Color Challenge/Yellow Infusing Fresh Flowers in Oil

in #life6 years ago

This is an oil that I made harvesting dandelion, calendula, rose and lavender flowers from my garden. 20170709_110216.jpg

How to make:

Supplies:
Quart Glass Jar
Organic Cold Pressed Olive Oil or any oil preferred
100 dandelion flowers
1/2 cup calendula flowers
1/4 cup lavender flowers
1/4 cup rose petals

Glass is best used so sun can penetrate glass and infuse the properties of the flowers in the oil.

Harvest flowers when they are most opened to the sun, mid day is great even on a cloudy day that's when they are most vibrant and alive.

Calendula_2_1024x1024.jpg

I like to ask the flower and nature spirits if I can to harvest a bit? Leaving an offering is a great way to connect with the energies of Earth Magik and plant spirits. I have lots of tiny crystals I will leave them. If you don't have something to offer perhaps a nice thought or thank you will suffice. I advise to leave most of the flowers and only take a portion of what's there, especially the dandelions which are the favorite food of bees and butterflies.

71Gmh6E9OzL._SL1201_.jpg

I wanted an oil more concentrated with dandelion and I only had a few roses and handful of lavender. Use what you have makes the recipe easier. The lavender helps keep it sterilized too.

bunch-lavender-1680x1050.jpg

If you need more specific recipe : harvest about 100 dandelions, 1/4 cup lavender flowers and 1/4 cup rose petals and a 1/4cup calendua! Make sure these are somewhat clean no dirt and such.. This is a fresh plant infusion. Many times I will dry my herbs/flowers first and then infuse.. When infusing fresh oils, keep an eye out for possible mold growing on top, how to avoid this is to make sure when covering that all plant material is pushed down and oil is on top. If you are not going to put in full sun which helps keep it sterile and leaving in a cupboard for some days then add 1 tsp of hard alcohol such as Everclear, vodka etc. I use tequila because that is usually whats in my cupboard (LOL!) Make sure your glass jar is sterilized too and any utensils. This is all usually dependent on the temperature range you are working in.

Once you've picked your flowers, put in a sterilized clean glass jar and cover with organic cold pressed olive oil and let sit in sun for several days. You can use other carrier oils such as almond, avocado, coconut but needs to be liquid and not solid. Push down the flowers and make sure that only oil is on top no plant matter exposed to air if possible.

images.jpg

After you let sit for several days up to a week either in sun or in cupboard cool/dark area, strain with cheesecloth or strainer, put in clean glass bottle and use on face and body.

You can use this method for many many many healing plants!

Enjoy!

Sort:  

That seems like such an easy thing to do. I thought you would need equipment to make infused oils, looks like it is just hands and simple things.

I had no idea that this is how you make oils like that. I assumed there was some super complicated extraction process. I'm going to make this as presents for friends. Thank you!

One thing I forgot to say is if you make a bunch a want to store it, best in glass and better if darker like brown or blue bottle so sunlight won't make it go bad. Also, store in a cool /dark place no direct light.

Enjoy :)

I loved your post! Nature is so amazing. 😃 ~ABC's of Curation member @amariespeaks

Jump into our discord channel to meet new friends, find great content and contests as well as ask for help: https://discord.gg/FjjfbNR

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Cool, I'll have to check this out, thanks so much and as always never forget to always remember and always remember to never forget to KimmySomeLove!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43