The Boots that Saved my Life.

in #life7 years ago

This is actually my post for today's color challenge but as I was photographic these 6 year old boots I started thinknig about the history that they have behind them.


You see that title isn't hyperbole. These boots really did save my life. I kicked the crotch of my psychotic ex-boyfriend repeatedly before finally being able to escape. Another time I used them to kick some creep who was trying to get me into a room when I was in the hallway of a motel I was living at. These boots have been there for me in some serious times. They are steel toed, hence being able to kick some ass.

I wanted these boots for years. They are made by "vegetarian shoes". They are non-leather but super durable. One day, one of my best friends told me he was going to get me the boots and told me to pick a color. I spent literally hours trying to decided between the red, blue, or green. Mostly it was between red and green. I settled on green and have been in love with these boots ever since.

When someone left me stranded in the rain hours from my home I walked for miles and miles to get to a phone wearing these boots. These boots stuck with my through years of hardship. These boots have a history and best of all they are so god damned durable that besides the aesthetic wear there is no actual damage that takes away from the wearability.

I look forward to many more years in these boots but hope I won't have to use them to save my life any time soon.



Get these badges I made here.


HTML tutorial

Sort:  

looks water proof,too heavy for me.

They are less heavy than they look but definitely heavier than the average shoe. I don't wear them constantly which is why I find it amazing I seemed to always have them on when I needed them the most! :)

Those boots were definitely made for walking, and kicking!

I have a pair of shoes that are close to 21 years old. But they never saved my life... Maybe I should get rid of them.

I have always loved my boots for their ass-kicking capabilities. Being a woman means more lower body strength, pair that with some boots (I've got maroon docs and brown cowboy boots) and you're a little safer out there.

Definitely. They have proven to be seriously friggin helpful when I was in need. It makes me want to wear nothing else on my feet. :) Except maybe the red ones if I get them. ^_^

Red shoes are my favorite. Next pair of cowboy boots I get will be red.

Yeah I always slightly regret not going with red. hehe But, next time. :) Good choice on the red cowboy boots. ^_^

It was a tough choice! Green is cool too.

I have a pair of similar boots. Not green, but black. They've literally been all over the world. Its funny how our shoes contain their own unspoken narratives of time and place.

Forever fascinated by the things that most people miss. That's what makes posts like this so special.

I had another pair of super special shoes with even more history. I have a really nice photo of them. They were converse tagged by all my friends and they were a gift from a near stranger/customer and man, they have a lot of history too. Lost the shoes. :'( But have that picture and all the memories. :)

You are right a lot of people just don't think about such stuff. I get sentimental over little things.

There is something to be said about a good pair of ass kicking boots. ;)

Kicking ass and talking name!!!! These boots are made for stomping!!! 🤣😆🤣

I couldn't help myself.

That was a good boot story. Those boots have seen it's days of combat for you. I'm glad they saved your life many times.

Green energy boots!
:D

I like green a lot and I am glad they make you run faster and jump higher ... not to mention kick butt. Mine are tuquoise. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63