A Snake in Paradise

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Dear Steemians,
Search and cleanup in old photo archives brings up memories! Today I will present some more images from my home island Senja. Images from situations I almost had forgotten. Accompanied with a few words.

Part #2

0800 Senja     155.jpg

This was back in 1986. At that time, the fjords in North-Norway were full of cod and other sorts of fish of a considerable weight. Both professional fishermen and tourists like me could catch the fish we needed and wanted. For joke, before I went fishing in those days I used to ask my family: what fish would you like for dinner today?. I cannot remember one single tour returning home without fish.

0800 Senja     152.jpg

In fact, I often experienced the opposite problem. I got too much fish. My philosophy about food is never to throw food! Therefore, I appreciated every single fish, and preserved leftovers, for example making fiskegrateng. A mixture of fish, macaroni, white sauce, vegetables and spices


Unfortunately, this fish paradise don’t exist anymore. Old men harvesting from the sea for decades, have never experienced what we in Norway call ”svart hav” (meaning no fish in the fjord anymore). Tourist fishers like me blame the Aquaculture of salmonids which has popped up in thousands in Norway.


My opinion is biased and I am not in a professional position to know much about the acquaculture of salmonids. However, my common sense tells me that no living creature, including fish, want their home to be a pool of dirt and poison. This industry is polluting the the fjords! The Norwegian Broadcasting reports that 53 Millions of salmon died in Norwegian merder (the production area) only in 2017. Caused by the chemical drug the industry dumps into the merder to prevent the salmon from illness as lakselus (salmon flee)! This situation concerns environmental protecting organizations like The Green Warriors of Norway and it concerns ordinary people like me.

Silsand m ridderRod.JPG

I’m longing for a clean fjord. I owe it to my grandchildren. We own that to future generations!

[294 words].

Part #1: https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@kristihh/in-the-land-of-the-midnight-sun

Thank you for your attention. I hope you’ve enjoyed my images and text.
All the best to you from @kristihh
--
Source image 3 & 4: The Green Warriors of Norway
Source image 1, 2 & 5: Private. Jon Haug© and @kristihh

Sort:  

That is a lot of fiskegrateng :O Beautiful pictures and nicely written. I hope there will still be some fish left in the ocean for your grandchildren when they've grown up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48