You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The children of today: Have smartphones destroyed a generation? Part II

in #life7 years ago

@soldier - Thanks for sharing this post with the community - I love seeing more posts about Children and the planets future than MEME contests or links to videos.

I am the father of a 23 month old daughter - my wife and I have used our cell phones with our daughter - only in the sense of learning and helping to fall asleep or not get bored in car rides - and we do limit the time

On one side - I agree with a of the detrimental effects of letting kids use smart phones - I truly truly do

However I do see an amazing benefit from them in limited spaces as well - Such as

  1. My daughter learning better eye hand coordination
  2. Teaching my daughter discipline by allowing only a certain amount of time to use the phone - only in THR car also.
  3. Memory enhancing - As she has been able to recite song lyrics that I cannot even recite by myself
  4. And lastly - A calming sense by using the phone to play classical music, relaxing sounds

Luckily my daughter never fights us when we take the phone away for any reason

A solution - may be a tablet that MUST be monitored in terms of usage and used inky for educational purposes and purposes described above as how we have seen using a smart phone help our child.

I hope this insight helps one parent decide to limit, pay closer attention to usage and make them think why they are allowing their child to use a phone.

Thanks again @soldier for sharing this great post. RESTEEMED, FOLLOWED, UPVOTED and likely will promote it heavily to help it he seen more by others :)

Sort:  

Thank you for this great input! We need more parents with the same mindset like you and your wife!
I think the most important thing is to keep the balance and to make sure to give the device on purpose. After reading your comment, I believe you know exactly what you are doing and this is totally different parents who give their kids smartphones just to employ them!
I appreciate your support and your passion about the health of our next generation!

Our kids are the first one's to have these small hand held devices. Neglectful parenting is not new, just the tech. It's not going to create a generation of mindless humans. It will further the disparities between the intelligent and stupid, possibly better than the rich/poor or fast/slow or articulate/quiet but i can see facilities, like logic, reawakening like ancient atavisms. Have faith, not in the next-gen, but simply in @walky123

Hey @soldier - Trust me we are on the same page as you - children are not easy to parent these days and far too many will plop them in front of a TV or a cell phone so they can get stuff done - these are the most crucial years of their life and will absorb as much info as possible - as long as they are exposed to it!!

I am going to purchase that book I think to read it and pass it along to other parents as well..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51