You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why "Fear" Is Not A Valid Excuse In Life.

in #life8 years ago

I enjoyed reading this, especially your stream of consciousness style.

It definitely sounds like your boyfriend has some kind of depression. My overwhelming feeling was that for him to say, "because I'm scared," was perhaps scary in itself. It sounds like he has trouble opening up emotionally and those three words were a cry for help.

Did you ask him more questions about this fear? I am in a similar relationship where my wife earns the most money. I have never got on too well as an employee because I'm a daydreamer with few or very vague ambitions. I'm lucky that I now have the chance to explore different avenues, Steemit being one experiment!

I was raised to earn for the sake of earning. So anything that feels creative or enjoyable to me is scary because I was never really allowed to enjoy myself as a child. I feel scared of being inferior to others. I feel scared of letting people down with my work. What exactly scares your boyfriend?

Sort:  

I didn't . Me and him have had this discussion a lot. But he doesn't open up about it. This time I was really angry because no advice I seem to give him ever works out, Because he doesn't seem to listen. Thats why I tried the more "passive" , "backing off" method. But that didn't work either.

I feel like he may have the same fears as you. But it's perfectly normal to be inferior to some people! You'll never be the best at everything. I probably need to really discuss this with him, But he doesn't seem to even want to set up some sort of plan, Or baby steps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63391.47
ETH 2617.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82