Not all parks are created equal. Come take a walk with me.

in #life6 years ago

There are a lot of benches in Florida parks.

I am up to something and even the title of it is a dead give away, so I won't tell you just yet. What I can say, is this past weekend I finally started phase one of it. I visited roughly four or five parks in search of the perfect one. These parks although beautiful didn't fit what I need. They are just enough of nature for us who city folks.

They are paved with clear walkways. They have informational boards and limited to no wildlife. While walking through them I did start to wonder about real adventure seekers. The ones that march through nature without fear of spiders, bugs, or worst of lizards. The brave that sleeps in tents. That seek to be one with the wildlife. More so, that find peace in the lands mosquitos call home. Such brave souls they are.

I wonder if they mind the smell. Some of these parks smell off. A smell of man-made and nature clashing, is that a thing?

Captivated by the walkways. You'll see them below.

Before you marvel at my photography skills let me share my notes with you. These may not make sense now, but one day you'll understand why they were important. So, don't die until then!

  • Not enough trees

How can these parks be so beautiful, yet lack so much dense trees? They are thin and look like they are dying. Is that normal? I can see why people would like these locations for wedding pictures, but it seems off that there aren't more trees around. Also, the walkways are so narrow that I would hate to be the photographer hired at this location. I wonder if people take that into consideration before a photo shoot. Some of the angles would be impossible unless they were Tarzan or Spiderman.

  • The smell is too strong

I don't know about you, but I am very distracted by funky smells. Depending on the event, if the place smells odd then it will not improve. Especially if you mix it with people, food, and rain. It was raining the day I went and I wonder if that played a roll in it.

  • Slipper floors

I was wearing flip-flops which aren't ideal for walks. However, if I could have slipped that means others might too. Best not to subject someone to that kind of accident if we can avoid it. In that sense, I was grateful that it rained. It allowed me to see what I would be facing if when the day comes how the location would look with rain. Most of the parks I visited looked beautiful. I wonder if anyone has ever hoped for rain?

  • Connected to a community center
  • Parking
  • No outside food or drinks

I started to realize that not all parks are created equal and I may need to do more digging on what is and what isn't allowed. Most of the parks are protected, which I didn't realize was a thing. Most were really small. The entire path was less than 200 meters in distance. If you live nearby and was going for a run it's perfect, but if you want to go for a walk it is too short.

I wonder if they purposely place these parks near residential homes for that reason. No need for a ton of parking if it is intended for those that live nearby. Plus, there are a ton that are really small parks connected to community centers. I found that to be odd. When I lived in Missouri all the parks went on for at least a mile or two and were nowhere near a public place. You would think in Florida, near the ocean, and the Everglades it would be the same. It isn't.

  • I saw a raccoon and the raccoon saw me.

Let's just say we both lived and I would like it to stay that way.

Walkway 4

Walkway 1

Walkway2

Walkway 3

Kubby colorful.png

Sort:  

Lol, me and natural don’t always get along 😂

Are you going to vlog nature walks? I'd watch that :)

But than we would not have to go out and walk ourselves hmmmm. Second thought I second this.

Hahah, that would be a sight to see. I don’t think we should torture steemian a with my fight against grass, bugs, and dirt.

Looks like you had an amazing time! Always interesting how the rain changes thing. I love the rain makes me sleep easier. People don’t seem to use parks like they used to. So it does make sense in a way they are placed in areas where people already are and just have a reason to go out and use them.

I recall when I was a kid we had a park that was close enough we could bike to. It had a little pond, bunch of slides and swings, and even a basketball court. Almost no one was ever there. Right next to it where some homes.

I forget what park it was I went to like 10 years ago here in Florida. Perhaps it was not a park but a logon or springs. The manatees where swimming along it to stay warm and quite a few people came to watch them. Sometimes you just have to go where the attractions are of nature!

There are so many like that. I’m sure when you come to visit you’ll find it just by driving around

You seem very certain about this. Perhaps you can see better into the future then I can. One day perhaps. For now I just have to much to do and I don’t drive.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54280.30
ETH 2452.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24