You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life: Living with a Severe Hearing Impairment and my New Hearing Aid

in #life8 years ago

Unfortunately my asthma hasn't ever improved and I am not a candidate for most elective surgeries, because of the effect of anesthetic on my lungs .

Draining the fluid from an ear usually requires an incision through the drum itself that will heal a few weeks later, you definitely need to be out for this - way too painful to be awake for it.

The big issue is that my eustachian tubes are completely horizontal so there is no natural drainage, I would have to go in and have them perforate the drum regularly to have any effect - as it heals and my ears never drain.

But I am on a waiting list, to get on the waiting list to see ENT doctor and they will have a better idea if there is anything else that can be done.

Sort:  

Good. I am sure something can be done and I hope you don't have the pain I remember

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65359.95
ETH 3492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51