You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Learned from Giving Up Alcohol for One Year (Therapy Thursday)

in #life6 years ago

Well written and very honest @byn, which is a great step towards healing. By initially deciding you would give it one month was a good way to start, as you didn't pressurise yourself. And then you achieved success and have stuck to it for a year, with no intention of falling back .... absolutely awesome doll!
I've lived with alcohol abuse my entire 60 years, firstly my dad and now my husband. He had a particularly bad incident 2 weeks ago which almost devastated our family (I have a 26 year old son and 1 year old granddaughter). Thank God it became the turning point - I've just read your post to him, with some of the comments by others, to encourage him on his new journey. We've made some massive changes to facilitate this journey, which is important.
I'm sad you experienced sexual abuse, my husband did too in the boys' home in which he was placed. It is a very difficult thing to deal with.
Although I don't know you, I'm very proud of you for what you've achieved and for your courage, and thank you for sharing it. Much love.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story! My husband is giving up the alcohol now, too. It is so hard to do and the first month is really hard. Research all you can about that first few months and weeks so you can know more of what to expect. It makes it a little easier (or at least did for me) to know what was coming...

I wish you the very best and please let me know how it goes. <3

Good news that your husband is giving up as well, it's very hard to stop when those around you are still drinking. On the plus side here, my husband is talking about things now, and realizing the severity of the situation. It would be nice to keep in touch, I think we all need encouragement.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62