Letters from a traveler. (spanish version at the bottom)

in #life6 years ago

10007270_10202406840186029_644714119_o.jpg

Mail from a traveler to his family and friends:

Hi family, pseudofamily and friends...

I'm writing to you all together so i'm not repeating the same ten times and spend to much time in front of the screen.

As almost all of you already know im again spending summer in Punta del Diablo, Uruguay this time i'm not working at Unplugged Hostel but... Because even if im not working I have a cool relation with them, they allowed me to stay for free while i look for a job somewhere else in town...

Sunset at Punta del Diablo
1490855_10202020847176445_223582840_o.jpg

The search was not so intense but i walked a lot and went to almost all of the 25 hostels and restaurants in town... After a week looking around with 0 results I was already thinking on a plan B... Spend summer in my city (Buenos Aires)... NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!
Finally I got a job in one of the first places i asked "Pueblo Arriba Hostel" :)

1512775_10201999159834275_160543116_n.jpg

The first time I talked with the manager and she told me she was waiting confirmation from the night shift guy so I whent by every day to check for news until... I won by exhaustion (not sure if that sentence means the same in english. Spanish "gane por cansancio")...

Pueblo Arriba Hostel is amazing, is a lot bigger than the other one and also cleaner and more comfortable. It has a bar, a restaurant, stage for bands, ping pong table, a lot of hammocks and the staff vibes are great...

1495264_10202020863376850_2000401563_o.jpg

One of the owners is from Entre Rios (argentinean province) and hes a really cool guy... We already had long chats and he told me about a beautiful island in Nicaragua called Little Corn Island where I can buy pretty cheap land... So, Whenever I get there I wanna check it out :P

I started working about two weeks ago but until now there was almost no guests at all and my job was to sleep outside on a hammock with one eye open for any intruder or problem during the night... Mosquitoes here are simply diabolic, terrifying, apocalyptic, I don't know how else I could describe them... they never left me alone... A few night ago I bought "OFF"(mosquito repellent for the skin) and spirals(smoking poison) so I'm spending the nights covered in poison breathing that delicious smoke and wrapt in the hammock as a cocoon...

Finally today people started to arrive and after the next two days the hostel would be full and the town would blow up for the next 2 to 3 weeks!. After that it slowly goes down for 2 months and that's it, the season finishes...

Last week the hostel was upgraded to the 2.0 version and got a nice swimming pool :)

575782_10201884250441612_464854490_n.jpg

We all enjoyed it so much!
741284_10202076521888278_639263258_o.jpg

Yes! all of us...
1048689_10202113613695550_1141492540_o.jpg

Including this little fellow
1966131_10202328564629189_1556167631_o.jpg

They installed it in 2 or 3 days and then I, with a little help from a 10 or 11 year old friend, shoveled 2 full loaded trucks off sand and another of dirt all around the pool and then me and a guy who knew what he was doing added grass all around too... After this I builded a fence where they had took it off to get the pool and the trucks through... When I finally ended with all this I had sore muscles where I didnt even knew I had muscles and blisters on every corner of my hands... but f it... after the pain I was happy to have learned new stuff and with a swimming pool to relax in...

1501114_10202076526768400_939739612_o.jpg

The hostel has also a little electric golf kind of car which we use to go shopping and to get people from the bus station... Driving it is so much fun and it makes no noise nor pollution... even more... if i get people from the bus station I get payed a small commission :)

1524713_10201871023070936_1910899515_n.jpg

I escaped for a day to Chuy, a town in the border with brazil, and bought a good pair of havaianas that I was desperately needing, a nice pair of sunglasses cyclops style (X-Men), and a lot of "food" to save some money... you know, border towns are usually cheaper and tax free areas... I think next time I'm gonna look around for a beekeeper's suit, maybe then I may be able to keep mosquitoes from feeding on me... :P

so... The sea is warmer every day and some days the waves are perfect... I was already running on the beach a few miles and I believe, in a scale from 1 to 10, my skin has a tanning level of 7... :)

So happy to be at the beach again!!!
1557275_10202070620140738_1553958625_o.jpg

Trying my "new" (second hand old) gopro in the sea...
1495184_10202052552609061_2106730039_o.jpg

But you need to be carefull... there are a lot of this little fellows...
903423_10202076536808651_11886880_o.jpg

Ok, that about what I enjoyed till now... you'd have more news from mee soon...
Thanks to Piojo, Buchi, Maraia and Faio who did a long chain to get me my laptop from Buenos Aires to Punta del Diablo!!! :)

Happy new year to all!!! Salute!!!
Me.


SECOND MAIL:

Hellooo! how are you? all good in your ecosystems?

Still here in Punta del Diablo soaking wet, it has been raining day and night for about 2 weeks with a few little breaks...

1888830_10202173335068547_1439293006_o.jpg

The streets hera are not prepared for so much rain...
1556351_10202223853011464_966787772_o.jpg

Almost as big as the Grand Canyon... :P
1009049_10202223850731407_787567320_o.jpg

Season has been pretty slow, a lot less people than expected... Really bad for businesses that lives from tourism. I'm lucky to have a fix salary :P (selfishness)

Here at Pueblo Arriba Hostel im still working every little night, already almost 2 months, and still one more month to go... I'm not having such a good time, to be truthful i would love to just go but i'm not gonna do it because I can use a little more savings before traveling north. Also I gave my word I would work the whole season... On this hostel there is a lack of love. The manager has always worked in gastronomy and renting cabins but never before she has worked in a hostel and shes not good at it. As I see it not in a good way for guests and for me... Personally im really unhappy because of the inexistent importance she gives to her employees health and comfort(especially me) mainly two things bother me. The first and bigger issue is that in the two months I've been here I still don't have a stable place to sleep, and considering that I work through the nights it's very important to have a comfortable and quiet place to sleep during the day. She moved me from place to place at least 10 times already...
Wet stuff, bad mattresses, etc... The second thing that annoys me is that I was supposed to have dinner included... what they never told me was that diner was going to be cold chorizo leftovers, cheap ravioli with no sauce nor cheese, if i'm lucky maybe a burger or an empanada and that if they leave something for me... but well... i've already complained enough, don't you think so?

Positive things, being awake every night while people is sleeping gives you a lot of time to think, read and just relax by yourself... on the last 2 months I've already read 4 books, tons of internet articles and posts and did a lot of meditation... I'm every day closer to start moving north for my first real long trip and i'm more certain that I would like to have my own "hostel". Im writing it with "" because the word hostel doesn't fully explain what my life project and dream is...
Long story short, i'm thinking about an eco hostel, self sustainable on electricity, water, food, etc... Making it cultural, workshops and courses... And making it a temple creating an environment of peace and love and giving to whoever needs it, the tools to help their spiritual growth and to open their consciousness... This last thing is something im actually working inside myself and i'm just starting...
I advise you a few books if you wanna read but you don't know what... "Ami, the child from the stars" and its 2 sequels... Osho's books and another one called "power of now"... In these you gonna find ideas, teachings and propositions that at least I find extremely positive... Also during the reading you may think, "this is nonsense" it happened to me but at the end i felt that i grew a lot...
All what is published on this site http://blog.pucp.edu.pe/blog/ebarrios and in this one too http://partidodelared.org/blog/ yes, weird isnt it? me with politics... just read it... something different is being proposed... maybe something good would come out of it...

My nights changed a lot since 2 days ago, until then my job was to stay near the main door all night with the other entrance closed, to keep an eye on the people coming in and out, and keep them silent during sleeping hours. Basically just that... So, it seems like 2 night ago someone jumped over the fence on the other side of the property, went into a room where people was already sleeping and stole a bag and some other stuff... because of that, now, every 15 or 20 minutes I have to walk around the property with a flashlight... on one hand it's a bummer, on the other night appear to go faster...

Anyway, after the season I would have my well deserved rest...
I already have my ticket back from Uruguay to Buenos Aires. I believe the same day I finish working i'm going to Barra de Valizas and Cabo Polonio to spend a few days with friends, then 2 nights in Montevideo and back home... In Buenos Aires im gonna stay 2 weeks and then i'm starting my big trip with no returning date...
Another thing i'm using the night for is to search the web and pinpoint places in the map where i want to go in latin america :)
Whoever have already been in Salta and Jujuy feel free to give me some advice. My plan is to travel cheap but also to do a lot of trekking, wild camping, bike tours or whatever i find interesting...
For sure when i'm further in my trip i'm gonna ask for advice and suggestions for Bolivia, Peru and every country I go to...

Anyways, Pray with me for the rain to stop!!!

xoxoxo to all of you!!!
Me.

PS: If someone wish to unsubscribe from this mailing list just reply with the word "CANCEL" :P


THIRD MAIL (the last one):

I think this is gonna be my last "... from Punta del Diablo" mail...
I'm almost done... Tomorrow Paulinho Moska plays live here at the hostel, apparently he's famous... 700 Uruguayan pesos a ticket :S I hope hes really famous, otherwise, nobody is gonna come...
Anyway, I have just 2 more night to work and after im free again and I'm not planning to work at least for a couple of months...
Here in Punta del Diablo since my last email things have been a little better... At least I haven't been moved around anymore and they fixed a few leaks so my stuff and bed have been dry...
Humidity still here but, nobody can change that... With my boss and my coworkers all is good but everybody is tired... working 3 months with not even 1 day off is too much... at least for me because I work in the night and sleep during the day and not more than 1 or 2 hours at a time... its enough!... I need to sleep at night and 7 or 8 straight hours... I also need to go out at night, get a little drunk... anyway, it's done, 2 more days and FREEEEEEDOOOOOM!!!!! :)
Ive been already sending couchsurfing requests for Salta and Jujuy, my first two stops... If you know anyone there or in Bolivia who can give my a couch for one or two days please, put me in contact with them...
Lately i've been going to the beach with a long surfing board and I already got to stand, not for more than 3 or 4 seconds but still, maybe someday I would be able to say I surf... :P
If you are walking distracted on Punta del Diablo streets on this carnaval days, be careful, you can think you're in brazil... 80% of the town now are Brazilian tourists and the weathercast is saying that is gonna keep raining brazilians for 2 or 3 more days until carnaval cloud goes away... :)

Anyway, I have not so much to tell you... I wanna relax, and knowing I'm not gonna be there too long I also want some Buenos Aires and my people... See you soon!!!

Salute!!!
Me.

Extra comments:

We also had this art workshop i really enjoyed... I never tryed painting before and i was pretty happy with my work :)
1599769_10202052561929294_675896799_o.jpg

01.jpg

02.jpg

Sadly both paintings got ruined by the 25 days of rain...

These ware the hostel pets
1472889_10201871393320192_1624484665_n.jpg

Weird thing was the places they choose to sit...
1471226_10201884250841622_1322698366_n.jpg

This is my after work with my friends in Valizas
1900766_10202406831905822_956414553_o.jpg

1957813_10202406843306107_803966630_o.jpg

I hope you enjoyed my post!

all photos and text are my originals





VERSION EN ESPAÑOL:

Mail 1 desde punta del diablo (28/12/2013)

Hola familia, pseudofamilia y amigos más queridos...

Les escribo a todos juntos para no repetir lo mismo muchas veces y no pasar más tiempo del necesario frente a la compu.
Como ya a mayoría saben, nuevamente me vine a pasar el verano a Uruguay pero esta vez no me contrataron en el Unplugged hostel peeero... como está todo bien, me permitieron quedarme ahí gratis mientras buscaba laburo por acá...
la búsqueda no fue intensa pero si camine bastante y pregunte en casi todos los hostels y restaurantes y bares... pasada ya una semana sin conseguir nada ya estaba pensando en el plan b... pasar enero en baires... NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!
Finalmente conseguí trabajo en uno de los primeros lugares a donde fui a buscar, "Pueblo Arriba hostel" :)
La primera vez que pase hable con la encargada y me dijo que todavía le faltaba confirmar la persona que trabajaría de sereno así que de ahí en más pase casi todos los días para ver si tenía novedades hasta que ta... gane por cansancio...
Este hostel está buenísimo, es bastante más grande que el otro y mucho más prolijo, tiene bar-restaurante, escenario para bandas, mesa de ping pong, tablero para tirar dardos, montones de hamacas paraguayas y la onda del staff hasta ahora es muy buena... uno de los dueños es de Entre Ríos y es un copado...ya nos colgamos a tener largas charlas y me tiro la data de que en Nicaragua hay terrenos bastante económicos para comprar en unas islitas divinas... una se llama Little island... así que ta, cuando llegue a Nicaragua tengo que chequear eso :P
Empecé a "trabajar" el 12 pero recién hoy hay un poco más de gente así que hasta ahora mi trabajo fue simplemente dormir a la intemperie atento a cualquier ruido... aunque los mosquitos acá son simplemente diabólicos terroríficos cataclísmicos y no sé cómo mas podría describirlos.... no me dejaron en paz nunca... hace un par de días me acorde y compre Off y espirales así que ahora paso las noches cubierto de una fina capa de veneno en aerosol y respirando un delicioso humo de espiral...
Hoy finalmente empezó a llegar gente y entre mañana, pasado y el día siguiente llega todo el mundo y estalla punta del diablo por los próximos 15 días... después va bajando de a poco hasta marzo...
La semana pasada el hostel dio un paso más y paso a la versión 2.0 agregando a la lista de haberes una linda piscina :)
la colocaron en 2 o 3 días y después yo con un poco de ayuda de un amigo de 10 u 11 años palie 2 camiones de arena y uno de tierra alrededor de la piscina y luego lo forre de pasto con ayuda de un loco que la tiene clara... después construí un cerco donde lo habían arrancado para entrar la piscina y los camiones... al terminar esos tres días de laburo tenia dolor en músculos que no conocía y callos en cada pliegue de las manos... pero ta.... pasada la agonía quede pipi cucú... jeje
el hostel también tiene un carrito de golf eléctrico con el que hacemos las compras y vamos a buscar gente a la terminal... es re divertido manejarlo y no hace ruido ni echa humo... para sumarle aún más... si voy a la terminal y rescato turistas para el hostel me pagan una comisión :)
Ya me escape un día a chuy y me compre unas buenas havaianas que andaba necesitando, unos buenos lentes de sol al mejor estilo cyclops (x-men) y un montón de cosas de comida para ahorrar... creo que la próxima vez que vaya me vuelvo con un traje para apicultura... quizás así finalmente pueda mantener a raya a los mosquitos :P

En fin, el mar está cada día más calentito y hay algunos días de olas divinas... ya estuve corriendo por la playa unos cuantos kilómetros y creo que en escala de 1 al 10 dentro de mis posibilidades, mi piel ya está en un 7 de bronceado... :P

Bueno, eso es más o menos lo que goce hasta agora.... ya les volveré a escribir pronto... Gracias al Piojo, Buchi, Maraia, Faio y el novio... que hicieron un pasamano salvaje y me hicieron llegar la notebook desde baires hasta PDD :)

Feliz Año para todos!!!! Salute!!!
Yo.


SEGUNDO MAIL:

Bueeenas, cómo andan? todo bien en sus ecosistemas?

Bueno, acá sigo en punta del diablo, un poco pasado por agua, ya hace más o menos 2 semanas que llueve día y noche con alguna pausa pero mínima... La temporada muy tranquila, muchísima menos gente de la que se esperaba.... muuuy mala para los negocios que viven del turismo. Por suerte yo tengo un sueldo fijo :P (egoísmo)

Acá en el hostel Pueblo Arriba sigo trabajando toditas las noches, ya hace casi 2 meses y me queda un mes más... No lo estoy pasando taaan bien, a decir verdad tengo bastantes ganas de irme al joraca pero no lo hago porque me sirve ahorrar un poco más antes de irme de viaje y porque me comprometí a trabajar la temporada pero ta... En este hostel falta "amor" la encargada siempre trabajo en gastronomía y alquilando cabañas pero nunca había trabajado en hostel y no lo maneja, a mi entender, de una manera prolija ni buena para los huéspedes y tampoco para mí... Personalmente yo estoy muy descontento con la poca importancia que le da a la comodidad y bienestar de sus empleados (en particular yo) son principalmente 2 cosas que me tocan a mí en particular, la primera y principal es que en los 2 meses que llevo acá, sigo sin tener mi lugar estable para dormir, y siendo que trabajo de noche, es importante tener un buen lugar cómodo y tranquilo para descansar de dia. Me cambiaron de lugar fácil, unas 10 veces ya... Cosas húmedas colchón incomodo, etc... Y la segunda cosa que me jode es que supuestamente tenía la cena incluida... lo que nunca me aclararon es que la cena iba a ser chorizo frio para recalentar, ravioles baratos sin salsa ni queso, con suerte alguna hamburguesa o empanada y eso si es que dejan algo para que coma... en fin... ya me queje suficiente, no?
Cosas positivas, estar todas las noches despierto mientras la gente duerme le da a uno mucho tiempo para pensar, leer o huevear... en lo que va de la temporada ya leí 4 libros, incontables artículos y publicaciones en internet y medite y pensé muuuuucho... Cada vez tengo más ganas de arrancar viaje y de armar mi propio "hostel"... Y lo pongo entre comillas porque la palabra "hostel" no engloba todo lo que imagino para mi proyecto de vida a mediano y largo plazo... Resumiendo muchísimo, estoy pensando en hacerlo ecológico, autosustentable a nivel electricidad, agua, reciclado, huerta, etc... En hacerlo cultural, dando talleres y cursos... y en hacerlo un "templo" generando un ambiente de paz y amor y dando a quien lo quiera materiales y herramientas para el crecimiento espiritual y la apertura de la conciencia... esto último es algo en lo que estoy trabajando en mi persona y recién empiezo.
Les recomiendo algunas lecturas por si tienen ganas de leer y no saben que leer... "Ami, el niño de las estrellas" y sus 2 secuelas... Libros de Osho, otro libro llamado "el poder del ahora" en este y en casi todos los que acá recomiendo van a encontrar ideas, enseñanzas y propuestas que al menos a mí me parecen sumamente positivas... también por momentos van a pensar "que bolazo esto que estoy leyendo" a mí me paso con alguno....
Todo lo publicado en el sitio http://blog.pucp.edu.pe/blog/ebarrios
y en el sitio http://partidodelared.org/blog/ si, raro no? yo con cosas de política... léanlo... algo diferente se plantea... quizás salga algo bueno...

Mis noches laborales cambiaron mucho hace 2 días... hasta anteanoche mis tareas se reducían a estar sentado en el bar cerca de una de las entradas, con la otra entrada cerrada, y controlar a la gente que entra, que hagan silencio y que no sean de afuera... básicamente solo eso.... bueno, hace 2 noches al parecer alguien salto el cerco del otro lado y entro a una habitación, donde había gente durmiendo que nunca se despertó, y robo una cartera y reviso otras cosas... a raíz de esto ahora cada 15 o 20 minutos tengo que dar una vuelta con la linterna por todos los rincones del terreno... por un lado es embolante pero por otro, hace que la noche se me pase más rápido...

En fin, cuando termine la temporada tendré mi "merecido descanso"
Ya tengo pasaje de Montevideo a baires para el 10 de marzo a la 1am... Creo que el 4 es el último día que trabajo y planeo irme el mismo 4 o el 5 a balizas y cabo polonio a pasar un par de días y después pasar el 8 y 9 en Montevideo... En baires creo que voy a pasar 2 semanas, pensaba arrancar el 20 pero me está gustando la idea de arrancar viaje el 24 de marzo así el 24 de junio cumplo años, cumplo 3 meses de viaje y cumplo un año libre de tabaco!! :)
Otra cosa para la que estoy aprovechando las noches es para ver en la web y marcar en tripadvisor, lugares y cosas que quiero hacer en Latinoamérica :)
Los que ya fueron a salta y Jujuy si tienen alguna recomendación háganmela... mi plan es viajar económicamente pero me encantaría hacer trecking, camping agreste en lugares naturales grosos, excursiones en bici o cualquier otra cosa interesting...
Más adelante cuando ya esté en viaje seguramente les pida recomendaciones de Bolivia, Perú y de cada país al que vaya llegando...

En fin, hagamos fuerza para que pare de llover!!!

Besous a todoussss!!
Yo.

PD: si alguien desea cancelar su suscripción a "MAILS desde punta del diablo VERSION 4.0" solicítelo respondiendo a este mail con la palabra "CANCELAR"


TERCER MAIL:

Creo que este va a der mi ultimo email "... desde Punta del Diablo"...
Ya queda muy poco... Mañana toca aca en el hostel Paulinho Moska, aparentemente es alguien conocido... 700 pesos uruguayos la entrada :S espero que realmente sea conocido, sino, no va a venir nadie...
En fin, me queda trabajar mañana y pasado y despues ya soy libre y no pienso laburar al menos por un par de meses... voy a pasar 5, 6 y 7 en balizas y cabo polonio con amigos, el 8 y 9 en mvd y el 10 ya estoy denuevo en Baires... me voy a quedas solo 2 semanitas y espero poder ver a todos...
Aca en PDD desde el ultimo mail que les mande las cosas mejoraron un poco... al menos no me tube que mover mas de lugar y sellaron un par de goteras cosa que al menos no se me mojo mas la cama... la humedad sigue per ta, no es tan jodida... con mi jefa y mis compañeros de trabajo esta todo bien pero ya estamos cansados... esto de trabajar 3 meses sin un solo dia libre es agotador.... al menos para mi que trabajo de noche y duermo de dia y en etapas... ya basta... necesito dormir de noche y unas 7 u 8 horas de corrido... tambien necesito salir de noche, emborracharme un poco... en fin, ya esta.. 2 dias mas y LIBERTAAAAAD!!! :)
Ya estube marcando en trip advisor, lugares a donde quiero ir y mandando por couch surfing solicitudes a gente de esos lugares, mas que nada salta y jujuy que son los primeros lugares que voy a ir... si conocen gente en salta, jujuy o bolivia que me puesa alojar, mostrar algo o simplemente gente copada para conocer, pasenme contactos...
ultimamente fui un par de veces con un tablon a la playa y ya logre pararme... solo por 2 o 3 segundos pero ta, algun dia quizas, podre decir que se surfar... :P
Si vas distraido caminando por punta del diablo en estos dias de carnaval tene cuidado... podes confundirte y creer que estas en brasil... hay como un 80% de brasileños en el pueblo y el pronostico es que van a seguir llovioendo brasileños por 2 o 3 dias mas hasta que pase la nube carnavalesca....

En fin, no tengo mucho que contar... ya quiero relajar y sabiendo que no me quedo mucho, tambien tengo ganas de un poco de buenos aires y mi gente... nos vemos en breve!!

salute!!
Yo.

todo el texto y las fotografías son originales míos

Sort:  

I love the idea of sharing your letters home here, and what a fun collection of photos! The cat lazing on the very top of the roof was my favorite :) Your paintings turned out nice! Really loved the shot of you jumping from the beach dunes as well :) Great post!

Much love - Carl "Totally Not A Bot" Gnash / @carlgnash



Click the badge to learn more about
Human Certified Original Works

I think I’m gonna do a series of letters posts...

muy buen pots saludos desde venezuela exitos

Well done! Love the underwater camera photography as well!

thanks!
I did another whole post about becoming a divemaster... in that one I posted my best underwater photos and a video :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54