I May or May Not Have Broken The Law To Show You Pictures Of The World's Largest Tree House.

in #life7 years ago (edited)


In Crossville, Tn exists the world's largest tree house. It is known as the Minister's Tree House, because Minister Horace Burgess says God spoke to him and said: “If you build me a treehouse, I’ll see you never run out of material.”

The treehouse has a sanctuary, a bell tower, and is approximately 8,000-10,000 square feet. It took 14 years to build.

The Fire Marshall closed down the treehouse in 2014 due to Fire Code Violations. The tree house has been shutdown against the builder's will. The gate is locked at the entrance to the tree house. However, on certain days you may get lucky and catch Mr. Burgess roaming around to give you a tour on his property.


It's been about 6 years since my wife and I last visited with the children. I was going to Crossville one day to look at a vehicle and decided to pay a visit and hopefully catch Mr.Burgess around.


The treehouse is located down a dead end road and I was greeted by a sign.


At the entrance of the treehouse I was greeted by another sign.


It's at this point I yell, "Mr.Burgess!". I won't tell you if I ever found him. That is a story that will live in family lore and for my fellow Steemians to forever ponder the answer too.

What I can provide you with are beautiful pictures of the Minister's Tree House and a video of me ringing the bell.


















Climbing To Ring The Bell(Video Below)



Looking Down The Ladder


Ringing Bell Video




See the Latest Gift Reveal! Click Here To Support the Hamburger Saint Project In Rememberance of Sgt. Michael Barkey KIA Ar Ramadi,Iraq July 7, 2004


Submit Questions To Be Answered By WoldDawg Every Saturday


OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow if you desire! I mostly story post about my sobriety, family, effects of war, and the crazier parts of my life. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians!





Sort:  

The treehouse has a sanctuary, a bell tower, and is approximately 8,000-10,000 square feet. It took 14 years to build.

That is one massive treehouse! Could that qualify as a mancave or do those need to be on the ground exclusively?

I laughed when you yelled out "Mr. Burgess!" All I could think of at the time was, "Mr. Wilson!"

The pictures of the treehouse from the road make it look like a Forest Ranger Headquraters. Once you are inside, it looks like the greatest hideout a young lad could dream of - maybe that was Mr. Burgess' idea.

It's a truly fantastic place. Truly sad the Fire Marshall shut it down. However, I can honestly attest to the place being in a state of disrepair. I am of the opinion this is due to no visitors being allowed on the property since 2014.However, it could be why it was shut down. I would say it qualifies as a man cave because local lore has it that a homeless man lived in it for years. There are so many nooks and crannies that I actually got lost inside. A few youngsters popped in during my time there and the young lads were having quite the time. I'm sure that is what Mr.Burgess would want.

It is sad that it has fallen in to disrepair. It is a magnificent place to visit.

Sounds like it would be the ultimate hide and seek mancave/treehouse. If I were one those youngsters that's what I would be doing.

From what I read of Mr Burgess, it sounds like he would be smiling.

Your photography is great! Love the angles you're getting.

Followed :)

You are the first person to ever tell me that. Thanks a bunch. I usually write more often than I take photos, but with this trip I couldn't resist breaking out the camera. Thanks for stopping by and the follow.

That is one colossal tree house! I couldn't help thinking that it looked a little like what I imagine a real life town center from a primitive age in a PC strategy game would look like..it even comes complete with a roughly-made bell!!

Did you push off the poor figurine on the floor just so you could lie on the bench? ;) That's a really impressive shot though..so either Mr. Burgess was there, or there were two of you Trespasses..I'm thinking more the latter heh heh

This place would be great to acquire video used for video game production! And in regard to the figurine... You know I went to pick that guy up only to realize it was being used to prop up the bench! I am glad you liked the shot. It was my favorite! Trespassing is illegal...but then there are crazy laws in in my state ,like, oh I don't know...It's illegal to carry an ice cream cone in your back pocket!

Yes, the effect is awesome! I had to scroll up again to look at it after making my comment ;))

haha my bad, did not mean to insinuate that you were breaking the law! I guess if you carry an ice cream cone in your back pocket, you are 99% more likely to crumb up the seats on public buses and trains which is a public nuisance..makes sense loll

[email protected] are the great..because of you, I all steemains able to see the beautiful treehouse whicn no-one may never seen before. I never seen treehouse before.. Great job..

I am glad you enjoyed it. Here is a video if you want to see more of it. I didn't post it because the screen ratio is horrible. I had to use a cell phone to capture it. My camera died when I was there. I thought about posting it in the story post. But in the end I have this for my personal memories.

Wow great to see the video..its a pretty awesome.. thank upu..

Holy Moly! The sheer size of that treehouse is jaw dropping! WOW.
It looks pretty solid to me but I definitely would have explored with great care. Looks like a pretty long drop if something bad happened. :)

It's a truly magnificent structure. There were some parts near the outside that had wood missing enough for your shoe to fit into. Also, there were some railings missing if you went to the dead end parts of a platform. When I visited in 2011, with my son, it was in way better shape. I imagine the care has probably diminished since 2014 after being shut down by the Fire Marshall. I am glad you enjoyed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79