Being The 90s Part 1: Being Realistic

in #life6 years ago

@enjiewliew just shared with me on these infographics of the 90s working class traits that relate to me. Agree in some of the points which I had been experiencing since the start of working life. I am always keen to start my own startup at some point, but I wish to gain some market experience before doing so. In the meantime, I am also consistently gathering resources for the next leap which I am looking forward to the most. While working at my goal and getting more and more clarity at what I am going to do for the society, it is good to learn more about us especially my own generation, the 90s. it is important as this is the generation that will soon be taking over the world and becoming leaders in the next decades.

image.png

The first slide talks about the 90s being realistic. In my opinion, at this age, whoever has some desire to improve their lives will surely opt for monetary remuneration rather than getting a purposeful job. It is the normal traits for people in their 20s and 30s to fight their way through and elevate their living quality through financial gain. I do not think there is any bad about it and it is good to earn through hard work. However, realizing what we can offer then only think about the remuneration is another way of thinking that I took. Understanding that I am able to provide that much value to a company and hence how much remuneration I deserve is depending on how appreciative the company be for the value proposition. Of course, the price can be negotiated, and compensation can be given through any means. In my case, the benefits may not be as much as others, but the company do support on my courses which may cost up to a thousand. Well, it is always a two-way agreement whereby I am satisfied with what I get for now and the company is ok to give and sustain its operation with the agreed remuneration. I also keep myself constantly aware of the market trend and also the market salary for someone around my qualification to keep track of my growth as well. This is important for me, personally to cross-check whether I am undervalued in some way.

Back to the slide where it says that inflation and the price of housing property is imminent for the 90s in comparison to the 70s and 80s (even the 60s) which is true and no doubt that there is a minimum amount of revenue that is required to sustain our life depending on what region we are in. However, we need to realize that being able to sustain life and being able to have extra cash to invest is two different things. For the 90s, we are at the transition stage from able to sustain our own life to somewhere whereby we are able to do investment and even start our own business. Again, it is back to the Rich Dad and Poor Dad 4 quadrant whereby I am a believer of it and aims to go for business and investment quadrant. Undeniably, maintaining such a mindset is no easy feat to do as I will be always seduced by how my friends already start to get their first house, first new car and etc. But when I put the glamour aside and study the cashflow of a person who is going to afford those asset/liability, then it is clear that they have to sacrifice something to get something.

For me, I opt to have more patience and space out in some way to invest periodically. I do not like to put everything in one basket with little to none left for any contingency events. It is still wiser to have some back up for some shit happens which I had experienced myself whereby I need to fix my car. Maintaining the debt ratio within 30 per centum to 40 per centum is the most ideal condition where I can still have some money put away for contingency use. As for entertainment, it will be a sacrifice for now and for a later (in like 5 years time) delay gratification.

image.png

This is my personal view for the first slide of the compilation. There are 6 slides in total which I will elaborate all one by one in separate posts. If anyone has any opinions, feel free to comment and share your views, especially the 90s!

Image Credit to Nomazon

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

你今天过的开心吗?你好!家中可愛的寵物照想要跟大家分享嗎?或是出去玩拍到一些可愛的動物,別忘了到@dpet分享,可以得到@dpet的獎勵喔!如果不想再收到我的留言,请回复“取消”。

开心啊!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81