What's your story?

in #life6 years ago


Image Source:Pixabay

They use words similar to a bubble, friendly, outgoing, tall, Brazilian, and brace yourself she's a hugger.

These are often the terms used to describe my type of person.

If you interacted with me, heard me on the radio, or met me in person you would likely notice my height, my smile, and hear my story. At least the first two are what most people mentioned or tell me was their first impression. I assume hearing my story has become my automatic response to the typically, who are you?, questions.

These get to know you questions haven't changed and neither has my reply. It must have started in high school when I was preparing for college, fined tuned while finishing University, and then adjusted while in the workforce. It's been four years since my University days, and two years since my first job. I'm started to see a need for a less robotic reply, but first, let me explain.

The elervator pitch...

I don't remember when it started. Somewhere along the way, the story was told and retold so many times it was shortened. It has become a response for many and every occasion. In interviews, meeting new people, and in general when asked " Tell me about yourself or what's your story?"

My reply is as follows.

My parents migrated to this country thirty plus years ago with a suitcase and $500 dollars. After I was born, they moved to Florida where I grew up. I spent every summer until college in Brazil...

The latter part of that depends on the audience. With that in mind, I was recently reminded of my first semester in college. It must have been in a business course where we were discussing resumes. Feeling confident because prior to this class, our high school advisors had prepped us for this very moment.

One would assume that our high school years would hold a greater weight after graduation. That was the belief until the teacher made the following statement.

Take out, remove, and do not mention anything done prior to your time in college.

This was our first semester in college, what else would count?! It was in that moment, in that sudden anxiety induced experience that the story had to be rewritten.

The first draft is often the worst draft

The fear of changing the narrative because it was all we knew. In high school, 'experience' was measured in grade point average and afterschool involvement. We all strived to achieve the best grades, the most community service hours, etc etc.. If the grades weren't there then we thrived in sports or attempted to. If neither of those areas was our strengths then our personality had to shine. My saving grace. Those four years were character bulding.

Personality and leadership qualities helped when getting into college. Determination helped in college and four more years to rebuild experience. Then I graduated college and again experience was redefined. Working full-time was an adjustment and after quitting the first job after almost three years and settling in this career I find the story has once again resurfaced, but it isn't sufficient anymore.

Four-year shelf life.

It worked then and it is still true today, but after ten years of telling the same story, I wonder if it's time to change the narrative. If I were to write a letter to my 17-year-old self, I know that regardless of what I say the reaction wouldn't be a surprise. There wouldn't be a shock of the success, the determination to do, or the disappointment in lack of achievement. I would hope that it would instill courage. To dream bigger, to fearless, and risk more. I would tell myself to fail more. Dear self, fail more. So in the next ten years, you don't wish for more, but are grateful for more.

If you could write a letter to yourself about the next ten years you just experienced, what would you say? What wouldn't you say? Let's say you write that letter, how does that change how you will live the next ten years? What if in ten years you would write the same letter, would you read it differently? Act differently? Live differently?

Ps: It's an American Holiday today and needless to say, some of us survived the large quanity of family time required.


Thanks for reading, upvoting, and commenting!

Love always,

Sort:  

Dear self, buy all the bitcoin you can afford. Now.

That's what I'd say if I was sending a letter to myself 10 years ago.

Bahahha, if only!!

And I'd probably add, don't leave it on Mt Gox.

Bahahha, if only!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Have a great week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63064.93
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55