TEACHING OUR CHILDREN THE CULTURE AND IMPORTANCE OF FINANCIAL WISDOM

in #life7 years ago

unnamed.png
Image source

I was involved in a WhatsApp group discussion last night and one of the group participants dropped a post that struck me and got me thinking for a long time. The post was about the kind of financial legacy we as parents are leaving for our children. The poster shared a true life story below to buttress his point

While growing up, my late father and hero used a unique method to teach us his children financial wisdom.
While building his first house, we were required to do labour work for a fee.
I and my sisters ferried hundreds of cement blocks with our heads to service bricklayers as they worked.
My father actually paid us for this service. It was my first work experience and it helped me to appreciate the value of money.
Today, my wife runs a small Poultry both for passion and to augment family income. Yesterday, I requested my children to go out and join in the sales of Christmas Chickens.
They were required to drive the chickens in a spare vehicle to a popular junction and stay there whole day to make sales.
After two days of hard work, I asked my older daughter jokingly what she has learnt from the two days.
Here is what she told me...my
"I have learnt that it is not easy to make money. Am surprised that what we made in the two days of selling Christmas chickens is equivalent to what I paid for my Valedictory Service in School"
My eyes shot up.
So my daughter didn't know how big the money I paid for Valedictory Service was until she worked for its equivalent.

See the damage we do to our children when we struggle and do everything to meet their needs without allowing them to have a feel of where the money comes from and how it is worked for.

Dear Parents, don't prevent your children from getting involved in your profession, vocation or business. Let them be involved.

You run a beauty shop or salon but your children are playing around because it's holiday, I’m sorry for you.

The poultry farm you have is too dirty for your children to work in...because you want them to become Lawyers and Doctors. Too bad.

You're a welder but because it's a dirty job you don't want your future Mechanical Engineer son to come around.... You are a joker.

You're are busy jumping around to make ends meet but your children are at home always watching AFRICA Magic, Mnet movies etc.... Sorry they simply think you went out to have a nice time just as they are doing at home.

Come on, get them involved!!!

If you can't involve them directly, find a way of teaching them value for money.
When next your child asks for that flimsy money, make him/her work for it. It is not punishment, it is training. Most of our fathers did it to us. We should do it to our children so that they can do same to their children.

Don’t just give your children fish anytime they ask for it rather teach them how to fish. When you are not there, they can go to the river and catch the fish to satisfy there need.

Kindly resteem this post so that those concerned can make adjustment where necessary.

Thank you.

Sort:  

I am motivated. Great post

Congratulations @kingsolo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is wow @kingsolo. Really inspired

i am glad you are inspired. How is the steemit experience so far?

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Your posts are good, I like

Congratulations @kingsolo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is great

Great post bruv, I've basically worked for my dad all my live so i know the importance of what you're saying.

I am so glad that I have a witness. Thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43