I'm not late, I'm running on Latin time!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Answer me this, but first let me tell you story!

Growing up, did you always have to respect others time?

I used to love the saying, if your on time your late, until I learned it's a culture mindset. Americans are known for valuing time because they spend it on making 💰. Wasting their time is a Financial deficit. Not every case is about money, however people plan their day to make the most it. More often then not, it is in order to generate the most financial benefit. However in other cultures Time is relative, time is an investment, time is living life.

Have you heard of this?

I have read that in certain cultures it is rude to cut a conversation to run to a meeting. One is expected to entertain guest indefinitely. Others understand if you cannot make an arrangement if you unexpectedly had guest. This idea shocked me in more ways then I can expressed.

Lunch time for hours....

I believe it's in Paris that they have a five course meal and take two hours for lunch.

My own people from overseas

If I'm not mistaken in Brazil the entire country shuts down for coffee breaks at least three times a day. Okay, maybe they do not shut down, but they do take a morning coffee break, a long lunch, and an afternoon bread/coffee break. Why wasn't I raised there again? I need to talk to my parents.

Anyways, I digress, as you can see every culture has it's own timing. The list goes on. Living in south Florida, the melting pot of cultures has brought me to always ask, 7pm Latin time? There are a few latin cultures here and subcultures within those. Don't think all Latin's are created equal. Some are later then others. :D I laughed so hard when my friend said that to me, but it is so true.

I've decided...

So you see, I'm never late, just simply running on Latin/Haitian time. Are you a stickler for punctuality or a firm believer in on time means before the time discussed? Let me know. I thought this gathering started at 11am eastern time, so naturally I left at 11am. No one is here because as I have learned the gathering starts at 11:30 :)

Doctorcrypto.gif

Sort:  

I'm always on time. I do not enjoy being out in traffic any longer than I have to be.

Always, always?

Wow, that is very punctual of you.

Time is all we come into this world with and none of us know how much we're going to get. To me...money takes a secondary position in priority as far as how I spend my time.

However if I say I'm going to be somewhere or make an appointment...I'm always on time...if not a few minutes early. If I'm going to be even 5 minutes late I call...cell phones are great for keeping in touch with time and people.

You are very respective of others time. That is really awesome, more people need to like you. Have you traveled and found this practice to be different?

No I haven't really been a traveler. I've been a vagabond in my own country. I'm now and have been almost half my life right where I want to be and have only gone to the mainland twice since arriving back here.

Just to let you know Kubby... @merej99 has a"fun" post where you can finish up the race...I just learned that recently. The same page where I posted about helping others. Here

What is this vagabond you speak of, I need more clarification. Also, I have visited that site and added my 2 cents. I shall go back and make sure I didn't miss any.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Kubby Elizabeth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I think I have just lost the whole concept of time altogether these days.

I think you'll be a okay! Just don't set any meetings..

What's a time? 😉
I know my time better than any watch. So I always prefer to go with me. 🙂


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

bahaha, i know my time better than any watch, does that mean your always late?

Nope! Late in relation to what? Your watch? I dunno! 😉

By the way, do you consider time as a linear entity or a cyclic? In our culture, time is cyclic. So on a circle, you cannot tell who is ahead of you and who is behind. We all are on the same plane. It's only your perspective if you consider someone late w.r.t. your stand point but he/she might be too early for it w.r.t. the next round around the circle. 😉😉😉


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

Your perspective is sound, you aren't late or early you are present!


🎹 🥁 🎷 🎺 🎸 🎻 I’m trying to use a lot of emojis here to Celebrate the World Emoji Day this week. Are you? 🎊 🎉 🎉 🎉⛄️

I was raised by strict German folk so being on time is a half hour early for me. I find myself a half hour early for work or any party I attend!

Hmm. @kubbyelizabeth your post is rightly related for Africa where I come from. In Nigeria when a program is scheduled for 7pm and they write 7pm prompt there is a popular question to ask is there African time African time simply mean Grace time of say 15-30mins late. This is registered in any Nigerian that when programs is scheduled for a particular time there must be African time and for me I count it as waste of time. Time is money and I don't waste it at All i set priority and make I follow it to the core.

That's just my view.

Good post @kubbyelizabeth

Wow, set priority and follow it to the core! That is hardcore. I think African time is pretty generous, Brazilian times especially for weddings can be delayed up to 3hrs.

Time is an illusion, lunchtime doubly so.

Is it an edible illusion, or a figment of our imagination?

Haha, very true! In America, I find myself irritated when things are not on time, especially myself. In China, I have to readjust myself, timing is not as important. School kids get a 2-3 hour lunch break there as well :D. While living in Hawaii, NO ONE was on time. Flexibility is important if you want to travel the world! Cheers!

2-3 hours?! Why even come back :) Do you prefer to be on time or lax on time?

Haha, I know...course school goes till like 5 or 6 pm then. I prefer to be on time, doesn't always happen though. I could blame my 5-year-old, but that's usually a lie haha.

BahahahHa, blame the kids for as long as you can :)

It's interesting that depending on the culture your perspective of time can be different! I have learned there are many views on subjects depending on the culture during my time on Steemit.

What would you say then, are you always on time or always running late?

For the majority of the time, I am one of the people that are 5 to 10 minutes early. I hate being late and it drives me nuts when others are late.

If I have an appointment and I'm not called back on time, I almost lost it.
I've gotten better with that because I have lost it before, lol.
Having kids has mellowed me out for the most part.

But a party? Somehow I can never make it to a party on time.

So appointments but not parties, that is a healthy balance :D

Lol, it makes no sense does it.

I think it makes perfect sense actually!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61342.71
ETH 2389.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56