Random Thoughts on Flexible VS Rigid

in #life5 years ago

Flexible vs rigid, when talking about these two adjective, the first thing that pops up in my mind is time management. There are definitely pros and cons to have flexible or rigid schedule for the day. Here’s some of my thoughts after some conversations with my friends and colleagues.

Similar with progress and result orientation, both rigid and flexible have to coexist in some way to get the best result. Going too extreme in either direction will result less idealistic outcome. If a person is too flexible, that means there is no bottom line and you will never know what kind of crazy thing he or she will do. It is risky to work with such person as they are like weather, unable to predict and trust. On the other hand, if a person gets too rigid. There will be little space for us to collaborate or communicate as they already blocked away all kinds of ways that you can think of due to their beliefs.

In terms of time planning, being flexible is something that we look forward to. Like me, I do wish that I can be flexible and do whatever I want to do at a certain given time without needing to get any consent. In a consultancy firm, it is unlikely to have such flexibility and the working time is sort of rigid as most of the time one will need to be at a single spot to work and work. Nonetheless, I am lucky enough that I am in the role whereby I have certain level of freedom to go wherever I think is appropriate and beneficial for the company like going to events to learn and network, meeting potential clients and so on. As long as I could justify and make good use of the time, I am given the liberty to utilize the time freely. With this way, I can plan myself to be more productive and work on specific jobs at a certain time to fulfill mine and company’s interest.

With that being said, getting the flexibility doesn’t mean there should not be a rigid routine. A certain level of discipline is required to maintain the status quo of such. We should have a mindset of result oriented whereby we know we have to complete certain task at a certain time. With such attitude in mind, getting things done with some flexibility given is the best. Unfortunately, it is hard to get people with such mentality where they are result driven and get to earn gratification from tasks completed.

Lastly, I am aiming to create my own time schedule that I could have time for my career, as well as my family. Definitely, I am not someone who is workaholic and with my mind stuck with works. On the other hand, I am very keen to create healthy cash flow and different revenue streams for me to achieve financial freedom. I know that such dream can be realized by constantly investing myself in creating more and more assets. Writing itself is also part of the process whereby I could build my own skill, express my thoughts and perhaps influence people.

Hope that my words could trigger some thinking for you and if you have anything to share related to this topic, feel free to drop your comments!

Oh ya, finally I’m back to Kuala Lumpur. Damn tired for the day.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2019-02-23) 榜单 【优秀的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。
@justyy 是CN区的见证人,请支持他,给他投票,感谢!

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2019-02-23) 【Good Posts】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

SteemIt 工具、API接口、机器人和教程
SteemIt Tools, Bots, APIs and Tutorial
*Join cnsteem Discord channel: *https://discord.gg/SnNaaYS

帅哥/美女!想一展歌喉吗?好声音@cn-voice欢迎你~倘若你想让我隐形,请回复“取消”。

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hey :)

Just dropping by to let you know that...

The New 20k Delegation poll is out. It would be wonderful if you would support our @steemitbloggers community with your vote.

https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

Thanks a mil.

You got a 7.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @kimzwarch! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 24 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56095.11
ETH 2533.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23