Knitting With Cats Makes 0 Sales On Etsy

in #life7 years ago

cotton-fabric-yarn-23.jpg

Hi everyone!


Today I would like to share another hobby of mine with you all. Yup, you guessed it, it's knitting.
I've never really been a constant knitter, it was always one of those things you come back to from time to time. When I was little my grandma Valentina started teaching me to knit, she was pretty good at it, and of course as a child I did learn the basics, but never developed the skills further.

619A7881.jpg

Some people think that knitting is something old ladies would do, but to be honest with you I find it a pretty relaxing pastime, every time I start a new item I just get carried away and can't stop haha.

619A7859.jpg

When I moved to the United States over 2 years ago I couldn't start working until I would get a so called work permit so I decided to dig my long forgotten skills out of my head, with a little bit of help from YouTube not only I recovered my knitting knowledge I also learned to make a few more different things!

619A7548.jpg

After making a few pairs of socks for friends I decided to open up a store on Etsy, surprisingly, I didn't make any sales on there. I mean I did, but it was thanks to my husband @matt-a, he promoted my crafts on some forums and who didn't request an item directly from the forum thread would go through the Etsy check out (they included messages telling me how they found out about me). I had no idea how huge the competition was until I started using it, which of course is good, but also not that good for everyone who is just starting out, duh. I wonder what would happen if I stuck around more, but to be honest with you I'm glad I did not.
I made quite a bit of money back then which I was super happy about. This year though all I knitted was a hat with a big pom pom for myself, it saved my ears in the winter.
You can check it out on my Instagram.

619A7542.jpg
619A7533.jpg

I think I am going to start knitting again, maybe sometime around Christmas? I figured it is the best time to do it since not only you can create your own gifts for friends and family, you can also make some money to purchase more yarn :)

619A7963.jpg
619A7910.jpg

That one time I made a bunch of finger-less gloves! I fell in love with this ombre yarn the moment I laid my eyes on it, or you could say the moment I saw it on Amazon haha. I should have kept a pair for myself, sadly I did not.

619A7891.jpg
619A8188.jpg

Just making this post I am already getting excited about things I plan on knitting this year. I know that some of my followers are also into it, share your crafts with me, let's talk about hobbies, friends :)

619A7503.jpg

Here is a picture of my stupid cat Lena for you all, she sits like that ALL THE TIME!

11391251_10205547495181691_9104889571165349324_n.jpg

Sort:  

good post

Thank you again...

Hold on, your husband is @matt-a and you are on Etsy but not supporting the free decentralized marketplace OpenBazaar? Not that one relates to the other necessarily, but they sort of do I think (and I only speak as someone who has been on Etsy for years and still have a decent shop running but porting this over to better solutions like OB). Either way beautiful knits and best of luck with Etsy, don't be afraid to buy ads depending on what kind of keywords you can create through the items you have. That Lena picture at the end is the best!

Hi! Yup, Matt is my husband and I haven't used Etsy since the beginning of 2016 I think.
I've never heard of the OpenBazzar, but I will check it out if I happen to have anything for sale haha. It's been a minute since I knitted anything, thank you for taking the time to comment :)

Good stuff, my girlfriend is a bit of a knitter as well, I can't believe how expensive yarn is! But the finished product is nice and warm!

Very true!
I agree good yarn is pricey but the gifts are priceless! Haha
Sometimes if you sell what you create you can make your money spent on yarn back pretty quick too.

A wonderful hobby!

Thank you @yetaras! I'm slightly out of practice at this point though haha

you're welcome!

Hahahha very cute cat, i like it

Thanks! We have 3 of them :D

Wow, lots of different types of knitting in those pictures. You have the skills. My grandma was a Seamstress, she worked out of her house but she was always busy.. I watched her do this and regret never learning. I do have a couple sweet blankets that she made me though.. Yet another impressive talent. Thanks for sharing! Enjoy your day!

Thank you! There are only a few things I know how to knit haha I'm a little out of practice right now too. I've been thinking of knitting some more when it gets cold.
What a coincidence my grandma was making clothes a little too, she used to have a sewing machine at home and as far as I remember she only made clothes for herself, it's a good skill to have when you wanna dress the way you want if it makes sense haha.
Have a great Monday! :)

yes it makes sense. I would be scared to wear whatever I made though haha! But if you have the skills, then yes! And you have a great Monday as well!!

Good luck! Hard work will go a long ways and it sounds like you prepped to do so. I'm not much of a kintter myself but my wife does it quite bit and enjoys it as a hobby. It sure she would ever want to change into a business but if she did I would support her for sure. Oh and your cat is super cute!!

Thank you! Knitting is fun, it's too underestimated! Although I don't knit as much as I used to anymore or during summer time in general, I might be back at it in winter time haha

Hello @kotturinn! Thank you for sharing your work with us! I love everything, especially those socks! My feet are always cold so those look comfy and warm! I have a passion for crocheting but plan to learn how to knit one day. I am making an initiative to share the art of needlework here on Steemit and inspiring others. It certainly helps when people with the same interests work together. Would you take the time to read my post about #NeedleworkMonday? I would love for you to join myself and others in sharing our work while supporting each other. Thank you for your time. 😊

https://steemit.com/needleworkmonday/@crosheille/needlework-monday-crochet-baby-booties-and-headband-set

Hey, thanks! I'll gladly check out your post!

Absolutely! Thank you for checking it out :)

No problem!

I love those socks- I crochet but I've always wanted to learn to knit. Something I started making recently are hooded cowls. They are so cute and great for the winter, and they work up really fast with chunky yarn. Also, I grew up with a Scottish Fold - he was always doing the craziest poses too! It must be in the genes? Your post brings back funny memories of him :)

Ha! I do not crochet, nobody in my family knew how to or they just never taught me to haha. I might see if my mother in low would like to teach me haha.

I love Scottish Folds! Their fur is so soft and plushy and yeah definitely all of them sit like that too, so funny haha. What happened to that kitty you grew up around?

Yes, it definitely depends on whether your family is a 'crochet' family or a 'knitting' family - I guess mine is a crochet family and actually my dad taught me the basics when I was very little because he was the only one who could flip it around since I'm the only lefty in our family. Our Scottish Fold lived a full long life and passed several years ago. Now I have an all black beauty kitty cat who is the sweetest girl.

Yeah, I agree with that. It's cook that it was your father that taught you to crochet, I don't think I've heard of other men have that kinda skills, obviously not where I'm from (Crimea).
I'm sorry about your old kitty, I dread the time our cats have to pass on, I wish they could live forever! :)

how many cats do you have? I have a black one at home :)

We have 3 cats Lena, Artax and Foot-foot! What's your cat's name?

His name is biber, it means pepper. We gave that name to him because of its colour, I sometimes call him as black pepper :)

Interesting, what language is that?

Oh cool! I can't speak any of it though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74