You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Death of Activism

in #life8 years ago

Interesting post and some very valid observations. There is a documentary film out called 'We Are Many' about the global movement Stop The War when vast amount of humanity took the streets to tell Bush and Blair (war criminals buy any definition) NO to the war in the Middle East the ramifications we still live with today. Its really worth a watch. That movement is still strong and here in the UK all of the different protest groups regulalry march together under a 'Peoples Assembly' banner. We must continue to disrupt and protest. Peace

Sort:  

I think I may have seen that a few years ago, the name sounds awfully familiar. I will check it out though to see if I'm wrong. I too am from the UK but, other than the million mask march, I don't typically see a unification of protestors under one umbrella. Perhaps that's because I live in Scotland?
I still think the amount of people that are awake to the amount who are doing something about is far from equal and we need to do something to change that literally right now. Have you heard about this CETA trade deal that the EU council decided to sign last night??

https://action.globaljustice.org.uk/ea-action/action?ea.client.id=1784&ea.campaign.id=55082 bit late for this action but yes also just as bad a TTIP. I'm not the sure tif the Peoples Assembly have any groups in Scotland. I guess the issues over here is the political elite have done a brilliant job of 'divide and rule'. Scotland and the Brexit vote being the most topical! But yes I agree we need to try to make changes now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82