Land of the Midnight Sun

in #landscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!
In my previous post Seagulls at the Ice Edge, I briefly mentioned my home island Senja. In today’s post, I want to share with you some landscape photos from this beautiful spot on earth.

#1

Senja is Norway’s second largest island, 1590 km². Close to 8000 people lives there. During summer time, many visitors find their way to this island. See the official tour guide.

Let’s locate Senja on the map. The distance between Oslo (Norway’s capital and my present hometown) is approx. 1581 km (982 mi). Senja is also home for Ånderdalen national park, DMS 69° 12′ 0″ N, 17° 16′ 0″ E.

For 35 years I’ve visited my house during 3-4 marvelous summer weeks. The other weeks of the year, this pearl rests between the sky and the sea.

My favorite hobby during my vacation is picking cloudberries, Rubus chamaemorus, a rhizomatous herb native to cool temperate, alpine, arctic tundra and boreal forest, producing amber-colored edible fruit similar to the raspberry or blackberry. Collecting 2-3 kilos per day is quite common, and I’m always as happy as shown above :-)

Another hobby is fishing. You can catch many sorts of fish, like cod, redfish and halibut. The most desired fish to catch is of course the Godfish halibut.

More seagulls! The midnight sun and 24 Hours daylight allows us to cultivate our hobbies all day (and night) long :-)

Tungeneset

A quiet evening at my favorite island Senja - in the land of the midnight sun.

[212 words].

Thank you for your attention. I hope you enjoy my images and text.
To be continued..
All the best from @kristihh

Source all images: Private. Jon Haug© and @kristihh

Sort:  

apner aie post ti amar khub e valo laglo vai.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:23:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48