What Will You Do: The Story of Retribution

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Eye for an eye this an act of retribution. Well let me say retribution is a natural tendency in human isn’t it? But the question is, do we need to carry retribution? I can imagine what should be the answer in your mind right now. However, it’s not really easy for some people to give up their prowess of retribution because they won’t be fulfilled until they act. They see it as a payback time so the divine deity won’t be angry (You do me I do you back). For Christians,they simply say such persons has an unforgiving spirit while for them they will hold on to their faith believing that God will definitely payback on their behave when unjust acts is perpetrated against them.

Do not pay back evil with evil or cursing with cursing; instead, pay back with a blessing, because a blessing is what God promised to give you when he called you.- 1 Peter 3:9( Good News Translation)

Years back on campus, In one of our student bible study group, our facilitator Tony(not is real name)who also was a student gave a pathetic story and asked us what was going to be our respond still on the subject matter of Retribution

According to Him, In his local community where he is from, there was this tough young man(for the sake of the this post let’s Call him Leo), Leo was known for his naughty character and strong headedness; because of his nefarious attitude, people just let him have his way because he can do just the unbelievable when he his angry and nobody liked associating with Leo. However, on one of our semester break, Tony decided to have a crucial talk with Leo(the tough young man of the community) challenging him to turn over a new leaf and forgo is naughty behavior. In addition, Tony encouraged Leo to give his life to Christ so as to become a Christian; So Leo obliged Hallelujah the deed is done;Leo is now a Christian, he started attending church, bad attitude is done away with, he is now integrated back into the community. Tony carries out the follow up, guiding Leo in his new found faith.

Now the semester break is over, Tony is back on campus to carry on with his education pursuit. One of this faithful day “I got a call from home” Tony said and I was told what I never envisage and also could not believe it. According to Tony, the caller at the other end of the call told me my dad was completely down “what happened to him” as he curiously asked seeking for an answer; the voice from the phone said “Your dad was mercilessly beaten up by Leo..! That is why he is down” “I was dumbfounded, angry,” Tony told us. Naturally the only way out this is to carry out Retribution;the human nature calling .

As a matter of fact, no son will hear is father was beaten up by his contemporary and no daughter will keep quiet for her mother to be beaten up by a fellow daughter of another family
Tony asked us in that bible study class what do you think I should have done
Should I carry out retribution?
Should I get him arrested? On the other hand, he is just my young convert in the Christian faith looking up to me or Should I just talk to him?
Now the big question if you were Tony What will you do

Sort:  

Greetings @kingsleymond! Your post was randomly chosen and was resteemed because you are one of our followers. Enjoy your free resteem!

Love what we do? By upvoting this notification, you're supporting @Shareables. If you need more information about us, click here.

If you wish to stop receiving this comment, please do unfollow us.

Shareables - We resteem anything we find shareable. Always strive for quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Since I am a Christian and Leo is my young convert, then I'll have to let go. But I will talk to Leo about this again.

Thanks @gandhibaba greatly appreciate

You're welcome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43