Donkeys, donkeys - faster, faster ...;). History of language misunderstanding.

in #life6 years ago


This will be a short, funny story about a language misunderstanding, the creator of which, was one of the my friends.

Intro.

Going abroad is often the only option when you live in a place where you do not have a job. That was also the case for me and my friend (we are from Poland). English was not our strongest side.
We worked for a job agency then.

History.

I sat at home and cooked soup for the next day.

A friend came back to the house and told what had happened that day.

She told me this in Polish language: "Listen, what does it mean: donkey, donkey - faster faster?, because the manager calls people like that.
I was surprised that the manager could call employees that way. I told her that it means: "Donkey, donkey - faster, faster".

After a few weeks, one of our friends visited us. Someone phoned her from her a jobplace. Finishing the conversation, she said to the receiver: "Okey, dokey - bye, bye".

At this, my friend said to me: "Oh !, this is how the manager calls - okey, dokey - faster, faster".

I told the whole story again and we started laughing.

The end.

The slang language is often difficult to understand, but there is nothing wrong with it. Someone said something, my friend understood it her way. We laughed at it then and it was so nice.
I mention this story until today with a smile on my face.


Sort:  

The English language is very difficult, and I should know-- I've been trying to speak it since I was about two years old. I would like to recommend getting a book or dictionary on American Idioms. In the future , it may stop others from pulling your leg -- or doing a number on you. This is a cute post.

You got a 9.58% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @lady-milady!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89