Use My Brain Series 1.1 (Gamitin Ang Utak Ko Serye 1.1)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

"Gamitin Ang Utak Ko"

It means to use one's brain to innovate something to become worthy; practice practical cleverness to get oneself out from certain existing difficulties, to anticipate impending complications or to free oneself from debilitating roadblocks.

In this Gamitin Ang Utak Ko Series, Philippine practices embedded in culture will be featured. It will depict the many ways Filipinos show creativity in order to survive the challenges of life, to make life more enjoyable and to express their individual beauty and uniqueness

This expression, Gamitin ang Utak is a cannonball to me personally. Growing up as a child, doing house chores was not easy at first. Because my mother who was my teacher could not attend to many things all at the same time. I should be quick and smart enough to pick up her instructions, such as how to go about cooking a dish for example.

And when I would ask series of questions to make sure I was doing it right, she would say in a stern voice, "Use your head!"
I would hear her telling it to my brothers sometimes; I hear it as well from the parents and older siblings of my neighbor-playmates. So I thought, it is such a cultural thing.

FILIPINO INGENUITY FROM ITS ROOTS


Ingenuity is innate among Filipinos. This character can be traced from the early ancestors' way of living who had managed to live on their most creative and native ways even before the influences of outside culture that came into the Philippines. Years back to present, as life goes on, this ingenuity persists as we will see in this series of posts I will be writing. 🙂

MARKET-ON-WHEELS

City living can be very stressful and there are times when going to the supermarket becomes a luxury of time. For a busy woman like me, I would have to set a schedule for my trips to get what I need for the kitchen.
But, there are times when I run out of vegetables and/or fruits that I need, but I can not manage to go the the supermarket.

What a delight to have this market-on-wheels come to my doorstep!!!!
produce.jpg

How do you like to have a farm coming close to you for your kitchen needs?

This man figures out how to thrive in the city. He has his regular customers who would await him in the morning.
What a relief for those who need to go to work, and later on in the evening would need something to cook for dinner.

bikeman.jpg

He solves a seemingly simple problem, but it actually COUNTS BIG for others!

This guy is creative to overcome the financial challenges that city life has upon him. Instead of sulking or begging on the streets, with this useful three-wheeled bike, he helps the small community by giving convenience. He does not let his ability go into waste. Plus, he has found a source of income that will meet whatever needs he and his loved ones have.

I bought some fresh vegetables and bananas from him this morning. He was so kind enough to peel the taros I got-- peeling service for FREE!!! 🙂🙂🙂
peelit.jpg

When we help lessen other's predicaments, we increase the value of our existence.

AND WHAT DO I HAVE?


Looking at what I got today, I am in high spirits!!!! 😍

myproduce.jpg

1 medium size bitter gourd
3 pcs eggplant
3 peeled taro
10 pcs small sized green pepper
a small bunch of string beans
6 pcs okra
2 sponge gourd (Luffa vegetable)
11 pieces bananas

All of these cost 2.58 USD.

More to come in this series... Thanks for taking time to read.

😊 🌈


FILIPINO TRANSLATION


"Gamitin Ang Utak Ko"

Tumutukoy eto sa makabagong paraan upang magamit nang may saysay ang utak; isabuhay ang pagiging praktikal sa paggamit ng katalinuhan upang iahon ang sarili sa kasalukuyang paghihirap, upang unahan ang paparating na komplikasyon o di kaya upang gawing malaya ang sarili mula sa nakakapanghina na mga balakid.

Mailalahad dito Sa Gamitin Ang Utak Ko Series, ang mga kaugaliang Pilipino na nakapaloob sa kultura. Ipapakita ditto ang iba’t ibang paraan ng mga Pilipino sa pagiging malikhain upang makaligtas sa mga pagsubok ng buhay, upang gawing mas kaaya-aya ang buhay at upang ilahad ang sariling kagandahan at natatanging kaibahan.

Ang pahayag na Gamitin ang Utak ay bola ng kanyon para sa akin. Sa aking paglaki, hindi madali sa una ang guimawa ng mag gawaing bahay. DAhil nga ang aking ina na syang nagtuturo sa akin ay hindi magkanda ugaga na asikasuhin lahat ng maga bagay bagay nang sabay sabay. Kinakailangan kong maging mabilis at matalino upang maintinfihan ang mga tagubilin nya gaya na lamang ng pagluluto ng ulam halimbawa.

At sa tuwing magtatanong ako ng mga tanong na sunod-sunod upang liwanagin kung tama ang aking ginagawa, sasabihin nya sa istriktong boses, “Gamiting mo ang utak mo!”

Naririnig ko rin sya na sinasabi eto sa aking mga kapatid na lalaki; naririnig ko rin eto na sinasabi ng mga magulang ant kapatid ng aking mga laarong kapitbahay. Kaya sabi ko sa aking sarili, nasa kultura eto.

UGAT NG PAGIGING MALIKHAIN NG PILIPINO


Likas sa mga Pilipino ang maging malikhain. Ang kaugaliang eto ay mababakas mula sa pamumuhay ng mga ninuno kung saan ay namuhay silang malikhain at sa katutubong pamamaraan mula noon pa mang bago dumating sa Pilipinas ang impluwensyang tagalabas. Mula noon hanggang sa kasalukuyan, tuloy ang buhay; ang pagiging malikhain ng Pilipino ay patuloy at matutunghayan natin sa mga susunod ko pang panulat. 🙂

PALENGKENG DE PEDAL


Ang buhay sa siyudad ay nakakahapo at may mga panahon na ang pagpunta sa supermarket ay isa nang karangyaan sa oras. Para sa isang abala na babae gaya ko, kinakailangan kong sundin ang iskedyul sa mga pagpunta ko roon para makuha ko nag kailangan para sa kusina.
Ngunit may mga pagkakataon na nauubusan ng mga gulay or prutas na kailangan ko at hindi ako makapunta sa supermarket.
Anong tuwa ko na merong palengkeng de pedal na dumarating sa harap ng aking pintuan!!!
produce.jpg

Hindi ba’t kaaya-aya na lumalapit ang bukid sayo para sa pangangailan ng iyong kusina?

Ang mamang eto, tawagin nalang natin siyang JR, ay napagtanto kung paano mamuhay sa siyudad. Meron syang regular na mga mamimili na nag aantay sa kanya sa umaga.
Anong ginhawa ang naidudulot nito sa mga nagtatrabaho at pagdating sa bahay sa gabi ay merong madadampot na lulutuin sa hapunan.

bikeman.jpg

Nilulutas niya ang tila simpleng problema, ngunit eto ay NAPAKALAKING BAGAY para sa iba!

Malikhain ang mamang eto upang malampasan ang problema pangpinansyal na kinakaharap nya sa siyudad. Imbes na sya ay mamalimos at maawa sa sarili, gamit ang kanyag tatlong-gulong na bisekleta. Tinutulungan nya ang maliit na komunidad sa paraang nagbibigay ng kaginhawaan sa mga tao. Hindi nya hinahayaang mapunta saw ala nag kanyang kakayahan. Dagdag pa ditto, meron syang pinagkukunan ng kita para sa matugunan ang pangangailangan niya at ng mmga mahal nya sa buhay.

Bumili ako ng sariwang gulay at saging kaninan umaga. him this morning. Napakabait nya at tinalupan ang gabi—LIBRENG pagtalop!!! 🙂🙂🙂
peelit.jpg

Kapag tayo ay tumutulong upang maibsan ang suliranin ng iba,dinaragdagan natin ang kahalahan na ating buhay.

AT ANO ANG NABILI KO?


Sobrang saya ko na tinitignan ang aking nabili ngayon!!! 😍

myproduce.jpg

1 medium size ampalaya
3 pcs talong
3 peeled gabi
10 pcs small sized berdeng sili
a small bunch sitaw
6 pcs okra
2 patola
11 pirasong saging

Lahat ng eto ay nabili ko sa halagang 130.00 pesos

Marami pang ibabahagi sa inyo sa mga susunod na paglalahad….Salamat sa inyong oras sa pagbasa.

😊 🌈

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lemonchum to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

nice blog

Hahaha. I can relate a lot. But it's my dad who often tells me to use my brains. He would suddenly blurt it out like, "Naku, ate! Use your coconut!" while pointing in his own sentido (temple). Btw, my mom's a teacher, too.

@krizia, Hahaha!"sentido common"my lola would say that, too!

Nice to know that about your mom☺

Should I say "old people"? Lol. They make us happy, anyways. We love 'em that's for sure.

Nakakatuwang makita na ang isang lalaki ay nagtatrabaho kesa nagbabasagulero.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62