Trash is for Tossers - Zero Waste Inspiration (+ Fundraiser Update)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I first learned about the Zero Waste way of life when I found a blog titled Trash is for Tossers by Lauren Singer. As an Environmental Studies major, she decided to change her lifestyle dramatically and live sustainably for two reasons.

According to Lauren,

“The first was my senior year of college when my professor Jeffrey Hollender, of Seventh Generation fame, emphasized the importance of living your values and made me think about my own personal environmental impact.
The second was when a fellow environmental studies major would bring lunch to class every week in a single use plastic bag, a disposable water bottle, and a plastic takeout container. I would sit there and think, we are supposed to be the future of this planet and here we are with our trash, messing it up.”

From her realization and decision to live sustainably, Lauren Singer has managed to fit ALL of her trash into ONE mason jar!

 

Her story really resonated with me, especially the idea of “living your values.” For most of my young life, I have struggled to discover who I am and what I believe in. I understand this is a lifelong journey and we never stop learning/changing, but I feel much more grounded and honest to myself when I think of living sustainably.

As I have said from the beginning,

“If I am not living the life that I want, then what is the point? If I am not the embodiment of my values, who am I?”

I will definitely be following Lauren’s story and sharing her expertise as I continue my own personal development journey!

Who do you find inspiration from? Is there a role model that you try to emulate through your beliefs and actions?

P.S. We have still only sold two “Full STEEM ahead!” t-shirts for our fundraiser! Only 10 days left until the fundraiser ends; 8 t-shirts needed to reach print minimum and the goal!

Also, I have decided that along with powering up 100% of the Steem reward this account receives, I will also be converting all SBD to Steem and powering up until we reach at least 1000 Steem Power! The first few homestead projects require more manual labor than financial assistance, so for the time being I want to invest back into Steemit and increase our account standing!

Follow @kiaraantonoviche

Photo, video, and quote cited from Trash is for Tossers.

This is a 100% Steem power up blog!

Sort:  

I find inspiration from people who work hard and never give up! Thanks for sharing this great post, @kiaraantonoviche!

Awe thank you @lazariko12! I find the inspiration to keep trying from the support here on Steemit, so thank you very much! I appreciate the comment :)

Very nice Post =D followed and upvoted <3

Thanks @flyasfuq! I really appreciate it! :D

I am a man who keeps his promise :)
upvote and following you now
Hop so :)

Thank you @boynashruddin! I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50