You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are my actions born out of Love or Fear?

in #life8 years ago

@modprobe

If we want to be objective about fear and love we need to examine them athropologically and not through a cultural narrative like you do.

Love is a selfish state of mind that makes you feel good. This is why you can love only something in respect to something else. If love was unconditional and unlimited we would be able to love everything the same. We are not. We love only things that benefited us, or worse things that ease our fears.

Fear of being lonely, fear of social stagnation, fear self realisation, fear of...ad your own here, creates needs that are filled with love. Fear is an instict. it is used so you can protect yourself and it is as random as love. They are not two distinct states of mind but rather one.

Sort:  

This is a very valuable comment and I am not sure if I hope or fear your take on my posts as I have seen you challenge many a post in very intelligent ways.
I would agree with everything you say though I would also offer an alternate possibility.
NOTHING is absolute and while what you say may be generally true, it is possible to make conscious choices to live by ideals that include service or support of others. Because one has chosen these as personal ideals they are still indeed selfish, yet they are ideals that INCLUDE the benefit of others selfish/individuals selfish best interest.
Also it is possible to consciously realize that which is being referred to love. When realized and consciously empowered it is possible to consciously ACTIVATE the feeling/frequency of that which is being referred to as love.
So nothing you say is wrong I just wanted to put that out there in hopes it may be of benefit.
I hope to have more dialogue with you in the time to come. Thanks for your contributions~*~

@kyriacos, I believe you are trying to apply your prior conceptions of what the words "love" and "fear" mean to my discussion. I encourage you to try to ignore what those words mean to you in other contexts and understand them the way I am intending them to be used. Language is limited, unfortunately, and words often get reused with different meanings and conflating those meanings leads to miscommunication.

When I speak of the consciousness modality called Love, I am referring to a selfless state of mind that seeks to understand and be more aware of one's surroundings and the people one interacts with, and how one's actions affect his surroundings and other people.

When I say Fear, I'm referring to the mindset that tunes all of that out and focuses only on one's own perspective, one's own needs, and places a high emphasis on how the self feels and what the self wants, ignoring the needs of others or the effects one's actions has on his surroundings.

I do not contend that this is the only valid way to think about human consciousness; however, it is a powerful one. It is unwise to cling to one particular model or worldview as "the best one" and ignore all the others because of their imperfections. All human models of understanding are imperfect, and we are well-served to understand as many models as possible, so as to combine their strengths and mitigate their weaknesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69