Steemit Gardener - Starting my Container GardensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

20171103_131320-01.jpeg

This is my first container garden at my current residence. My previous Flat I lived at had a great big garden with 4 large raised beds. I really enjoyed being able to grow lots of food in that garden. The garden was situated on a North facing slope which made it an ideal microclimate for growing a garden. I was able to grow lots of Fruits and Veggies with Carrots, Beets, Beans, and Peas to Sweetcorn, Mellons, and Zucchini (just to name a few). That Garden did really well and I wish I had taken pictures! There is something fulfilling about growing your own food and knowing exactly what went into the production. I haven't grown or produced anything as abundant as this in a long time and is why I decided to create a garden of my own in my new home.

The house I am at now doesn't have the luxury of those large raised beds but what I do have to work with is a Large Deck with lots of space and a North facing position. I am in a temperate region of New Zealand but this particular spot gets so much Sun that it is possible for the large, San Pedro Cactus to stretch up towards the eaves of the house! The tops of which stood under the window sill when I first moved into this house. I have had to cut one of them down because it was threatening to pierce the ceiling of the eaves! I expect I should have to do this again at the end of this Summer. 20170331_160556.jpg

San Pedro Cactus touching the Ceiling by the North facing wall.


The Deck runs along the length of my house so there is ample space for container gardening. The white wall of the House reflects the light from the Sun. That area also gets afternoon shade from nearby native trees along the fence line. I have laid down a silver coloured, Tarp to reflect the light upwards, capturing more light and enhancing the Sun Trap effect. The Beef Steak, Tomatoe plants my Mother gave me for my birthday, have certainly enjoyed the extra boost. Their growth and vigor elevated in effect. This is one of the best advantages of growing here for me.
20171103_154046.jpg

Look how big and green my Tomatoes plants are so far!

I have been putting together some progress photos of my Tomatoe plants to show you in a separate post soon.

The other advantage is that I was able to attach a Trellis to the outside of the Deck and it is where I have placed my Passionfruit vine (another gift from my mother) and my little Grape plant I had shown in my previous Spring fever post. I also have a small Climbing Bean plant along the side of it too. I left it a little too long to transplant the Beans but I can always sow more. I will just see how this small one will do in the meantime. 20171103_131557.jpg

Passionfruit vine, Beans and Grape plant.


I have a few fruit trees in containers from last year and beyond this attempt to create a container garden. My first trees were my Olive trees which I bought as Saplings. I have had them for about 5 or 6 years now. I haven't really kept them well maintained. I just let them grow how they like in their pots. Last year I was lucky to harvest a couple of Olives which was really cool considering I hadn't done anything to deserve them. I bought the other fruit trees last year at the end of Summer. I got both Bearss Lime and a Meyer Lemon (a must have for every Kiwi household). I am really happy that they are both starting to bloom. I can't wait to have them ready for Summer Guacamole and Margheritas! The delicate, junior buds of the Lime tree smell UH-MAY-ZING!20171030_093715.jpg

* My small Fruit Trees and small Lavender plant on the other end of the Deck*


Speaking of Guacamole! I also have a small Avocado tree which I grew from a seed I saved from my favourite breakfast, Avocado on Toast! I germinated the seed in a glass of water and transplanted it to a large pot. I also added 2 more seeds to the pot to see how they would do and I kept the pot covered with frost cloth over winter. I uncovered the plant in the beginning of Spring and the plant looked healthy and I totally forgot about the other two seeds I put into the pot but they ended up emerging in the winter! It is not guaranteed that these plants will fruit but I don't mind because I really like the ornamental look of them. Unfortunately not long after I uncovered the plant, it was soon targeted by pests. The main threat being Mealybugs. I have been in a constant battle with these little beasts. I soak them with a combination of Neem oil and biodegradable, Dish Soap. The population is slowly declining but the pests have taken a great tole on the plant. Even today I only found only one Mealy bug but I caught an Earwig in the middle of munching on the tender leaves. It seems the constant attack of these pests has rendered the plant weak and its defenses are low. I will need to nurse the plant back to health by fertilizing, mulching and pruning the affected leaves. This should help promote new growth. I am hoping it will work.
20170928_131732.jpg

The Avocado Tree after I uncovered it after Winter.

20170928_131646.jpg

New Avocado seedling.

20170928_131544.jpg

Fresh new growth after I uncovered the plant

20170928_131753.jpg

Mealybugs on the plant

20171103_131812-01.jpeg

Earwig, caught red handed


In the center of the deck, under shelter, I bought a small Greenhouse to help start some plants from seed. I also use the area behind the Greenhouse for storing empty containers and bags of potting mix. 2017-11-03 18.10.44.jpg

My little Seed starting Greehouse

20171030_093602.jpg

Seed starting

20171103_131246.jpg

I also have my Strawberry plants in the little Greenhouse to keep Birds and Snails away.

Here are a few more plants that I have. I am amassing a nice collection.
inCollage_20171103_183240659.jpg

Capsicum (Top right), Salad bar (top left), Camelia Sinensis/Tea (Bottom right), Corriander/Parsley Garden. (Bottom left).

I will be sowing and transplanting some plants this weekend. I will be sure to bring you along for the journey. I can't wait to show you more progress and maybe some recipes made from my own produce. Stay tuned for more! :D


If you liked or enjoyed this post, please don't forget to upvote, repost and follow me KIWICANFLY

You-are-the-wind.gif

Sort:  

i have done its your turn to my post

Thanks mate! I have returned the favour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40