Welcome to Wild Rose Acres - Grand Tour of our Future Steem Powered Homestead

in #life7 years ago

Welcome

Hey everyone! I am finally back from the property and I have pictures to share! So without further delay - welcome to Wild Rose Acres, our future Steem powered homestead!

Here is the small shack built by the blood, sweat, and tears of my paternal grandfather. Though the years have dulled its’ original, subtle beauty, it is still a sentimental place filled with years of fond memories.

A perfect location for a weekend stay during the summer, this cabin is sadly no longer suitable for extended stays (at least in my opinion). Not pictured here is the steep ravine behind the small house where years of erosion have carved out the earth beneath the foundation. The back quarter of the small cabin has no support besides the precariously stacked cinder blocks that allay my family’s concern more than actually hold up walls! It is also hardly weather resistant and overrun by mice and spiders.

The first room is a wide, sunny porch with walls of windows to frame the forest outside. A small table, sink, and corner fireplace are the only features it contains.

The next room is even smaller, but packed with more necessities. A small wood stove, gas oven, and refrigerator line the worn walls as well as a small table tucked into the corner.

Through the narrow doorway sectioned off with a dusty curtain is the first bedroom. This cramped room is where I, along with my brother and cousins, spent most of our nights (when we weren’t outside sleeping under the open sky and stars).

Lastly is the bedroom my grandparents used to sleep in before they passed - two small beds beside a wood stove.

My favorite part however lies out the back door and down a steep set of weed covered stairs… a shallow, winding creek flows through the property with ice cold, spring fed water. It’s the perfect place to spend hot afternoons when the sun gets too bright.

Finally, there is the small “flower garden” and open field. The flower garden bloomed in beautiful colors while my grandmother walked the land hale and healthy. The years of growth have stolen back the land, but a few bright flowers can still be seen among the brush… along with a small apple tree planted in honor of her memory.

There is so much work to be done and I am so excited to begin this journey with you all! Let’s talk about the future of Wild Rose Acres tomorrow! I can’t wait!

P.S. I'm pleased to inform you all that my product review yesterday was spot on - the Lemongrass & Ginger deodorant held up through hours of hard work!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photography taken by @kiaraantonoviche and may be shared/reposted with proper accreditation.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Sort:  

I loved your blog and look forward to seeing improvements on the cabin. following you.

Awe thank you @annettesirmans! It may be slow going at first but I hope to get some improvements underway soon!

Dream home... Best wishes...

Thank you :) I agree it is a nice, little cottage but I would say "dream location" more than "dream home" at this point haha! The cabin needs a lot of renovations and updates, not to mention the eradication of the pests currently living there. Thank you again :)

Lovely place. Thanks for sharing. Cant wait to see what you do with the place

Thank you @arqetype, I am excited to see where this project goes as well!

What a gorgeous little getaway spot! You said Steem powered? How's that? Can't wait to see more. Followed & Liked!

Lovin' this! Beautiful! A special place I know you hold dear to your heart. I think it's perfect just the way it is although I know you'll make it yours. Love the apple tree. That tree means something today and will mean so much more in the years to come as it blossoms. Enjoyed!

Thank you @stillwater, it is a precious place. I do not want to change it completely, just add my touch to it as all of my family members have done over the years! Perhaps one day my own children will do the same. I look forward to the day the apple tree blossoms as well! Thanks again!

Beautiful place, i like the house, very simple and naturaly

Thank you @yuslindwi, it is quite a quaint little cabin that we have enjoyed for many years!

Though it's beauty may have dulled, it's potential is colossal. Best wishes, followed.

Thank you for following! I hope you enjoy my future articles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71