Turning my Garage into a Workshop — Part 3a: SawStop® AssemblysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1373.JPG

Hiya!

Things are really hotting up in my garage. And I'm not just talking about the weather! No. I also mean emotionally.

Parts 1 & 2 here.

I ordered my table saw. It's a SawStop® Professional Cabinet Saw (PCS). For those unfamiliar with SawStop® let me tell you that they are the last word in saw safety and accuracy. Before we go any further, I urge you to check out this video of its revolutionary safety feature. Please.

Yes wow.

This will be the chief tool in my workshop. Much can be accomplished with it, from making shelves, to creating parts for complex objects like jewellery boxes.

Putting it together was largely a joy, and here is what happened.

IMG_1309.JPG

IMG_1311.jpg

The postal man just brought this. I'll put it to one side for now.
IMG_1312.jpg

Checklist
IMG_1317.JPG

Just neatly lay all this out...
IMG_1318.JPG

Oh... I need the polystyrene...
IMG_1319.jpg

IMG_1320.JPG

Lovely.
IMG_1321.JPG

Now, before I do anything, I need to attach the mobile base. This arrived (was ordered...) a week after the saw, which was silly. But we're here now.
IMG_1322.JPG

You may notice that all the necessary hardware (for this and the saw) is in delicious, colour-coded blister packs.
IMG_1323.jpg

Oof, that's a lot of parts.
IMG_1324.JPG

IMG_1325.JPG

IMG_1327.JPG

IMG_1328.JPG

IMG_1329.JPG

At this point, I noticed something was wrong. The pedal only moved about a 5 degree range. I diagnosed the problem. Where my finger is, is where the rod behind should be. I had to unbolt everything...
IMG_1331.JPG

I'd like to take this opportunity to tell you about this lovely, mini Duralast® socket wrench. I bought it from AutoZone® a year ago and the checkout man applauded my choice. Little did I know how right he was. A terrific tool.
IMG_1334.jpg

Ok. Let's stand this up. I'll need MY WIFE.
IMG_1336.JPG

Ah, good. The UPS man just brought my ShopFox. I'll pop it to one side for now.
IMG_1332.JPG

And...
IMG_1337.JPG

...up
IMG_1338.JPG

Now for the outside casters.
IMG_1339.JPG

As much as I like SawStop® and want to promote them, this is obnoxious. I flipped it over.
IMG_1340.jpg

Good.
IMG_1341.jpg

IMG_1342.JPG

Smashing.
IMG_1343.jpg

They cover the cast iron bed and wings with oil to stop it rusting in storage. There is no moisture here so it's time to remove the sloppy paper and perform a wipe-down.
IMG_1346.JPG

IMG_1347.JPG

Have you ever seen anything so full of splendour⸮
IMG_1348.jpg

IMG_1350.JPG

Let's pop on these hand cranks.
IMG_1351.jpg

IMG_1352.JPG

The front one controls blade height. The side one controls blade angle. The plastic knob locks in the adjustments.
IMG_1353.JPG

Connect the dust port. This was inside—I had to screw it to the casing from the outside.
IMG_1355.JPG

This is the motor cover. It's bulbous because when the blade is straight the motor will stick out of the side.
IMG_1357.JPG

IMG_1358.JPG

IMG_1359.jpg

Just rod that in.
IMG_1360.JPG

Good.
IMG_1361.JPG

Let's take a moment to remove this panel and check out the replaceable brake cartridge. Sooooo nice. So nice.
IMG_1363.jpg

Bolt those wings on. These give me more surface area for when I cut wood.
IMG_1364.JPG

Now let's attach this switch assembly. This is a great switch, incidentally. Among other features, you can turn the saw off with your knee—very useful when you have your hands full, and in an emergency.
IMG_1365.JPG

IMG_1366.JPG

What's this?
IMG_1368.JPG

Ah. Wrenches for blade changing.
IMG_1369.JPG

What's this?
IMG_1370.JPG

It says it's an accessory holder. Let's introduce some accessories.
IMG_1371.JPG

Nope. I'll research this later...
IMG_1372.JPG

I have to remove the switch box again. I need to flush the wings to the main table.
IMG_1374.JPG

It took a long time to make it this flush. Lot's of bolting and screwing and heaving and sweat. Very pleased with the result.
IMG_1375.JPG

The instructions say I need to assemble this blade guard now. This encloses the blade for extra safety, and also channels the sawdust out of one spout instead of all over the fucking shop.
IMG_1376.jpg

That's nice but I don't need it yet. Incidentally, that crazy top bar is to stop wood going through if it's too thick. Otherwise the wood would get stuck after passing the blade, creating some kind of nightmare.
IMG_1377.JPG

That's good for now.
IMG_1373.JPG

Next time we will look at the rails and rip fence, dust collection, electricity... and, if we're lucky, HANDLING WOOD.

Thanks for reading! Bye now.

Sort:  

Nice work man engineer. 👌
There is no better spot for your dream workshop than in the garage. Because things you do in a workshop tend to produce noise and mess, a garage workshop has the advantage of isolation from the rest of the household. Whether your interests tend toward woodworking, metalworking, small engine repair, or just plain tinkering away with the ballgame on the radio, you’ll spend plenty of quality time in your garage workshop.

@sadkitten is countering 85% of @zohaib336 self-votes for 1 week starting Thursday, August 2nd 2018 because it is part of last weeks top self-voters. For more details see this post.

No doubt you are doing well. One problem with most garages is they don’t have enough electrical outlets.
Are you facing that problem?

I had extra ones installed when they built the home. A 240v for my table saw and a dedicated 20amp 120v outlet for handheld power tools. There are a good number of standard outlets too so I should be ok, finger crossed.

Thanks for reading :D

Well done, dear! I didn’t realize how tedious assembling a table saw can be. Looks awesome so far X

Thank you very much! I'm actually finding it an exciting and cathartic experience x

Excellent this is looking the hard work really pays off for sure and this is one such pure example of it :)

Oh, that's a great thing that you changed garage unto workshop @lenskonig. I appreciate your work.

My great wishes is with you!!

Thanks for sharing this post. 🤗💙

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56542.34
ETH 2391.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30