me, but I have gotten to know his mother a little and asked for his address so I could write him. In my last letter I gave him this quote:

"If you are going to win any battle, you have to do one thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the body tell the mind what to do… the body is never tired if the mind is not tired."
– General George S. Patton Jr.


During this second letter I gave him another quote. A quote that will truly make one think in his current position. I must give a disclaimer about the quote. There are some who believe Heraclitus, The Greek Philosopher, may not be original author of this quote. However, it is usually contributed to him.

The Quote


Definion of Warrior via Merriam Webster: a person who fights in battles and is known for having courage and skill


I do understand the mechanics of war have changed throughout history ; especially with the enhancement of battlefield technology. But while this young man is receiving his initial military training I want him to truly ponder, "Out of those hundred people on the battlefield which one do I want to be?".



OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow! I write a little about everything. Some posts are very personal with the intent of helping others. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians



Cause I'm the one and only

Sort:  

@lexikon082 - I think you're pretty fuckin' amazing.

Thank you for doing that. <3
awesome.jpg

I am glad you enjoyed it @obeduche. I sure hope the letters are helping him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63237.60
ETH 2647.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81