You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knives (handmade) 101 #4 Full Custom Build

in #life7 years ago

Nice post and great work!
Personally for kitchen knives I use stainless steel, AEB-L is my favorite. The tempering process, however, must be done in a temperature controlled oven.

WÜSTHOF knives are excellent tools but steel is a modified AISI 420 ... 90% of manufacturers use this steel, they have a hardness of 54/56 HRC. If I'm not mistaken you use a carbohydrate, for the hardness and tightness of the thread are exceptional.

Greetings, nicola
PS you have an instagram or FB contact?

Sort:  

Thank you - much appreciated.

The problem with me doing stainless steel is that I don't have the equipment to do the heat treatment myself so I have to send it out. That is OK, but it kin off takes the process out of my hands and I don't really like that. I'm not saying I don't do them, I do but I really like high-carbon steel both for working with it and for using it in the kitchen.
I do plan to make my workshop a bit bigger this year so an electric heat-oven is something I would like to add to it. I will probably make stainless a bit more common then. But high-carbon will still be my first choice. :)

Insta: docsmithknives

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19