How to fix the introvert inside you?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

 

Being an introvert myself, I used to think that something is odd with me, especially during my younger years.

I was wondering, how come almost everyone around me is so active and sociable, not recognizing that I am active and sociable as well, but just in a different way and under my own rules and conditions. 

During those dark times for my soul, I thought and felt like maybe something is wrong with my personality... Nobody never ever told me that I'm enough, perfect and completely fine just the way I am!

It took me years (if not even decades) to embrace my introversion and not to look at it as a problem that should be fixed or a flaw that should be overcome.

Also, I learnt that introversion is not shyness, although introverts could feel shy more often in social interactions then extroverts. 

Then, by discovering there are many people that are famous and successful despite being the introverts, I've finally started to honor, respect and accept myself for who I am and just the way I am.

For those of you who are wondering about famous introverts, these are:

JK Rowling, Bill Gates, Steven Spielberg, Meryl Streep, Larry Page, Marissa Mayer, Elton John, Lady Gaga, Emma Watson

... just to mention a few of them from all the different paths of life. You’d never guess they were introverts, right?!

Generally speaking, while extroverts are charged by a lot of external stimulation and social interactions, introverts are usually drained with too much of it. However, introverts like to socialize as well, both professionally and privately, but moderately, in small bursts.

In my case, by knowing myself better now, I try not to force myself to do things that could drain my energy. Or sometimes, I just quietly escape the activities or social gatherings right on time, before I start feeling drained.

So, if you think you have an introvert problem that needs to be fixed, I’ll ask you a question: 

Should we fix yin or yang, darkness or light…? 

Both pairs are complementary and do not exist without each other, so why we would try to fix our introversion (or extroversion), as both are just beautiful two sides of the same coin called humanity?

Embrace your true you and live your life the way YOU want, not the way others think you should!

Enjoy your solitude activities. Draw, read, create, make tea, research, write, jog, garden, make art… [continue the list with your own ideas].

But also enjoy your social activities, as we all are social animals by nature - just remember to listen to yourself and leave the crowd as soon as you feel it’s time to recharge your batteries.


@knjigesuin

See also:
Attitude of Gratitude
Which Way to Choose?
Walt Whitman Quote on Optimism
Beauty | Rupi Kaur, Milk and Honey
Neuroscience Claims: Multitasking Could Be Harmful for Your Brain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64151.19
ETH 2773.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65