You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We Have Our Work Cut Out For Us - Big Plans for this Mountain Property

in #life7 years ago

I am considering goats. We have several acres of fenced-in pasture that the previous land owners ran cattle on. But I do not want to take care of a herd of cattle. Perhaps I will rent the fenced acreage to someone who knows what they're doing.

Sort:  

Just remember that goats are nibblers not mowers. They will not keep pasture grass short. They are great for eating brambles and poison ivy and are really hardy. Meat goats are a lot less work than milk goats. But both are smart and inquisitive and thus tend to get out of fences a lot more frequently than cows. Cows just need two lines of electric fence that can be solar powered, so the work of fencing them is a lot less than goats.

I only have 5 acres, so I envy you your space! Have fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64