My life was in a rut for years, here is how I "jump-started" it and began flourishing.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

For a few years my life was pretty stagnant. I kind of just survived.

I knew that something needed to change but I didn't know what needed to change and I had no idea where to begin. I had just dropped out of college because I had become homeless and the college wasn't on a bus route. I had been working FT and going to school FT until that point. So, my life kind of felt over. That's understandable. The problem is that I got completely stuck in a quick-sand of failure and broken dreams and I just sat there making friends. I didn't do anything to try to dig myself out for years.

I am hoping by sharing what I eventually did with you, we can get you out of the sand sooner.

  • Find your passion and aggressively pursue it

So, a few years later after really wallowing in my depression, pity, and hopelessness I decided "um, I HAVE to do SOMETHING or this will be my life." At this point I couldn't work a regular job due to my disability -I may be able to now but I don't want/need to- so I stopped telling myself the world was cruel and my hand sucked and I had no options and I started thinking like an entrepreneur. I started creating and selling my creations. This doesn't have to be what you do, but if you are stagnating find something you are passionate about and start really doing it.

This year I have already sold all of my paintings I had, published a book that did well, have two more books in the works, and still have various other projects I am passionate about. (including steemit) I am now pretty unstoppable when it comes to pursuing my dreams and, as if I rekindled some child-like wonder, I am starting to really believe that if you keep it up long enough, and really pursue your passion you will inevitably make it. -assuming you are in a position where you have basic necessities met- (see: Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs)


Look at this fucking rainbow? Doesn't that just make you feel capable and shit?

  • Embrace Change, even if it is scary.

This is probably the biggest part of why I am doing well. I had to embrace some really scary changes. I had to remove obstacles from my life that were in my way (which I will get to next) and I had to eventually move across the country. I had to stop doing the same thing I had been doing for years and expecting anything different. You know like that Einstein quote, I was completely insane to expect anything to get better when I was unwilling to change. So, I set out to make some huge changes in my life.

These changes were absolutely terrifying but it's like that other quote by Eleanor Roosevelt quote you really have to do scary things constantly in order to excel. You need to challenge yourself. You need to change. Otherwise, you are stuck in a quick-sand of familiarity and mediocrity and you are making friends. It should be noted though, that for me at least, (and I am such a scared person in general) these scary things became a lot easier. Changing and taking risks became a bit less nerve-wracking each time.

  • Cut people who are in the way of your way of success OUT of your life!!!!

This, for me, was the absolute biggest step. If you are surrounded by negative, abusive people or people who are wanting to do nothing but party every day you are not going to get much done. You need to be surrounded by people that inspire you, build you up, and support you. I had to remove essentially my entire family, and quite a few friends. This all started when my best friend died. It made me realize "Fuck, this is my life...and I am wasting it being treated like shit and partying." So, I started removing people who were holding me back. Sometimes, this was really, *really hard but the change in my life, passion, and productivity make it obvious that it was the right choice.

It is better to be on a journey alone than surrounded by assholes.

  • Keep rolling with the punches, dusting yourself off, and getting back UP.

Become unstoppable. Become a force to be reckoned with. I experienced some of the hugest tragedies of my life over the past 4 years but I somehow kept getting up every day and trying again. Nowadays, I try to make sure I do more than just get up. I try to make sure that no matter how many times I get knocked down or rejected I get back up and continue pursuing my passion. Don't give up, basically. Cliche but it is really easy to give up and accept mediocrity. Don't do that. It may be comfortable but it's also fucking sad.

I hope some of this was helpful to somebody. This is simply what I had to do in order to get out of my rut.

Photos:

Man on bench:
https://www.flickr.com/photos/simonnpowell/8416707930

Fancy fucking rainbow:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rainbow

Hiking alone:
https://pixabay.com/p-1208261/?no_redirect

Woman on dock:
https://pixabay.com/p-758165/?no_redirect

Sort:  

Glad you chose this path ... Never give up, Never back down. <3

Thank you again for sharing your experiences and insights. One of the best pieces advice I have ever received was, "if you're comfortable, get uncomfortable." We too easily become complacent with the way things are. I embrace this motto just as I embrace change in my life. :)

Yepp. Words to live by. :D

Great post! It's true, although we are creatures of habit, sometimes change might be good for us in the long run although we may not enjoy it at first. Very helpful information, thanks!

Yeah, it can be really hard but so, soooo crucial. :)

Seems going through the downs you found yourself. Sorry to read about your friend, I bet your making her proud now.

Thank you. :) I did and I learned a lot. I don't really believe in any sort of consciousness after death but, none the less, I am living in her honor. Thank you.

and your doing a brilliant job keep it up and good luck

Lovely post.Sincere photo. Bravo!

Thank you. :)

First I wanted to thank you for sharing that! It's not only personal and moving, but also very important. It's so easy to point at external factor that inhibit us, when really all that does is pass off your power. If it is 'all their fault,' then technically their are the only ones to change it.

I've enjoyed my gamer mentality for a long time...
"There's always a way to win. Otherwise why would the game have been made."

Sometimes this means changing what we once thought were the 'rules.'

I hope the best for you!

Thank you and very valid points. That is essentially what I had to do. Life threw some big-ass obstacles and I had to look at another path to the finish line. :) Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the insight.

Thank you for your sincere post. Sadly, in this economy, there are many more people than usual at these crossroads. Your post can serve as a beacon for many.

Nowadays, I try to make sure I do more than just get up. I try to make sure that no matter how many times I get knocked down or rejected I get back up and continue pursuing my passion. Don't give up, basically.

That is truly a philosophy that will serve people well.

Steem on and make your dreams come true,
Mike

Thanks. It seems simple but it is much harder to do in practice and pretty essential for vitality.

You've turned lemons into a vodka lemondrop!

I've never tried that but I am full of lemons!

(if it just vodka and lemon juice?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34