You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Still Pissed Off About That Time You Did Something Awesome and Nobody Noticed?

in #life5 years ago (edited)

That's a lovely idea!! I'm sure we all have some deadposts that we worked hard but never got any attention because of the lack of following at the time of posting or...it was sunday. I might revisit some of them, I guess I never thought of it as an option or recycling some of my pieces from 2 years ago. I may not participate every week but on occasion I don't see any harm in making an appearance. I still remember one of my Metallica concert posts that got 6 up-votes, I was kinda devastated...lol

Sort:  

I heard Lars was replaced by a drum bot that doesn't drag tempo? 🤗 Metallica only 6 upvotes! Ridiculous !! that material should get at least 20 nibbles on this master of sock puppets platform..

Haha @skramatters!! Probably :) I was too far away to tell the difference!

I know right!! deserved more than 6 votes! To be fair I probably had about 50 followers with mostly older ladies posting flower photos. My blog and following has evolved quite a bit since then (thankfully!) It was a good show ad they even made a cd of the entire live concert in Edmonton and sent it to everyone that attended, it has become our roadtrip cd, we just blast it and relive the show.

Exactly. We all have so much that could be slightly reworked into something greater, or even stand alone posts like you said, that nobody saw. I just don't want to see folks doing it to be lazy. Over time we all end up improving how we format, even the way we originally worded things could be improved for the second go. It's our material and these are our blogs. We can do whatever we want, as long as it's done responsibly and not in a way that will annoy people. I've been experimenting with it now for quite some time and I haven't had any complaints so I feel it's safe now some of those who aren't as established as I am could possibly give it a go. I don't do it all the time though. Too many reruns and people change the channel. Another thing: I always tell people it's something old as a little sidenote. Sometimes I'll even give the exact date it was published. Things like that, just so they know I'm not trying to pull a fast one.

Totally agree, shouldn't be a full re-run of the entire life of a blog week after week but like you said, it is our blog. If I repost something I will make sure that it is clearly stated, why I reposted it and include the original link to the story as well. We all grow overtime, I'm sure there is always something we can improve on every post. It's probably a nice journey to go back to the past and see where we have evolved and where we still need to evolve, like a self discovery journey all at the same time. at my anniversary or the new year, I do like to make a post that includes some old photos and the links as in a "best of posts" (or when the blockchain is down and most can't post but I can...gives some reading material!!) and they are generally well received but it's not something I do very often. I have enough new material that I never posted yet and some even dates back like a year!! I do my best to work on the newer stuff I don't post. If you have experimented and gotten no negative results if done responsibly then I will trust your word. You are way more established than I am!

I have some work from way back when that is so shitty, I'd never even think of embarrassing myself like that again. BUT, it would be humorous to put it all together and show folks what a miserable failure looks like! That's something I've already done though... and nobody complained! Something like that, I'm taking a page right of the Simpsons book. We've all seen those shows where they'll make a new episode using clips from previous shows. They even did a show making fun of themselves for doing something like that; but really, it's normal. People can get creative and find unique ways to present old stuff. It's still work. My previous post took a few hours of scanning through old stuff, finding good stuff, then narrowing it down, checking for typos, formulating the post, then still sticking around to shoot the shit and talk with people after.

I can only think of one piece I did That I kinda regret and wouldn't embarrass myself like that, being a photo blog I'm already kinda picky about which ones I post. At the beginning, I definitely was the one picture poster with barely any text and wouldn't do that again but I still like the photos. Didn't take me too long to figure out the vibe around here and started doing better early on. I also don't take my blog too seriously, I just have fun with it and whatever happens happens. The best part is the conversations with online friends that follow, it's so rewarding and made so many genuine lasting connections with people from around the globe.

I bet that would be pretty funny to make a "worst of" post and crack a bunch of self jokes. I think it's also inviting others to be silly on the post too. I bet some of the jokes would be hilarious. I think sometimes people fear the flag wars and are afraid to be themselves both in posting or commenting. That's mainly what I look for tho, posts where folks are being true to themselves and just have fun with it. After all, this is social media not an official professional publishing house.

I run my blog like a business but a lot my business is fun. I noticed early on, rather than simply sharing my art, I could combine it all with interesting words. Maybe fiction, a lot of humor, sometimes telling life stories, whatever. So I can be an artist, but still appeal to those who don't even like art. I often tell folks to add their personality into their posts somehow. I think I like to follow artists more than just art. That goes for photography and music as well. Without the social media elements somehow mixed in, it's hard for me to stay interested. People follow other people, not posts. I prefer to see it more as a publishing platform that is as professional as you want it to be, with social media elements combined.

Each and everyone of us has a different definition of what steemit means to us and it's functions, that's the beauty of this place, so many possibilities in so many directions. It has the potential of being something for professionals use one day but a lot of things will have to change before that can happen but we don't need to get into those details. Like you say, I much prefer following people and artists rather than just art. I feel the same , without the social aspect ,it takes away from the full experience. I follow many that I may not necessarily be into their art but the personal connection makes them worthy of my full penny up-vote based on the fun had with them.

By sharing both your art and humor, you are also taping into a wider audience rather that limiting yourself to one thing. Your art Is nice by the way, I forgot to mention that in the original comment!

I'm not saying I don't see a future in my photography and blogging, I try not to go full tradesmen on it and degenerate my brand, I would probably scare half of the platform away, then again I would probably attract the other half...LMFAO. I have a career in the oil and energy sector and that's my main focus for now but my photography/stories is a potential retirement path/hobby that I'm slowly paving the way for myself. Maybe if I build an audience first, when I'm ready to be more serious about it, I will already have a base that I slowly built overtime. I find the old connections and support goes a long way rather than the insta-fame the disappears as quick as it came. I'm kind of an introvert in nature so social media stardom is probably not really a priority or something I will achieve quickly. I feel burdened and it takes the fun out of it when I have to think of something to write about everyday.

Some of this art was first released years ago. That's another thing I've been doing lately just to spice up my posts and breathe new life into old material. I've produced so much, I basically have my own Pixabay, so I may as well use it. Thank you for the compliment.

I was beginning to see an incredible future doing this blogging thing, back when the tokens shot up in value, making my account value worth almost a third of a million Canadian... and here's the part where I can't say any more about that... LOL!
Just laugh it off...

We all go at our own pace. I tend to burn the candle at both ends, get extremely tired, then take a break. Out of the three years I've been here, I've probably worked about two years, maybe a little more. One post per day, sometimes but rarely two.

Insta-fame.. pff. One hit wonders. I've been underground here for most of my stay. Those tribes popped up, suddenly I was making the trending pages there. This hardfork happened, suddenly I'm trending on Steemit. All I did was work and try to be entertaining most days. Nothing special really. Certainly don't take anything for granted either. Each contribution is still me just grinding away, trying to get higher. No comfort zones.

Nothing wrong with re-using photos with a different story to tell, heck some people use the same photo over and over for every article. I re-use photos from time to time, never taken any flak for it...as long as the text is original, it's still an original works. Haha,your own pixbay!! That's awesome.

Yeah that must of been a bummer to see your account worth so much and now so little. That does sting for anyone who intends to do this professionally. It did spark false hopes in many I believe. I was too small at the time to really be all that concerned about that but I'm not gonna lie, some days I look at my stake and think to myself, if only that was worth what it was at it's peak and it would fund the new camera I desperately need (mine is 9 years old and pieces are starting to fall off). Realistically tho, I think it has potential to go back to that point and beyond if they can figure out user retention issues and get adoption in higher numbers. Just be patient and hodl what you make. Sure it could also all just fall apart too but I like to be optimistic on occasion. Not that many people know what cryptos are yet so it's relatively early even for those starting now. Eyes on the prize and fortune favors the bold!

2 posts a day is a lot! I applaud anyone with that sorta dedication even if it's from time to time. I post once or twice a week and I need a break from that sometimes haha. Congrats on getting more views and better returns for your art. You have put in a lot of work and time and deserve every bit of it, hopefully it continues on the uptrend. We all enjoy being on the trending page from time to time, especially consistently. Glad to see some are benefiting from the new parameters that didn't under the old steemit. I guess that give me hope that maybe one day be my turn in time, although I can't complain the visits from various teams like @curie, @ocd and @blocktrades do make some surprise visits and leave a nice present have been encouraging. I know this is a dumb question, but what is "tribes"? I don't really keep up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02