You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life: Living with a Severe Hearing Impairment and my New Hearing Aid

in #life7 years ago (edited)

That's terrible Krystle. I had to have fluid drained from my ears when about 9 yrs old. Too much swimming and somehow fluid got into my ears and stuck there.... They did it in hospital and I don't know the details except I had plaster of paris on my head to hold the ear bandages intact. The hospital part was not painful. The fluid in the ears was super painful.

"and now my ear is full of fluid, it has no current infection but it is full and has no way to drain this fluid away." -

Have you checked with other doctors about this? I'm curious that your current docs say they can't get the fluid out.

Sort:  

Unfortunately my asthma hasn't ever improved and I am not a candidate for most elective surgeries, because of the effect of anesthetic on my lungs .

Draining the fluid from an ear usually requires an incision through the drum itself that will heal a few weeks later, you definitely need to be out for this - way too painful to be awake for it.

The big issue is that my eustachian tubes are completely horizontal so there is no natural drainage, I would have to go in and have them perforate the drum regularly to have any effect - as it heals and my ears never drain.

But I am on a waiting list, to get on the waiting list to see ENT doctor and they will have a better idea if there is anything else that can be done.

Good. I am sure something can be done and I hope you don't have the pain I remember

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60937.94
ETH 3381.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48