We Have Our Work Cut Out For Us - Big Plans for this Mountain Property

in #life7 years ago

My family and I own about 19 acres of land in the mountains of North Carolina. My husband and I bought it along with my parents about seven years ago, and the plan was to create a sort of family compound with two houses, gardens, sheds, and maybe some livestock. My husband and I and our daughter went ahead and moved a singlewide trailer onto the property, and we have been living in it ever since. But my parents (who live in another singlewide trailer in the next town over, on a rented lot) never got around to building their house. Things just kept coming up, and there was never any urgency to get the project started.

Well, now it's becoming urgent. My dad is in poor health and requires care nearly around the clock. I've been driving almost every day to my parents' house to help my mom care for him, and it's causing a strain on my family's schedule and finances. It would be much easier on everyone if we lived next door to each other. Plus, Mom is paying out hundreds of dollars a month on lot rent and storage fees when we own our acreage free and clear. With the extra expense of my dad's medical bills from his recent six week hospital stay, this is not sustainable. It's time to make moves. Instead of building a house, though, Mom's going to have their mobile home moved out to the land.

And then, because my husband and I are about fed up with our metallic housing arrangement, we are going to build a new tiny-ish house (not small enough in square feet to actually qualify as a tiny house, but still very small. We also eventually want to travel for a few months out of every year, and we feel that by slimming down our possessions and getting into a housing situation that requires less year-round maintenance, this will be an easier feat to accomplish.

As with any property improvement project, this is shaping up to be a major undertaking. But we are up to the challenge. Our goal is to have Mom and Dad moved into their mobile home here on the property by the end of November, and for our tiny-ish house to be built and move-in ready by next July. Here's what has to be done over the next 10 months.

First, this lot needs to be cleared of its proliferation of vegetation.

overgrowth.jpg

This is where Mom and Dad's singlewide is going to go. My husband and I are tackling the mowing and weedeating this week. Once that is done, we can have the well and septic contractors come out and determine where the utilities are going to go. Then we'll rent a machine to grade out a nice site for the trailer. Shouldn't be too hard. You can't tell by the picture, but this is a relatively flat piece of land. In fact, it's probably the largest flat section of land on the whole 19 acres.

Next, we need to haul away some junk and build an open-air shed for our building materials.

junk.jpg

This is Mom and Dad's building site, from a different angle. Up until about a year ago, a huge pole barn sat here. Anticipating the eventuality of needing to build or bring extra housing onto the property, we had it torn down (because, like I said, this is the only good piece of flat land on the property.) The people who tore down the barn took most of the materials to build their own barn, but under all this overgrowth there are several 20-foot-long and 90-year-old black locust poles (black locust lasts for like ever) that will make excellent materials for whatever projects are ahead. There are also several piles of old barn boards, some usable and some not so much. There are six lengths of tin roofing sheet. And there's some random junk that just got pulled out of the barn and was never taken off to the dump. So. We are going to use a couple of the locust poles and some of the tin to make a covered area to stick the rest of the materials in so they won't deteriorate as fast. And we're going to haul away the last of the junk. That's on this week's agenda, too, but might get stretched out into next week.

When we rent the bulldozer for grading out Mom's building site, we're also going to use it for a few more projects around the property.

old-house.jpg

The biggest of which will be tearing down this old, derelict house. It was built in the 1930s, but by the time we purchased the property it had a massive tree through the roof, three years worth of water damage and black mold, and was entirely unusable as a domicile. We used it for storage for awhile, but then it got too moldy even for that. So now it's just sitting there looking sad. Coincidentally, our tiny-ish house is probably going to go either where this house currently sits, or right in front of it, so tearing it down is a major component of our final plan. I imagine some of the building materials can be salvaged, like the metal roof and the wood in the front of the house where the water damage didn't reach.

Over the winter, we will purge.

We've collected a lot of useless stuff over the years. During the cold winter months, when little work can be done on the property, we will consolidate our efforts into sorting through belongings and getting rid of everything we don't need or love.

Then, in the spring, we will build our tiny-ish house.

gambrel-roof-shed.jpg

This is kind of the style we are going for. We're going to try and find a gambrel roof shed kit like this, but longer. 12x28' is what we're hoping for. I've been busy drawing up the floorplans for the last two weeks. It will have a small bedroom for my husband and me, a combined living/kitchen area, and two lofts--one for my daughter's bedroom, and one for my writing space. It will be the first time I've ever had my own dedicated writing space, so you can probably imagine my excitement. The house will also have a bathroom, but it will be built onto the side, rather than taking up part of the limited floorspace of the main house.

After we build the house, we'll have to spend a few months getting it ready to live in. Plumbing, electrical wiring, porches, lofts, stairs, cabinetry, etc., all must be built, and we're not professionals. Plus we have to work. So it won't be done overnight. Our target move-in date is July of 2018.

We're going to move this box truck, put a roof over it, and turn it into a studio for my husband.

box-truck.jpg

It's not falling over, it's just parked on a slope! My husband currently has a room in our mobile home for his music and recording equipment, but when we move into the tiny-ish house, that's not going to be feasible. We racked our brains trying to come up with a solution, before discovering one right under our noses. This box truck is actually a perfect size for a little studio workspace. We will move it down the hill to sit behind the tiny-ish house. We plan to build a roof over it to prevent leaks and also to muffle weather noises for sound recording purposes. And of course we will have to put in electric wiring and ventilation. Right now, the truck is used as storage for tools. But we have another place we can store tools, that is much closer to our eventual tiny-ish home site...

This shed will become our tool and potting shed.

shed.jpg

Right now, it just houses a bunch of crap left behind by the previous land owners. We've never cleaned it out to use it since it's kind of in an inconvenient location from where our trailer is set up. BUT! This shed is really cool. It has two compartments. The back section has a solid wood floor, and it's a fairly spacious area, so that's where we'll keep our tools. We just need to put in some shelving and pegboard. The front part has a dirt floor, and some workbenches and shelving built in already, so I'm envisioning that as a little potting shed.

And finally, when that huge list of to-dos is accomplished, we can sell our old metal sided singlewide and be rid of the damn thing forever!

I mean, I appreciate it for keeping me warm and dry all these years, but I'm seriously sick of living in a metal box. If you've ever lived in an older mobile home, you know that they tend to have the worst layouts and horrible space economy. That's why I'm designing the inside of my tiny-ish house very carefully, to ensure that every inch of space is used thoughtfully and efficiently, and that there is a place for everything that we'll need or want to bring with us.

Like I said, we've definitely got our work cut out for us. I'll be keeping you updated on our progress over the next year.



I love you, Steemit!

Hi! I'm Leslie Starr O'Hara, but my friends call me Starr. I live in the mountains of North Carolina and I am a FULL TIME WRITER who doesn't wait for the muse to show up before getting to work! I write humor, essays, and fiction here on Steemit and elsewhere.

Upvotes and Resteems are Amazing!

@lesliestarrohara

Sort:  

How far from your land to the nearest town and grocery shopping?

About 15 misnutes.

Looking like a complete JOB and 1/2

Yeah. Pretty much.

That looks like great land for goats! Couple of herd dogs and most of those brambles will be gone. Few cows and the grass will be short.

Course, that's a project too. So many cool projects and so little time. Looks like a lot of fun!

I am considering goats. We have several acres of fenced-in pasture that the previous land owners ran cattle on. But I do not want to take care of a herd of cattle. Perhaps I will rent the fenced acreage to someone who knows what they're doing.

Just remember that goats are nibblers not mowers. They will not keep pasture grass short. They are great for eating brambles and poison ivy and are really hardy. Meat goats are a lot less work than milk goats. But both are smart and inquisitive and thus tend to get out of fences a lot more frequently than cows. Cows just need two lines of electric fence that can be solar powered, so the work of fencing them is a lot less than goats.

I only have 5 acres, so I envy you your space! Have fun!

Great piece of land! I look forward to seeing your progress on all this! I have a "bar" that is actaully a little room I'm finishing out in the back of our small old garage. Let me tell you, having your own creative space is so valuable!

I'm very excited and only a little overwhelmed. I know already that the thing that will keep me going through all the work ahead is to keep envisioning myself typing away in my cozy little writing loft. <3

Oh wow, you are so lucky to have land you own and the freedom to do all these things! I am still a slave to the system myself. Looking to break free soon though!

Out of curiosity, how much is land like this costing nowadays, approximately?

Well, I guess it depends in large part on where you're buying land. We bought this parcel for under $100k, but that was seven years ago and similar properties in our area are now going for $150k. But I know of other areas where you can get something like this for $75k, and still others where it would be like half a million dollars.

It looks like you have a beautiful stretch of land there. The idea of putting together a family compound has always been so appealing. (You know the Kennedy Compound in Hyannisport is only on six acres!) The harder part is getting the family to agree on a plan and stick together. It sounds like you guys have a coordinated plan and a desire to pull in the same direction, and that's the most important part of all.

This has been a long time coming! I'm hoping it will all go as smoothly as possible.

What an adventure. Could be really something for me. Building it up from the start somewhere far away from people who are peeking through the curtains ;) Good luck and keep us informed ;)

Yeah, we don't have many neighbors around here. There's a house across the street, but no one's lived in it for the past year. The other neighbors are too far away to see their houses from our yard in the summer. When the leaves fall off the trees, you can see them though.

good post. a very great plan my friend. Good luck :-)

WHEN PARENTS GET ELDER THEIR SENSITIVITY INCREASE , AND THEY ALWAYS PREFER TO STAY AT THEIR OWN HOME , MY ADVICE TO TO KEEP CARING OF THEM AND DO NOT PUSH THEM TO TRANSPORT TO YOUR FARM , MY GOD REWARD YOU FOR YOUR CARE FOR THEM

Thanks for the advice, @samuraiz, but my parents want to do this as much as I want them to. Besides, they will still be living in the exact same house, but on land that they don't have to pay for monthly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54045.75
ETH 2247.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30