Being A Sell-Out

in #life8 years ago (edited)



We often accuse politicians, bankers, wealthy businessmen and the like for being fakes, impostors or sell-outs. These poor souls though just play it politically correct, cultivate savoir vivre, maintain good appearances and avoid unnecessary conflict (unless they are to profit from it). Right?

This sell-out stradegy is applied to everything around us whether it is social media, business, family, friends. Thing is, nobody admits it. In the business and marketing department the mantra has become so well infused it has become the everyday standard. We treat all people based on a recipe that can result in potential profit.

Every situation has become a sell-out situation. Why shouldn't be right? Becoming a whore is rather easy. Why throw yourself out there for any reason (ideologically or not) when you can just cash-out by being accepted? Why push the envelope to create friction? Unless your business is the support of an ideology you have no other reason to change your social marketing persona. In that case, your supporters will be your best customers. The conflict is the fuel of your business.

A-la-cart behaviour has become the norm. We are careful with what we say, how we say it, where we say it, with whom we are saying it. Our ideological aims in life have become too generic in order to avoid accidental clash with others. More and more people are becoming beauty pageant answering machines desiring “world peace” while the rest are nodding blissfully.

Personally, the few friends I have ever made occured out of debates and fights. Through them we were able to grow through a complete human experience that involves conflict, reconsideration, growth. These friends though couldn’t last long because eventually they had to give in to social norms. They had to jump on the sell-out-train in order to survive.

Most people I have met maintain a mirror personality, reflecting to stimuli in order to satisfy their peers. These individuals didn’t help me understand much—other than the fact than our relationship is a potential business situation if I just followed along. I always felt perplexed by their improvised persona. This is why my clients are limited only to those who understand me being blunt with them.

I read some books about making friends and money out of sheer anthropological curiosity. I needed to see for myself the user manual these individuals were following for life. The content was rather ridiculously disturbing. I felt like living in some Orwellian dystopic future ruled by Monty Python characters.

These are though the realities of our society. We can complain about corruption and fraud in “the system” (whatever that is) but most of us, the vast democratic majority, maintain the status-quo by following the same behavioural pattern. This is why those in charge—those we all complain about, keep using the same PR tricks we so secrectly worship. We make sure one way or another to keep those role models up there.

They are the result of our average mentality. They are the sell-out reflection of who we are.







Sort:  

I've seen many people angry or frustrated at the success of others (both here and offline). But, when looking beneath the surface it is usually jealously. They hate millionaire athletes and businessmen, but long for riches.

They would have done the same or similar things if they were given the opportunity.

Are we surprised our leaders "are the sell-out reflection of who we are"?

@strangearray

Personally I never really felt jealous of those people. I was lucky in some instances in my life to join these classes. I didn't find anything special really. The toys are just more expensive. You eventually roll back to the normal levels of your personal satisfaction with life. This is how and why many celebrities end up in rehab. At one point money just won't cut it so they get depressed.

I had the opportunity to join the upper classes even here in Steemit. I actually tried to write that kind of content. I physically couldn't do it. I was feeling disgusted with myself. I guess some of us just can't be hypocrites. This can sometimes make us appear as assholes.

If you want to see my views on leadership check this one out

Not only assholes. Sometimes you also feel kind of lonely, but I prefer one or two true friends over bunch of hypocrites. And that way I have more time for myself. By the way. Enjoy your post.

Don't you get tired of everyone shouting "JEALOUSY!" all the time? Is there really no other possible explanation for one's words or behavior?

I found your views on leadership excellent example of leading by example. Like enlightened antiguru who not only refuses to start and lead another religious cult, but beats the hell out of the sheeple suggesting, expecting and demanding so. Life of Brian... :)

Just out of curiosity, and maybe to understand the context a little better. When you write our society, which one do you reefer to, the US?

I hope this answers your question

We Are All Living in America - Rammstein

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x2zyis7

human society has no borders.

It has nothing but borders :)

lines on map to different interests. yeah we have enough of those. but societies have little to do with borders

excellent post, great truths in his words have already seen several of its all good publications congratulations and thank you for sharing

Maybe a bit too generalistic IMO.

Still a lot of people are saying what they think and do not care about the consequences. They may not be the majority, but their number is still significant.

I have spend quite some years on this planet on 3 different continents.
I tasted salons and shitholes alike.
I came across hundreds of people.

The people I met that kept it "real" for long periods of time can be counted on the fingers on my right hand.

For long period of time... That is maybe the crucial point. At some point, one gets disappointed and frustrated and one changes his/her way of being.

if tongue had bones.congrats man, you are providing the best reads I get for the entirety of my life

glad to be of service

The reason WHY there are so many false prophets/politicians is because PEOPLE are false. If we had a world of people such as your self then we would NOT have the prophets/politicians/celebrities that we do.
Blame is disempowering and perpetuates the problems. When people stop blaming everyone else and take responsibility for their own self then most of the problems complained about will not longer be problems.
Yet its much easier to blame and complain that be responsible and change.
I appreciate you being on the cutting edge even if it doesn't garner the support of the "elite"
Blessings~*~

Its hard to get real in this world. Confrontation is not for everyone. Most people like to hide behind a mask and just get along.

When I told the government the truth and they didn't like it, they just broke a bunch of laws, violated my rights and and threatened me with loaded machine guns. They are used to immunity without any due process of law.
When we are children we have parents to do unnamable things to us and there is nothing we can do about it.
So while I don't agree nor comply despite it being difficult I can see why people just give up on challenging authority or engaging confrontation.
Doesn't make it right or great but I can see how it is the voice most people would make especially when most people are herd mentality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63894.70
ETH 3178.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63